We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vidamar Resort Madeira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vidamar Resort Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

As regular visitors to the island this was our second visit in 6 months to this hotel. This 10 day stay went so quickly. Great location & hotel. All staff throughout the hotel are very friendly & nothing was too much trouble. Would like to mention the excellent Reception Staff - Rafaela, Gilda, Clara, Carla & Francisco plus Simone (Guest relations) for their attention. Also the Pool boys were excellent & were always available with towels & umbrellas. Will be back & would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Superior sea view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    467
    90
    32
    14
See reviews for
298
959
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on our first trip to Madeira. The location is great, there are so many great restaurants within walking distance, even a supermarket down the road. The hotel looked very modern, our room was on the 3rd floor and had great views out to the ocean. The breakfast buffet is great, with a huge variety of hot and cold choices, and even champagne. The hot dishes also rotated so it changed slightly each day, I recommend trying the bolo do caco bread. The hotel does not have its own fitness centre, but guests have free access to the fitness centre nearby - and its great!
The only downsides i felt was that the (free) wireless access is only available in the reception area, the indoor pool area and even the outdoor pool area could use some sprucing up, but the outdoor infinity pools looked great. Also some of the hotel reception staff did not seem as welcoming as I was expecting (although one lady was excellent). Bt these are relatively minor. We would recommend this hotel when staying in Madeira.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent hotel! Of note, compared to other similar resorts: service was excellent (if you ask for a towel, it is there in < 5 minutes compared to 20 minutes or more in other hotels; the two times we left items in the main lobby they were swept up nearly immediately by attentive staff and were waiting for us 3 mn later when we returned), staff always very friendly, lots of space (lobby areas large with plenty of seating), the indoor pool (which was both indoor and outdoor, and had a jacuzzi, and a hammam and a sauna in the same area), the many showers and bathrooms (the last day, when your luggage is in the storage room, it is easy to find spare bathrooms and showers for that last change before the airport), excellent games (billards, snooker, foosball..., we were there a week and didn't have time for everything), and the closest of the resort hotels to downtown Funchal (we always walked). The room was really quite large -- you don't have to trip over your suitcases walking back and forth. Views are stunning from the lobby, the game/lounge area and the restaurant. Also of note, although it is a buffet, the food is really very good, best of the similar hotels we have stayed in. The cappuccino in the morning was very very hot! Lots of small touches like that make all the difference! Someone was paying attention when they photocopied my passport ... we came home after a beautiful day hiking the Ribeiro Frio/Portela trail, and there was a lovely birthday surprise. A special shout out to Rafaela at the front desk -- she helped us on many many occasions, and always with a warm and friendly smile. She really contributed to us having a perfect stay, she is top notch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Vidamar Resort (formerly the CS Madeira) sits at the top of a cliff in the tourist hotel zone along the Estrada Monumental. The unusual topography means that the reception / lobby area is actually on Level 4. All rooms have a balcony and sea view. There is free car parking for guests in an underground car park.

The public areas are smart and comfortably furnished, Free internet terminals and wi-fi are available in the lobby / bar area, where you will also find a free ‘book exchange’.

My room was of a good size and well furnished. Everything you would expect in the way of amenities for a hotel of this standard was present and correct – air con, safe, coffee / tea making facilities, TV with international channels. My only issue was that the mini bar was locked – I don’t know if this is hotel policy, but when I explained that I had medication that needed to be refrigerated, it was quickly unlocked for me. A complimentary fruit platter was a welcome touch. The bathroom has a full bath with integral shower, and a reasonable selection of complimentary toiletries was provided and topped up daily.

Meals are of the buffet type. Evening meals are themed – Portugese, Italian, Seafood etc, with separate salad and desert buffets. Hot and cold breakfast buffets were available – eggs were pre-cooked rather than cooked to order which was a shame. The choice of main courses in the evenings was somewhat limited (typically a couple of meat dishes, a fish dish and a pasta), but the quality of meals was very good. Just one complaint – the high price of drinks with evening meals; I realise the hotel has to make money, but € 2.30 for a small bottle of still mineral water / € 4.50 for a large bottle is pretty outrageous (the same brand of mineral water is made available at breakfast, free of charge).

The hotel staff were, almost without exception, extremely polite and helpful.

The hotel has no beach (very few parts of Madeira do). Instead, an elevator from Level 1 takes you a concreted area at sea level with several elegant but rather small pools. Sun loungers were plentiful, and staff are on hand to provide parasols, cushions and towels. A jetty provides access to the sea for anyone who wants to swim in the sea, although there were several ‘at your own risk’ notices, and a red flag was flown on some days. There is also a narrow garden stretching the length of the hotel, accessible from Level 2, with a putting green at one end. I might have spent a bit more time there if there was any seating, but it was pleasant nevertheless.

Being in a tourist accommodation area, there are more restaurants, bars, tour agencies, car rental outlets and souvenir shops within walking distance than you can shake a stick it. There are several supermarkets in the vicinity for anyone who wants to stock up on water, beer, soft drinks etc – the cheapest I found was a mini-mart called Pingo Doce; turn left outside the Vidamar and it’s about 5 minutes walk along the Estrada Monumental on the right hand side of the road. The large ‘Forum Madeira’ shopping centre is a further 15 minute walk. A pleasant ‘promenade walk’ begins just a short distance from the hotel and continues for a considerable distance – turn left outside the hotel and after 1 or 2 minutes walk bear left, downhill towards the sea front immediately after the bus stop. Turning right from the Vidamar, Central Funchal is an easy 20 minute walk away, but be warned that one section has a moderately steep incline – fine on the outward leg, but harder work on the return journey; some guests are happy to walk into the city but prefer to catch a bus back. On the subject of buses, Funchal has an extensive and efficient urban bus network. The bus stops close to the Vidamar are served by Routes 1 & 2 to the city centre sea front and Route 48 to the hill town of Monte. Tickets are a flat fare € 1.90 if purchased from the driver, but anyone planning to use buses regularly would be better off obtaining a Giro (rechargeable pre-payment card) which gives a reduced flat fare of € 1.30, or an unlimited use pass, available in 1, 3, 5 & 7 day durations. Note these and the Giro’s are only valid for buses running in the Funchal area.

Other useful tips. English is widely spoken and understood. The weather in Funchal is changeable, and it’s always advisable to have a jacket or warm top to hand. Madeira is in the same time zone as the UK, so no need to adjust watches. Transfer time from the airport to the hotel zone is about 25 minutes.

All in all, the Vidamar is a high quality resort hotel, with useful free extras such as internet / wi-fi and car parking which are not always offered by other top end hotels. I've always found it a good rule of thumb with resort hotels to knock a star off the official rating to gain a more realistic view, but the Vidamar comes very close to justifying all 5 stars. Given the superior quality of rooms, food and staff, I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Some premium rooms offer in-room wi-fi and, I believe, a free mini bar, and it is sometimes possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This 5-star rated Hotel is in a very good position in Funchal with unrestricted ocean view and access. The property must be somewhat 20 years old and was recently modernized. Current design and amenity standards are met well but without passion or any outstanding features. The outside infiniity pools are beatiful - however we had 7 days of bad weather in late April/early May and did not enjoy them once. Inside (non pay) pool/spa is a shame ... small, without taste and not entirely clean. The pay Spa is a very nice establishment and I hung out there half a day just relaxing, sauning, using the pool, reading and watching some movies on my Ipad. However, it is 17 Euro. Considering the standard of the SPA this is a competitive rate, though. Rooms are large and have a seating area with an arm chair and a 3-seater in contemporary design, but nothing fancy. Rooms also feature large beds, but - otherwise nice bed - the matress is a little hard (which I believe is becoming a little out of fashion). Bathroom is nice with a tub, clean but getting a Little old in Terms of design. Room furniture must have been partly (sideboard and closet) left out when hotel was modernized. Is ok, but again nothing fancy. On first view weird 6 Euro Minibar deal which requires to request someone to come up and open it, on second thought is a good deal as it includes 6 drinks (one being a local beer) and two snacks. Each room has a nice balcony with two chairs overlooking the ocean without restriction, facing southsoutheast. Breakfast buffet is ok, but again nothing fancy - more like an industrial toursit feeding venture. Fried eggs come in a pan; three People take some and the rest Looks awful. Choice is limited, even though looking good on first view. And: No Earl Grey tea ... weird. Here is my conclusion: If you get this Hotel at a special rate, it is a great deal. If it is more a standard 5-star rate, stay away. One thing I must say: Outstanding fronst desk service - very very nice people. And they sure cannot do anything about a budget breakfast buffet policy or some other minor things.

Room Tip: All rooms in the two towers are ocean view; I would go for one of the upper floors - though, in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a nice and spacey room for us and an extra room for the kids. Lots of possibilities to do sports in the Hotel (Squash, Tennis,...). The sometimes long was to the different areas of the Hotel are compensated through the offer of space and activities that can be done. Close to various restaurants and the Hotel itself has agreements with discounts for some Hotels in the closer vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaltbommel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My stay at the Vidamar Resort was great. The room was comfortable and the A/C, bathroom and the balcony view of the ocean was very nice.

The only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars is that the wi-fi is heavily firewalled, which makes it not very easy to use and blocks streaming videos and iTunes store connections (and probably more).

Room Tip: Note that the 'ground floor' starts on the fourth floor. So get a room from 6th or so and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.