We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a wonderful return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had spent our honeymoon here and were only too pleased to return. The facilities have improved over the past few years and it is difficult to fault this lovely hotel. The setting is great and the views magnificent (even though there is a lot of building work going on in Funchal right now). The food was tip top - huge quantities of really fresh tropical fruits and imaginative vegetables to accompany the mains. The setting was tranquil and just what we needed to recharge our batteries. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. The little kitchen in each room even had a combi microwave and enough cookware to make a decent meal. Most useful was having a fridge with a small freezer. There were lots of 'little extras' that made all the difference. We will return and not leave it so long till our next visit. Thank you to all the lovely staff!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, but think if you would like morning or evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review shared on TripAdvisor and also thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

Really happy to know that you took advantage of hotel facilities and services provided by our team and also good to know that somehow we had a positive contribution on such a special occasion of your lives.

We will always be most pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    164
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
143
590
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira Islands, Portugal
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my 7th visit to the Eden Mar. Madeira is a beautiful island with stunning scenery, charming villages and friendly happy people and needs no endorsements from me. Every year I look at brochures for other places, other hotels but nothing seems to suit and I find myself landing in Santa Cruz once again.On arrival guests are welcomed warmly by reception and the hotel does its best to give you your "usual"room. The gardens are stunningly beautiful and well kept. The staff in restaurants and bars are efficient and good humoured. The aim of this hotel is to make your stay a confortable and pleasant experience which it does admirablly. Just one complaint....cant I take my hotel bed back to Devon with me as I sleep better on that than I do at home!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the ““Back Again!” review posted on TripAdvisor and for let us know that overall you had a such positive holiday experience. Thank you also for your support by staying so many times with us.

Regarding your question about taking the hotel to Devon, the answer is NO you can’t, otherwise we would lose our jobs…unless you want to take all of us too..our salaries are not so high!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

..
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Eden Mar for one week from 24th February. We chose the hotel on the basis of the trip advisor reviews, its promity to Funchal and the selection of indoor and outdoor pools; one of which has both indoor and outdoor sections and an outdoor jacuzzi - very nice!

We stayed in the Eden Mar rather than the Porto Mare due to the price but you have easy access to all of the Porto Mare Facilities and do not even have to go out side to go to their restaurant, bar and indoor pool (see above). We ate breakfast every day at the Porto Mare which had a good selection of cooked food (full English, omelettes etc.), continental breakfast, cereals, fruit and so on.

The room was basic but had a sea view (I don't think we paid extra for this and seem to recall that all rooms at the Eden Mar have a sea view - but not sure how this could be if you are on the ground floor?). The grounds and gardens are lovely and it's a really good location, about 40 minute walk to Funchal (its not all uphill either, so not as bad as made out in a previous review). There are plenty of good restaurents close by (try Funcho Gourmet, practically next door to the hotel, and Chalet Vicente which is close to the hotel and on the way to Funchal). We did a few Levada walks and along to promanade to Camera Des Lobos which were great.

We're not overly fussy about where we stay as long as there aren't any problems (after all we didn't go on holiday to spend all of our time in the hotel room) so this one ticked all of our boxes.

Add to trip

Room Tip: I think higher floors will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it with so many other holiday makers.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience and we would be most pleased to welcome you again in a future visit to Madeira,

Regarding the view of the rooms of Eden Mar, they all have a sea view but depending on the location, there are rooms with a large sea view and others with not so large sea view.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Once again we have mainly only good things to say about this hotel complex

The food and service was very good in the restaurants. The whole place is cleaned regularly.

The entertainment in the bars was of high quality and the guitarist on March 5th was exceptional. The drinks waiter Robert was particularly excellent with his attitude and service.

The girls on the reception were very efficient and helpful. In fact the whole staff are to be commended for their service.

On top of all this we were lucky to be in Funchal for the carnival which was quite stunning.

One tip if you are going up in the cable car to the botanical gardens be aware that is very hilly.

Finally our only moan was that we had a regular nasty smell in our bathroom at night which was unpleasant in room 1314

That apart we thank all the staff at Eden Mar and the people of Madeira for a glorious holiday

Room Tip: Upper room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Another stay, another positive holiday experience at Eden Mar... THANK YOU so much.
Thank you also for the public praise of Roberto and the reception girls. I am sure they will be most pleased to read your thoughts about them .
We will check what happened about the room smell.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

An excellent Hotel, with excelllent, friendly staff. The hotel is kept very clean, and there is a good choice of restaurants. There are four pools (two indoor and two outdoor) in the complex which is shared with the Porto Mare Hotel. The rooms are a good size and have basic cooking facilities if you want to eat in. Beds are very comfortable.Beautiful gardens to relax in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side, then you get the afternoon / evening sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments with so many other holiday makers.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience and we would be most pleased to welcome you again in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosieres, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fourth visit to Madeira, and second time in Eden Mar : beautiful gardens, nice atmosphere, seems very well managed. We spent two weeks there, and it was too short... We were there for our 45th wedding anniversary, and felt like we were once again on our honeymoon.. (which we spent in Madeira & Porto Santo in august 1968). Eden Mar is highly recommendable, especially if you like to cook your supper...

Room Tip: Starting on the second floor, rooms xx34 to xx37 are sunny in the morning, whilst rooms xx03 to xx08...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review shared with so many holiday makers of TripAdvisor.
Thank you for being t our hotel for the first time and hopefully not the last,

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our first visit to Madeira was made enjoyable by staying at the Eden Mar Suite Hotel. A pleasant surprise on arrival was to be upgraded to a Junior Suite and the room we could not fault in any way at all. The food was good at breakfast, we ate out locally of an evening so cannot comment on dining there of an evening but I am sure it would have been a good dining experience.
All in all a great hotel, exceptionally clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your first stay at Eden mar hotel and for sharing with so many other holiday makers your opinion about your holiday experience.

It is rewarding to know that you had a very positive first visit to Madeira and we would be most pleased to welcome you for your second visit to our property and madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.