We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here in the summer. The hotel is stunning, it's very modern and open. The bedrooms are large with ocean views and satellite tv. The bathroom was huge! The hotel facilities were incredible! There's an onsite Irish bar which shows all the days live sports. The food was incredible with breakfast being my favourite! Lots of choice every night with different themed nights every night. Great location a short walk from many shops and restaurants. Stunning hotel and perfect for a relaxing break! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    467
    90
    32
    14
See reviews for
298
959
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The building is interestingly modern with an emphasis on curves. The bedrooms are spacious and well furnished;there is a feeling of being at sea from one's balcony. The restaurant and other public rooms are attractively decorated; there is a feeling of light and airiness throughout. The swimming pools, out door and indoor are first class, and they and the gardens are kept immaculately. The buffet meals at breakfast and dinner have a wide variety of well cooked food of a high standard.
We were impressed by the service provided and friendliness of all the staff we encountered.
At the time of our visit, we found the general ambience pleasantly tranquil.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The sea view from our room from the 8th floor was second to none. And the scenic views from the infinity pool made for a very relaxing and serene experience.

The Bar with live music was a great way to end the night and overall, the service was great.

However little things disappointed and betrayed itself to not be a true 5 star hotel.

Firstly, for the price, to want to charge for wifi access in rooms was absurd - especially when access in the lobby was free. It just made the lobby look constantly full and busy but not in a good way.

Secondly, as has been mentioned a few times on here, the breakfast is poor and in particular, the coffee was vile (so weak it tasted like they were trying to save money on how much coffee they put in each pot) and there was no fresh orange juice (think Tang for those that know, or for those that don't, a drink made up of orange-flavoured powder mixed with water).

The worst part is that both of these things are relatively cheap and uncostly to fix/provide.

Room Tip: Take a walk down the Main Street to find a place to eat - plenty of options - rather than eating at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 10th or 11th visit to this hotel. We have now visited all 3 incarnations from Crowne Plazza through CS Madeira through to the Vidamar, Pleased to say that standards of service and staff still as good as ever with friendly and warm interactions with guests. The hotel is modern but minimalist which some may mistake as cold but it gives the place a feeling of peace and tranquility. We only stayed for 4 days this time but were completely refreshed. The Spa is one of the gems with its seawater pool and many treatment rooms. I can recommend the hot stone massage. The hotel is located in the hotel district ( about 15-20 mins walk from central Funchal) and if you want to save on a taxi from the airport the SAM Aerobus has a stop just outside the hotel and it's only 5 Euros return. The hotel also has a tennis court and access to the sea which is great for snorkelling or even diving and the hotel does offer discover scuba lessons at peak times which I've done on a previous visit. The buffet breakfasts are extensive and best taken out on the terrace overlooking the sea. We also had lunch on the last day by the pool which was really enjoyable and better than the airport which has very limited facilities. We are looking forward to our next visit in the not too distant future

Room Tip: Don't go for a garden room pay the extra and get a full seaview it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights just before Christmas. The hotel is situated in the 'hotel zone' about 15-20 minutes walk from central Funchal. Most of the hotels are here and as a result Central Funchal does not suffer from a high rise sprawl along the seafront. If you don't fancy walking then buses or taxis are in plentiful supply.

We had a 'superior' room on the 7th Floor and indeed the sea views were very pleasant, we both agreed tha the bed was one of the most comfortable that we'd ever slept on. On arrival, we found a complimentary bottle of bubbly and some fruit in the room, which was consumed on the balcony watching the sun go down. The breakfast buffet was fairly standard international hotel fayre but at least there were different items on each day. We never go for the cooked breakfast so I can't comment about some of the other complaints in other reviews. We never eat in hotel restaurants as this always seems like a cop out.

As part of out package, we also had 25 minutes in the hydrotherapy bath. I'd never done this before and it was very relaxing.

Out and about, we loved Madeira, the emphasis was on local food (unlike the Algarve where its easier to find a full English breakfast than anything traditional). We ate in 'Londres' which despite it's name is a traditional Madeiran restaurant. I recommend the Dorada fillet with banana, the portions were huge. We also ate in one of the seafood restaurants in the marina and 'Bella Ihla' Italian in the hotel zone (excellent pizza).

We really like Madeira, an unspoilt Mediterranean Island as there is little if no beach scene and its not been overrun with partying hoardes. The levada walking was excellent although there were places where you'd need a head for heights (and would miserably fail UK health and seafety!). The local buses were plentiful and cheap (even on Sunday) you do not need a hire car on this Island.

I expect that we'll be back in Madeira sometime soon and to this hotel if we can get a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is situated in Funchal's hotel zone, about a 15/20 minute walk from the seafront/Marina area. Ok going down there, but sometimes felt like a long walk back up the hill - there are plenty of buses around an a bus stop right outside.

The hotel itself is split into two "towers" and all the rooms have a sea view and a balcony. We had a family suite which meant our 12 year old had his own separate bedroom and TV. We were on the 7th floor. The rooms were spotlessly clean so no complaints there and towels were changed every day. Myself and my husband found the bed quite hard but our son thought his was comfortable, so just personal preference I guess.

Outdoor pools were saltwater infinity pools which we did brave on one day despite the time of year and the fact that they were freezing and can imagine that in the summer they would be lovely. The indoor pool was half indoors and half outdoors which was fine, but small for the size of the hotel and with 5 people in the pool it felt full.

What lets this hotel down in our opinion is the food. The breakfast buffet was probably one of the worst we have eaten - food was barely warm and fatty foods such as bacon were served on a bed of white bread to soak up the fat. Avoid at all costs the nightly buffet at £23 per head (even for a child) - we went on Italian night - food was cold and inedible. The Ocean View restaurant by the outdoor pools served lunches and food there was fine - freshly cooked and good service, and we also ate at the Italian "Mama Mia's" which was ok.

Overall we enjoyed our week in Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is nicely situated about 15 mins walk from the city however if you don't fancy the walk there is a good bus service and plenty of taxis. You can't help but notice how professorial all the staff and you are treated just as you expect to be in a 5 star hotel. We normally eat out when we are on holiday but this time was different as the hotel had good food that was cheaper that most of the restaurants close by, we were advised that we could purchase a meal ticked for 24e per person this included the buffet water , wine and even a drink in the bar later on if you so wished. All in all the hotel is great and all rooms have a sea view, the only fault I had was due to us having a garden view room on the 2nd floor was we had a few Roches coming in from the garden however when I advised the desk staff they moved us without us have to ask!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.