We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent standards throughout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent standards throughout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for one week and wish it had been longer. The Hotel is located on the town side of the Lido area and very convenient for town, either by foot (20-30 minutes) or bus (5 minutes).
There are plenty of Restaurants, Bars, Travel Offices and Shops nearby. We stayed B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts. Lisa, the Breakfast greeter was charming. The quality of breakfast was good with many choices available on the large and extensive buffet, including Sparkling Wine! Fruit, cereals, hot and cold dishes, pastries, breads, juices and a lady to cook fresh omelettes or fried eggs for you to order!
The room was on the 9th floor in tower one (The higher rooms are excellent and have a wonderful view) with a double bed. The bed was wonderful, firm and very comfortable. The double curtain blocked out all the light. The bathroom was comfortable wit 2 wash hand basins, bidet, loo and bath with double power shower. The air conditioning worked well and the safe worked perfectly. We did not use the mini bar nor the tea/coffee making facilities.
All of the staff were wonderful: Accommodating, helpful, cheerful, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble.
The standards were excellent: clean, fresh and tidy.
The pool are was superb. The infinity pools were a joy. There was never any problem finding a comfortable sun lounger with mattress and always plenty of fresh, clean towels available. We did not usually go to the pool until mid afternoon so this was a real advantage.
I would highly recommend this hotel, it was a joy to spend time here. Relaxed, informal and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fabulous sea view but go for rooms as high as possible to obtain the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    351
    66
    27
    11
See reviews for
205
690
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have to say I disliked the minimalist cool structure and design of this hotel - its vast, without any soul and quite clinical. The rooms are big with sea views but very dull and dark designs - and yes there is a vague smell (which is common all along the area) and yes its more a 4 star than a five star hotel. But having said that its worth it - and was worth it - for the pool area - which has two sea water infinity pools overlooking the sea and sitting on sheer cliff face. You can swim in the sea beneath (which is pretty tough unless you're a good swimmer) but the pools are magnificent and beautifully kept with attendants, stacks of clean towels and sun-beds. The other outstanding plus here is the breakfast buffet in the garden terrace when you are see the dawn break over the ocean. All in all it worked for me as a base but don't go expecting a warm, cosy hotel with lots of staff greeting you by name. One really annoying aspect for me was I booked it for the spa - which is beautiful - but you have to pay extra to visit it or else book a treatment. A half hour very average and half hearted massage cost me 35 euro - and discovered a walk up the coast of about ten minutes of less there is a highly qualified massage clinic offering the same **but much better standard ** for 15 euro. So my advice is shop around - its expensive to buy anything in the hotel - a glass of beer in the hotel costs 3.70 compared to 1.10 in the little cafe next door.....! Also dont book the tours immediately - shop around - take a small mini bus tour not the huge coaches and do try the walks - its a wonderful island and has fantastic outdoor activities on offer. I found Madeira a great and friendly place to visit with tons to do and extremely safe.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing second floor put you right beside restaurants and walkways to pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

First positive thing about this hotel is its location on the edge of a cliff overlooking the sea. The pool area is nice with plenty of sun loungers and fantastic views of the ocean and coastline. The people of Madeira are fantastic and helpful and that includes most of the staff if the Vidamar hotel. Everything else was dreadful. First the hotel is a huge glass and steel monstorsity that might be appealing if you liked the minimalist look. The reception desk is like an island is a sea of emptyness. The seats in reception are covered in plastic as are the cushions. We arrived early but the twin room was ready and were given a plastic key and shown the lift. The room was overlooking the ocean and the first thing we noticed was the smell of sewage. We left the bags and went back to reception to complain but were told there were no more twin rooms available. One of the domestic staff was asked to spray the bathroom but this only lasted for about an hour.
We decided to wait for twenty four hours and see if the smell improved. The room was clean but we found that beds were covered with a plastic matress protector which we removed.
The safe in the room became impossible to open twice and in the end had to be removed and replaced by another faulty safe.
There were tea and coffee making facilities but no milk so we rang reception for milk which took at least an hour to reach the room.
The next day we found ants all over our teacups and table top. Reception sent someone to spray the table and replace the cups however this happened in the fridge which was again sprayed. At no time were we offered another room. The reception seemed indifferent to any discomfort we may have felt and were not interested in how an infestation of ant might affect us.
We were on a B&B basis but decided to try some of the restaurants of the 'dine around' offer and started with the Mama Mia restaurant which turned out to be little more that a pizza and risotto restaurant. We asked for a jug of tap water with ice and lemon and were shocked when the waitress poured the water into huge wine glasses and refused to leave the water on the table. The same thing happened in the hotel restaurant, but the jug of water was not served instead we were given a bottle of mineral water and were told that it was included in the price!
The smell in the room was permanent but varied in intesity each day, we usually left the sliding balcony doors open to allow some sea air in to refresh the room.
This is perhaps a three star hotel and not a very good one at that.
We were offered 10% off the bill but that could not rectify the awfulness of the experience of the Vidaman hotel.
I would never return to that hotel or encourage anyone to spent a holiday there.

Room Tip: A sea view room has wonderful views but are expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just back from this hotel, great location, nicely renovated rooms and great staff. Great views, fantastic swimming pools and easy access to the ocean. It is a big hotel with lots of open spaces which lead to the feeling of it being vacuous. But, it was great for us we got to just relax and enjoy the swimming. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we were on B&B basis but there are lots of options really nearby. The bus stop is very close and it is a short bus ride or 20min walk into the town centre. The gym was well maintained and there were lots of classes (if that is something you enjoy doing) which seemed popular. We enjoyed our stay and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a view of the ocean so don't worry about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fabulous location, we had a superior ocean view room, very nice, the hotel I would say is a four star not five, all the staff are very pleasant and helpful, the hotel has big open spaces all around but nothing going on, and no atmosphere. we had a great time, we spent the evenings at the local irish bar ( the hole in one) they have live music every night, we saw most of the residents of our hotel over there so I think we all had the same idea, the island is beautiful. Take your own hairdryer as the one in the bathroom is hopeless, and get the 6 euro deal for the fridge and get your own water etc for during the day,it is overpriced in the hotel.
We used the Tourist information in Funchal for our trips, do not make the same mistake, shop around, on the same tour bus people booked the trips with different companies so I guess they sub contract, most of the people on our bus paid 20 euros we paid 34 so be careful, the spa the hotel boasts is very tired, we only used it once on a rainy day, we loved the infinity pool outside, overall the hotel is good, don't expect 5 star and you wont be disappointed,The information in the rooms are out of date so check with Reception they are very helpful.

Room Tip: superior ocean view rooms are spacious clean and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I agree with most of the recent reviews, this is a very good hotel with much to commend it, but I do think more could be done to make it a great 5 star place. It's clean spacious layout is fine but it does give the hotel the appearance of an upmarket function or conference facility. There are lots of wide open spaces filled with chairs that don't seem to be used much. A waiter service by the pools would be welcomed as would a chef in the buffet cooking meat to order. However, that might be asking too much given the Dine Around concept. We particularly enjoyed the sushi restaurant.

Our deal was for a superior sea view room (which I think most rooms are anyway) and I emailed in advance to ask for a high room. I was impressed to get a quick response noting my request. We were put on the 5th floor which wasn't a problem but is the lowest high floor if that makes sense. Basically from the front the ground floor is the 4th floor where reception is. The superior sea view rooms are on the 6 floors above this level. Floors 0-3 are at the back and go down to sea level and are where most of the restaurants, spa and other facilities are located. We were pleased to be in the middle directly above the gardens rather than the roof to a restaurant but also directly below us (albeit some distance) was the indoor pool, part of which extends out into the open. On occasion, when sitting on our balcony, we found the loud voices of guests in this part of the indoor pool distracting. Thankfully though it didn't happen too often during our week.

The room was great and any issue we had was dealt with immediately by the friendly efficient staff. Air con was quiet and effective. One nice touch is that they will bring you a jug of fresh milk on request for tea and coffee rather than supplying long life capsules.

You can keep tabs on your account via the tv but don't be shocked if, for example, 4 euros 50 is shown as 45 euros. The system doesn't seem to be able to accommodate decimals!

All in all I'd recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Avoid the mid 30's rooms if you don't want to be above the outside part of the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am back from a week of relaxation at this pleasant hotel. We stayed in a superior sea view room on half board on a Travelzoo offer so an excellent value deal. As others have said this is really a four star hotel due to the general tiredness of the furniture and this is the first time I have ever had second hand slippers!
Positive points of room - the bed was fantastic,room size great and the view from the balcony amazing.The 6 euros for the fridge and contents were excellent value and we stocked up on goodies from the local Pingo Supermarket.
Negative point - the hairdryer is of the hose type - needed hours to dry hair!
Positive re dine around - Mamma Mia fantastic - went on Monday when a violin player was supposed to be performing, this had quadrupled in size into a guitar! ; Koh Sushi restaurant - great intro to Japanese food if a lot of rice and the service very very slow; Flamengo - spanish food okay; seafood restaurant by the sea platform excellent at lunch time, boring in the evening. Main buffet excellent at breakfast and okay in the evening (not the largest selection but I assume this is why the dine around is offered). it was possible to get reasonable price house wine - 12 to 15 euros dependent on restaurant.
Negative re dine around had to get to guest relations early to book table the next day,could do with a better system =maybe let you book for the week!
The sea platform is great - lots of sun beds and infinity pool fantastic - just make sure you take everything you need as it is two lift rides and long walks from the room.
The indoor pool is a bit drab but there is a sauna and steam room which is fab and free.
We had planned to pay a visit to the official spa we had a look round on first day whilst trying to get our bearings and looked great (30 euros a couple) but ran out of time.
If you like your sport this is the hotel for you . There were squash courts, tennis courts, basket ball courts as well as a full sized and staffed gym - you do have to go out of the hotel but it is a proper gym with spin classes. Opening hours 7.30 -2200hrs week days and shorter hours at the weekendThere are also fitness classes and aqua gym in the hotel,
It is an easy 30 min walk into town and the market is well worth a visit.
Final note the staff were really pleasant and chatty - they are utilised throughout so we bumped into the same staff in different locations. They were always smiling.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.