We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Save Saved
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We returned yesterday from our 6th trip to Madeira and our 6th stay at the Vidamar Resort Hotel (previously the CS Madeira). We were last there when the hotel was changing over and we were a little apprehensive going back but although the hotel has changed, the same high standards have been kept and it was even better to see the same familiar friendly faces among the staff.

We cannot praise this hotel enough, the service is excellent, the facilities are well equipped, the food is delicious and the rooms are spacious and maintained on a daily basis. All requests are dealt with in a prompt and friendly manner and nothing is beyond them.

Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Try and get a room from the 4th floor up for the most amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    316
    60
    26
    11
See reviews for
194
614
28
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Vidamar Resort, Funchal from 14th to 21st June, this is our third stay at this hotel (the previous times it was the CS Madeira Atlantic). Our first stay in June while the Festival of the Atlantic is on with the firework displays .
The setting of this hotel is wonderful with virtually all the rooms having a view out towards the Atlantic. As we had stayed before we were upgraded to a high ocean view room with a gift of water and fruit. It's a nice touch. The hotel is large, airy and of modern minimalist design, it never appears crowded despite the amount of guests.
The ocean view rooms are large with a queen size bed, comfortable chair and settee, free wi-fi and balcony with that amazing panoramic view. In addition for 6 euros you can purchase the contents of the mini-bar which consisted of six drinks and two snacks, good value I think.
This particular stay we were bed and breakfast previously we had been half board. The breakfasts cater for all; fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, cooked and continental style cold meats and cheeses.This time there was an offer of the three course evening meal in the Garden Restaurant with choice of drink and also a free drink in the bar as well for 23 euros. We think the food, which has always been good, was even better this visit. You have the choice to sit inside or out on the terrace overlooking the garden.
The reception staff are very helpful when you have any queries, eg bus services/times, you can buy the bus tickets from reception; or a problem as we had when our tour company did not inform us of our departure time, they phoned them for us.
The swimming pools are great, both infinity salt water pools, the area surrounding these is large with plenty of sun beds and shades, also what gives this hotel the edge is access to the sea from two piers and a floating raft to aim for which is not too far out.
It's an ideal walking distance from the centre of Funchal, about 25mins. It is downhill on the way in but if you don't fancy the walk back pay for a single journey on the bus, 1.90 euros. If you do walk back and need refreshment there is a small bakery which does very good tea and cakes about quarter of a mile from the hotel.
Will definitely stay at Vidamar Resort Funchal again.

Room Tip: Rooms from floor 5 upwards have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Vidamar Resort Hotel Funchal, Madeira from 9th to 16th June 2013. The hotel is absolutely fabulous with stunning views of the Atlantic ocean. Our first encounter with staff was very welcoming. Shelda (Gilda) on reception was so helpful as was Jamie. Each staff member we met were all so friendly, helpful.and very attentive. We upgraded to an ocean view superior room on the 9th floor. The room was delightful. It had stunning views of the ocean and the beautiful gardens underneath. It also had free wiifi. The hotel itself is really spotlessly clean and is maintained to a very high standard. The breakfast buffet was also a memorable highlight, eating out on the terrace overlook the ocean. There was a huge array of freshly cooked food and fruit. The hotel is also centrally located with just a 30 minute stroll into the centre of Funchal. Another great feature about the hotel is the fabulous swimming pools and sun terrace area. We also swam in the sea which is easily accessible from the swimming pool area and supervised by the hotel lifeguard. There is also a luandrette on the 3rd floor where one can was and dry clothes. (you buy a coin at the reception to operate the washing machine and dryer). The hotel also has a great gym, squash courts, tennis courts. We have only the greatest of praise for the Vidamar Resort Hotel Madeira. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: For the extra few Euros per night, upgrade to a superior room with an ocean view. It is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Vidamar for 7 nights last week from Monday 27th May to Monday 3rd June. Our room was excellent, 2 huge beds, a massive bathroom with big walk in shower and a sea/garden facing view. We were on the 4th floor, but because of the structure of the building it was on the ground floor reception area. Our sea view was excellent as we were just above the tops of the palm trees in the garden area, if you were any lower the trees would hinder your view. There are also some side view rooms of the sea/garden, these rooms were from the ground to the 3rd floor level but because of the situation of the hotel the patio's of these rooms would be mostly in the shade throughout the day. It was fairly quiet last week so there was plenty of room at the pool area and more than enough sun loungers. There are a couple of pools including 2 infinity pools and a shallow children's paddling pool. I would imagine that even at their busiest time there would be plenty of room for everyone. We stayed bed and breakfast but ate 3 times in the hotel in the evening. Buffy style dinners but with plenty of choice and some nights were themed menu nights. The breakfast is also buffy style with plenty of choice. There are numerous cafe's bars and restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. A walk into Funchal will take about 20/30 minutes, it is downhill going into Funchal and an easy stroll but coming back might be a problem for the not so fit. There are plenty of local buses from Funchal which drop you off more or less outside the hotel, last week the price was around 1.70 Euro per person each way. You can buy tickets for the week that allow you to catch any bus to any destination. There are open topped buses, Red and Yellow routes, which were hop on hop off. These cost 12 Euro each for 2 consecutive days trips. We took the Red route, an interesting journey which took around an hour and a half with a commentary through supplied ear phones. This is a superb hotel with free internet access in public areas and very friendly staff, thank you Rafaela on reception and Rafael in the dining room. We would definitely return and we highly recommend the Vidamar for your stay in Funchal.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view. I believe that superior rooms have free internet access in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel from 01/06 until today 05/06 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When booking, I put in a request for a nice room and gave the reason. On arrival the receptionist told us that we had been upgraded to a suite with full sea view. The room was lovely, very big and modern and the view was to die for. The staff throughout this hotel are excellent, very high quality and they were always willing to help, with a smile.

The breakfast was awesome, such a variety of fresh food - totally loved it and did even have a couple of glasses of Champagne each morning with breakfast.

Last night when we returned from our anniversary meal, we found a card, champagne, a chocolate cake and strawberries dipped in chocolate - a lovely gesture which was really appreciated.

This hotel is classy, the views are amazing, the staff are top notch - cant recommend it enough

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed there last Feb for a week and no complaints at all, only complements. We were upgraded to a top floor ocean sea view and had an amazing service from all the staff around, from reception to room service, from b´fast room to housekeeping. I´d definitely recommend this hotel due to service, location and price. Apart all of that we had an amazing time in Madeira.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for 1 week to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary & we had the most amazing time. The rooms were immaculate & extremely modern with excellent views of the sea. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard. The bars & restaurants served a high standard of food & the cocktail bar is always worth a visit! The 2 pool areas are an area of paradise, both infinity pools are extremely clean & the area is a very quiet & relaxing place to enjoy the sun & the sound of the sea. Both my husband & I had an amazing time here & we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel as the best place to stay in Madeira. We will be coming back next year for our 2nd anniversary!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view as the view over the sea & hotel gardens are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.