We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Save Saved
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

All rooms have a fantastic sea view and the hotel is within easy reach of Funchal. There can be noise in the rooms, due to the full height atrium, but this isn't really a problem (we were on the 7th floor). If using the dine around, I would give the tapas a miss. All the staff are lovely, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    306
    59
    26
    11
See reviews for
191
605
26
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great hotel. Here for a short break honeymoon. Room ready when we walked in at 11am.. Did not have to wait for the 2pm check in. Room superb overlooking the sea and they'd picked up on the fact it was our honeymoon.. We walked in to find petals on the bed, sparkling wine on ice and a plate of chocolate strawberries along with a note wishing us the very best. Great place, great food, great service. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Vidamar Hotel October half term 2013 and was checked in by Clara who was extremely helpful throughout our stay, we also met Paulo whom works on reception who again was very helpful, and also does trips around half the Island on his days off, which is well worth booking with him, he will take you from the mountains to the sea, and the most amazing restaurant in a nature reserve, a true must!! Thank you very much to you both for helping to making our break very enjoyable!
With regards to the hotel, we had 2 rooms on the 7th floor which had amazing views over the sea, the hotel was extremely clean, and the restaurant managers always friendly, we stayed on a B&B basis , although we did try the restaurant a couple of evenings, I would not recommend unfortunately, I would advise to book B&B and eat out of an evening, there are a couple of restaurants within easy walking distance, and also a little shopping centre where there is a café on the second floor which does a banana split which takes you back to childhood!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

People, you take a cheap room on the first floors and then you start to complain? Nonsense...
I don't understand people, who leave a negative feedback, saying that they have stayed on the 2nd or 3rd or 5th or on other ground floors and had some issues with the smell or noise or anything else. ...you took the cheap room - what did you expect? It's like going to Hertz and taking the most cheapest car, but expecting to get a luxury Mercedes Benz S-class or something like that.

Before my trip to Vidamar, I read many reviews on this hotel. Imagine what I felt when I came to Vidamar and found out that all those negative reviews were a pure lie.
I had a room on the last 10th floor, the best view ever! The room is big, the bathroom is huge, wi-fi is everywhere in the room and on the balcony.
Indeed, I had broke (myself) a safe. So I called the reception and they got me a technician within 2 minutes, who fixed it in another two minutes. Very kind and fast service. 5star treatment.
The breakfast was very good! Every day there was something new and everything there is very tasty!

Room Tip: Definitely the floors from 8th to 10th. The higher the better, as always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I would have no hesitation highly recommending this hotel to my family and friends. My wife and I have just returned after spending a week there from the 27th Oct until the 3rd. Nov 2013. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel left a very special gift in our room. The hotel, the large bedroom and grounds are kept immaculate; well done to the cleaning and ground maintenance staff. The food was of a great variety each day, and to a high standard with plenty of it. There is a ‘dining around’ option which adds to the variety and on which I will also comment on. In the hotel itself, each evening there was a different style, for example, Portuguese, Italian, etc. There was a different musical entertainment on each evening. There was a full and varied exercise programme delivered all free, spinning, Pilates, etc. The gym was fully equipped and the gym staff friendly. The swimming and relaxing area was very big and plenty of beds and pools, which is located directly on the sea. There are a two amazing affinity pools. Oh yeah, there is also a spectacular Spa with treatment rooms and relaxing area (at an extra cost). Its pool, relaxing rooms overlook the sea ‘wow factor’. There is a once off 6 Euro charge for the fridge, however, it comes with a variety of starter items: beer, juice, water, snacks, al worth more than the 6 Euro.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is only a 15 minute into the main centre. The tapas bar on the dining around is poor, I understand that the hotel are seriously reviewing this facility. The air conditioning in our room was only adequate.

There are plenty of shops, bars, supermarkets and trip organisers all on the road outside the hotel. I understand that the hotel was about 70% full when we were there and it felt spacious and there was no shortage of food, tables and room in the bar or seafront area.

9 out of 10 for us, as nothing in this world can be 10 out of 10 perfect, but Vidamar Resort Madeira comes close to it. I suspect that we will be going back. Thanks to the management and staff,

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade to a higher floor room, however the rooms on floor 2 have both garden an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Vidamar over the October half term and were really pleased with the deal we got by booking flights and accommodation separately. We upgraded to a superior room but were not in any way pressurised to do so. We were allowed to look at the standard room first and then decided to see what the superior was like and while the rooms were v similar the view sold it to us. An extra 11 euros to upgrade seemed quite reasonable and the minibar was included( normally 6 euros). Hotel very spacious, nicely decorated and importantly very clean. We used the tennis court, played snooker and swam every day in both outdoor pools and the half indoor/ outdoor one which was particularly nice in the early evening. Husband used sauna which was fine. The outdoor infinity pools though beautiful were definitely a bit chilly; one was supposed to be heated but there was definitely no difference in temperature. We went snorkeling from jetty and was pleased to see life guards monitored sea conditions and flag changed accordingly. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, busier at the weekend and less so during the week. Sitting outside eating breakfast with the beautiful view was wonderful and our request ( after being roasted once) for a shady table was always met Reception staff superb, very friendly and eager to please and even gave us a late checkout until 3pm without us asking! The only thing we would have liked was perhaps a little bit of evening entertainment on a few nights, only a piano bar which was not very busy. However in saying that our 7yr old daughter was exhausted most nights anyway but it would have been nice to have had the choice. We would definitely have no hesitation in staying here again if visiting Funchal.

Room Tip: 8th floor room great . Recommend the extra 11 euros to upgrade to a superior room for the spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here last year with my partner and we both loved it (it was then called the CS Madeira but they rebranded so I'm sure its pretty much the same). It has everything you could want from a high quality hotel. Its spotless, good size rooms, great gym (I went to several spinning classes), super pools, great views, lovely breakfast, shall I keep going? you get the idea....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.