We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxery,Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“luxery,Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a real pleasant stay with my wife for our 30th wedding anniversary. A warm welcome and roomupgrade with champagne and cake. We were realy surprised. Friendly staff, luxery accomodation. We feld very special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    329
    64
    27
    11
See reviews for
201
649
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The picts on the website looks great, however the food isnt much of diversity. Koi restaurant only have one menu and it took them a long time to serve us. The barbeque every friday, is same thing, not much diversity. However the Italian Mama Mia was great! Good quality food, altho the waitress didnt came to us for drinks untill we asked for it. The waitressss in the restaurant dont speak english which can be very annoying. The swimmingpool is great and is taking good care off. The frontdesk are very serviceminded and take good care of the guests. Overall we had a pleasant stay but not sure if we would book halfboard again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Vidamar. The hotel is a large hotel consisting of 2 reflecting halves. We had a room with 2 double beds which over looked the sea, the room was spacious and the facilities good. The only small grumble we had was that the beds were only doubles, it would have been nice if at least one had been a queen size (I suppose we have been spoilt in North America in the past). The outside pools were clean and the kids enjoyed them but were a little surprised at first to find out they were salt water but they got used to that with no problems lol. The hotels situation was great it was only a short walk to Funchal and well placed for eating out at night. Breakfast was what you would expect of a 5* hotel, lots of choices from fresh fruit up to a freshly cooked omelette. The hotel has 2 large areas of seating which were hardly ever used as there was no bar close to them, this did however give the impression that the hotel was very quiet even though it wasn't (they were fully booked). One last suggestion to make is that they have more of a service available by the pool, I would expect a 5* hotel to provide a service that when you need a drink or bite to eat that you can get served without having to get dressed and go to the bar. Overall a great holiday had by all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday in the Widamar, we went half board and it was really good value for money. The rooms were great, good size and always cleaned. Pool really good and always able to get a bed, reception staff really helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks in the Vidamar. We went Half board, find this easier with 2 young children (8 , 10) the dine around is a nice option , however you need to book 24hrs in advance for these restaurants, so used the buffet most nights, Our room should have been side sea view but we were upgraded by the always friendly reception staff a special thank you to Nelson and Vera, who greeted us when we checked in and knew we were celebrating our 15th Anniversary and on that date we arrived back at our room to Chocolate cake and Sparkling wine, which was a lovely touch .Side sea view rooms on the first 3 floors, which are below reception, which is on the 4th floor and are overlooking the garden area. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. It was kept immaculately clean; we had 2 Double Beds and a seating area along with the balcony with a beautiful view on the 7th floor. Breakfast buffet was great; there was always something to satisfy everyone. We were greeted most days as we entered by senior staff members and the breakfast staff could not have done any more, all the staff are a credit to this hotel. Our coffee pot was replenished with a smile as was the jug of hot milk that accompanied it. It is ideally located.20 minutes downhill walk to Funchal centre and the opposite direction you can walk to the lido which the kids enjoyed snorkelling watching the fish. We had excellent meals in the Mamma Mia, the hotel's Italian Restaurant which is directly in front of the main reception, this building also incorporates the large gym which has classes and equipment to suit all. There are several snooker tables , squash courts and table tennis in the hotel. Sun loungers galore by the pools and benches in the gardens to soak up the sun, we never had an issue finding sun beds, no matter what time of the day which is amazing during peak season. a perfect holiday in a great hotel ......we will definitely return.
Having seen the comments re internet provision, we had no issue and could stream movies with no issue; the Kids watched a little TV and allot of channels are in English including watching the Hollywood movie channel.
We did lavada walks from Paul de Serra to the waterfalls which were great and the children really enjoyed this about 10km in distance, also took to cable car up to the Botanic gardens which are amazing as is Monte. During our trip we covered most of the island , ideally we would have rented a car but none were to be had as all were pre booked, however with tours that cover everything we do not feel we missed out. You could also hire a taxi for half or whole days which will take you round the whole island and stop where you wish 70 – 120 Euro.
This is a lovely hotel and if i were to find a con , it would be that the only place to meet and have a drink in the evening at the hotel was the Piano bar which is a room and balcony to the side of Reception, in this way it seemed a little disjointed, no large communal area where kids and adults could mix in the evening and watch a show or just chat over a beer. However you can’t have everything and if you really wanted this you could walk just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for 2 double beds if with the family, (Sofa bed mattress are very thin changed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week here at the Vidamar Hotel. The hotel is first class, extremely clean and immaculate. The room we had was on the 7th floor overlooking the sea with stunning views. Only complaint was that the complimentary tea and coffee sachets in the room are not replenished when used.
We were half board and enjoyed the dine around concept. only issue is that this has to be booked in the morning before and if going out on a trip was unable to book.
Staff have been very friendly, Maria in the buffet restaurant is always cheerful and helpful.
The pool area next to the sea is immaculate and the pool attendants work really hard, and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.
We have really enjoyed our break and found the island to be stunningly beautiful and very clean. We look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, in a superior room overlooking the sea, very quiet and with stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great. The room was perfect, food was good (we were half board), pool and staff were great. For the price it could not be beat and it has one of the best pool/ocean set ups you can find on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.