We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Save Saved
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just got back from a great holiday at this hotel. The rooms were large and we had a lovely sea view. We were on the third floor one down from the reception and one up from the restaurant which was very handy for everything. the staff were friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The food was great with plenty to choose from. Nowhere seemed to be to crowded in fact the opposite. I think the only down side was the public areas which were large and a bit like an airport lounge. The sun terrace was clean with lots of sunbeds but as said by others a bit of damage to the sea wall.

Room Tip: rooms on floor three and above have a sea view. The ground is on 4th floor so the low floors are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    301
    59
    26
    11
See reviews for
188
601
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel, staff and facilities are excellent as is the breakfast but the evening meals are not 5* in fact barely 3*. Used the indoor/outdoor heated pool and sauna/steam rooms and jacuzzi this time, very relaxing and not crowded. Top marks for the rooms and sea views. As the hotel food not so good we went to the Ta pa's Bar one of the nights and for two hours we were the only people in there so what does that tell you? That was also disappointing. Another night we tried the Italian Restaurant "Mama Mia's" which was better than the Ta pa's Food but still not brilliant. Be careful to check your drinks bill at the end of the week as one night I advised the barman I had the wrong drink and for that he had then added a 28 euro bottle of wine possibly for spite!! (Good try Pedro) Would I return probably not if only for the poor variety of evening meals.

Room Tip: To be honest you would go along way to get a better sea view 6th floor and excellent views of the At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good to stay at the Vidamar Resort again, our fourth one, stayed 24th Feb to 3rd March, top marks for rooms, views, facilities and food. All staff friendly and helpful when we needed.
Both outdoor pools are open but some damage to a part of the sea terrace, there are still plenty of sun beds and although the pools were cool, as was the sea, both were swimmable and still warmer than our waters. Used the indoor/outdoor heated pool and sauna/steam rooms and jacuzzi this time, very relaxing and not crowded.
The weather was lovely for all the time we were there. The Carnival parade was spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Vidamar Hotel. The hotel is excellent as in previous reviews spotless great staff, lovely sun bathing platform with plenty of room between sunbeds and friendly pool staff.

The dine around option is really good and you get to try the other restaurants on site very reasonably or free if you choose the set menu.
As the hotel was not full they offered us to go more than once to each restaurant if we wanted to. The breakfasts are very good evening meals Ok although the Italian night was very enjoyable.

The rooms are large and well furnished and the beds are extremely comfortable the most comfy we have had in a hotel - we thought.

We will return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely staff. Good food. Very family friendly. Very clean. Modern interiors - exactly what it looks like in the photos. Great location - easy walking into the town which is beautiful. Infinity pool is gorgeous but was cold in February. Spa is nice.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkhamsted,hers,uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having just returned from a week in your lovely hotel (22/02 to 01/03)I would like to say that we found
the experience excellent in every aspect,the room (609) was great with a wonderful sea view,the staff were without exception friendly and helpful.Amazingly the drink and food prices in the hotel are more than competitive with any of the local bars or restaurants.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is totally awesome .The room I had originally booked was garden/side sea view but the one which was allocated to me , to my surprise , faced the sea and it was absolutely fantastic and an added bonus it was large and spacious considering I was there by myself .
All the members of staff whom I came in contact with during my stay ( I spent a week) were very friendly and helpful .
The town centre is within walking distance and there are bus stops both going into the town and to the airport outside of the hotel. There are also supermarkets, restaurants , bars ,a pharmacy and post office nearby so it is in an ideal location.
Thanks for making my stay in Madeira a pleasant one and would I stay and recommend the Vidamar Resort Hotel .Without any hesitation the answer would be yes.

Room Tip: Rm 303 was located in a quiet area and was it was quite easy to get to the reception area and breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.