We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities although felt a little over corporate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great facilities although felt a little over corporate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent only one night here, orientating ourselves before travelling elsewhere in Madeira. The room was beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable, although there was a slight mirror overload. Do I really need a full length mirror wall in the bathroom/toilet? The leisure facilities were excellent with 4 outdoor pools plus an indoor pool, plus the added benefit of direct access to the sea. Breakfast was slightly disappointing but in line with many such large volume hotels. However overall I really enjoyed my short stay and despite being in the main hotel district, on a very busy road, the room was very quiet and the view tranquil. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    348
    66
    27
    11
See reviews for
205
687
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The CS is a large property with a big feel on arriving and supported by welcoming staff at all levels of service.

Arriving in Maderia we opted for the upgraded meet and pick up at the Airport. Our driver was on hand with a good visible sign to met us and we were soon on our way. Please note a supplement of 20% is applied to weekend bookings.

Arriving at the hotel we were impressed how speedy the check in was and given our mid morning arrival to find our rooms available was impressive too. No hassle and a quck registration process we were escorted to our rooms on the tenth floor of tower two. Perhaps I should mention here that the hotel consists of two towers for accommodation purposes.

On arrival at our rooms we were indeed impressed by the size, cleanliness and of course the views over the Atlantic and outside pool aeras. Given the good instructions we were given by reception staff we set about having a good look around. As we arrived on a Saturday we very soon found the Irish Bar featuring Sky Sports and settled in for lunch and of course the match. The ladies however declined and headed off to look at the Hotel's Spa facilites.

We had opted for a bed and breakfast package and to be honest the full style buffet brekfast catered for everyone's needs. Well presented, good choice and excellent value. The hotels Mama Mia restaurant is also well worthy of a visist or certailnly if in the Pool area then the Ocean Restauarnt offers great service and a range of snacks, drinks and meals.

Overall good staff, well trained and customer focussed.

Room Tip: Top floors offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
605 helpful votes 605 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights at the CS hotel, attending the 15th Madeira Bridge Festival. The hotel is in two separate blocks, each with its own pair of lifts. The view from every bedroom is excellent, overlooking the sparkling Atlantic ocean. Each room has an adequate balcony too. The beds are comfortable with plenty of good pillows. The bathroom and fittings are modern and of good quality.

The breakfast covers all the bases with a big selection of fruits, juices, cereals, bakery, and the usual cooked fare: eggs, mushrooms, bacon, potatoes, etc... everything you could wish for. You are very speedily presented with a large jug of coffee. If you like chilled sparkling wine with your breakfast, that is available free of charge too.

We always ate lunch and dinner at the wonderful Madeiran restaurants, in Funchal and across the island. The final prize-giving dinner was held in this hotel and was well done, with an accomplished band playing music for dancing. The bar has a good outdoor area (mainly for smokers) and it was fine to sit out there, even at 3am in November.

There is an additional lift to take you down to sea-level. There are two infinity pools there, also smaller pools and a step ladder in the Atlantic. I surprised myself by trying the sea and found it excellent, even in November, a translucent deep blue in colour and around 22 degrees. There are plenty of loungers to benefit from the sun and towels are provided. The previous week the weather had been rougher, I heard, and a lady who had ventured into the Atlantic (together with a hotel lifeguard who had tried to assist her in returning to land) were rescued from the difficult water by a lifeboat from Funchal. So, best to obey the notices and look at the sea condition.

Walking around the hotel, you benefit from the vast windows, exposing the sky and the ocean. It is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location with wonderful views. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with good size balconies. Breakfast suffered because there seemed to be no control or management of the service staff so they ran out of the basics like butter and you had to chase down someone to serve you coffee but this was the only issue with what is a great hotel.

Lots of good restaurants around from fish, steak on a stone, Italian, etc more or less on your doorstep plus there are a couple of good pubs and bars close by.

The spa was great, plenty of swimming pools and good sea access.

Room Tip: Go high, 6th floor or above. Also if you are lower you get a lot of noise if there is a function or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the CS Atlantic in Madeira 21-28 October. It was amazing. Fabulous views, excellent faciiities and wonderful staff. We were only B&B and the breakfast was a full of choice buffet. I enjoyed one lunch in the Ocean restaurant down by the pool but did not stay in any evening for dinner. There are wonderful restaurants around so there's no need to go full board - I strongly recommend the little Italian Pizzaria down a little alleyway 200m to the right of the hotel (towards Funchal) and the wonderful Salon da Ajuda about 500m to the left (towards Lido). The only fault I would have with the hotel is the access to wifi. It is free in the lobby, but very expensive everywhere else. I used to sunbathe near the Cliff Bay Hotel for the free wifi which met all my needs. Otherwise the CS Atlantic is a marvellous hotel and I will stay there again on my next visit.
Weather was wet and windy on days 2 and 3 so we hired a car to see the Island. Well worth the trips - and Europcar is outside the front door.

Room Tip: Great views from the Main 2 towers (the higher the better). Rooms on floors 9, 7, 5, 3 are non-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey england
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Returned here after a long time, it was the Crowne Plaza last time we stayed. Hadn't noticed we'd booked a garden ocean view as I'd struggled to book flights. However on arrival at 11am, not only had the hotel got a room ready but we were upgraded to a 6th floor room. So good views and a sunny (occasionally) balcony.

The room was very comfortable, nothing lacking (sofa and chair to relax on) and good to have a kettle. Housekeeping was excellent, and on a day we didn't go far she abandoned doing the room to allow us time to sort ourselves out.

Breakfasts were OK, the "egg lady" was there when we first arrived, so was sadly missed when the rains came and thereafter. Coffee at breakfast was weak, unlike the excellent coffee everywhere on Madiera. We didn't eat in the hotel at night, other than Mamma Mia one evening which was good food and very good service and reasonably priced.

I found the reception staff very helpful, we needed to print our boarding passes for our online check in for TAP flights (to give us an extra 1/2 hour in bed!) and they went out of their way to help.

The free wifi in reception is great, but when its busy it can be slow. However we found standing on the balcony on 6th floor we could still get get the free wifi! Would have been nice to have full wifi in the rooms, wasn't outrageously expensive but enough to bear the inconvenience of using the free wifi.

Room Tip: As others the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed around 24 Sept for 7 nights and couldn't wait to leave. In comparison with other 5* hotels we've stayed in around the world, this one was by far the worst. I know we shouldn't compare it to the most wonderful hotel we stayed in last year in Cyprus, but we couldn't help comparing. Particularly bad in the Atlantic Resort is the variety of food with staff sometimes unhelpful. Bathroom towels pretty much threadbare, thin and horrid. The sun beds were a disgrace, grubby plastic beds with mattresses that were also grubby and insubstantial and not at all what you expect from 5-star. No poolside service either so if you want a coffee, you have to go to the poolside bar which also doesn't have a good variety of snacks. And don't even get me started on the actual trek you have to get down to the pool area through dodgy lifts and dark corridors, all very spooky & carries an air of neglect! You have been warned...if you like true 5 star hotels then this is not the place to go to, we were very sorry to have chosen it. We went via Thomson Holiday who were helpful and nice, but if I were Thomson's Chairman, I'd scrub this hotel off their list. Looks very good on website which attracted us, but the reality is very different, food lacklustre and same things served up most evenings - salads virtually the same, service also lacking. There's absolutely no atmosphere around the hotel which is more like a blank and dead conference centre, you can walk around for hours and not see anyone, the hotel bars empty day and night, the room not always hoovered, toiletries sub-standard, balcony furniture also sub-standard (and rusty), altogether a truly awful experience, put us completely off Madeira, we'll never go again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel but if you really must go here, then Tower 2 above the 6th floor, better ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.