We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden Mar Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eden Mar Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just retuned from another excellent holiday at the Eden Mar. Could not fault anything, suite was great, hotel staff all very helpful & restaurants, particularly the Med were first class.

This was the second year running we have stayed in the Eden Mar & we will return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about Eden Mar.

Really glad that you have enjoyed your second holiday experience with us, the hotel the staff service and facilities.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    158
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
140
580
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived home on the 19th Aug after staying 2 wks at the Eden Mar , we can't complain about anything , the room was clean and a good size , the food was excellent and the staff were fantastic , But there was one problem the Rep Margaret , we went to the welcome meeting in the Porta Mare where you get put in a room in the lower part of the hotel , this room has no air conditioning and you will be in there with around 60 other people , you then will be subjected to an hour and a half of Margeret telling you her life story and giving you miss information about the buses on the Island and some of the tour operators that you can go to locally to book trips , we know this as we came to Madiera last yr and used the buses and booked some trips , not with Thomson and knew what she was saying was not correct . Also if you start fanning yourself in this extremely hot room , she will have a go at you and tell you to stop as she cannot put up with this as she has some problem with her eyes and can't concentrate on what she is saying or doing ! We found her to be extremely rude and would recommend to Thomson that she is not the right type of person for this type of hotel , maybe Ibiza would be more her style , anyway if you can do without listening to an hr and a half go a Glaswegion accent and mis information , then we would recommend it , Margaret isn't the type of Rep we were expecting at the Eden Mar and your time would be better spent enjoying your holiday around the bar .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your time giving us feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar.
Glad that overall you have enjoyed your holidays. Regarding your comments about the Thomson rep please let us know if you want us to discuss the matter with her.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We choose the hotel based mainly on the reviews and I can understand why it gets such consistently good feedback. I don't think we experienced the same level of staff service as other people, the receptionists (just 2 of them for a busy arrival) were a bit rushed so we probably didn't get the full on welcome you would normally get but we were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready even though we arrived earlier than the check in time. Our room was bigger than we have had in similar hotels in other destinations like Tenerife and Majorca which was useful as we had an extra bed as well. The kitchenette is a very useful addition, would be even better if they provided a small bottle of washing up liquid so we could wash our own things. The room was always cleaned to a good standard, sometimes it wasn't done until 5pm but as we were out most of the days it didn't matter too much. The pool areas and gardens were beautifully kept and laid out. We stayed by the smaller pool at the Eden Mar rather than the main pool and as long as we went down just before breakfast around 8.30am we could get 5 sunbeds for our family together right next to the pool. We were amazed that some days at certain times we were the only ones in that pool, it is a big benefit that the island doesn't attract lots of families, it keeps the noise and congestion of the pools to a minimum. We didn't use the indoor pool but it was a good addition to the hotel. We made use of the excellent happy hour at 5pm everyday, drinks half price, a cocktail in a hotel for €3 is not something you would get in many places! It would have been even better in the waiters would take orders from around the pool rather than just collecting the empty glasses. The drinks prices outside of happy hour were quite reasonable. My only niggles are that sometimes the toilets in the public areas weren't as clean as I would expect and on Sunday afternoon someone had a pizza and beers in the bar area in front of the big screen and on Monday morning the rubbish was still there! We used the shuttle to go into town and this was prompt, comfortable and had A/C. The breakfast was good although the hot food wasn't always that hot and it seemed to be quite an effort to get a table for more than 4 people, most in fact were set for 2 or 3 in the Eden Mar side of the complex. We were pleased to get BBC 1, BBC 2 and ITV in our rooms. Overall I would recommend this hotel, especially to families with young children.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor for the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “view, shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

Happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed your holiday experience at Eden Mar in spite of the issues raised that will be taken in good consideration,

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When we decided to revisit Madeira our initial intention was to stay elsewhere. Not because we had in anyway been disappointed previously by the Eden Mar (far from it), just that we thought we'd like to experience somewhere new. However having considered other options we decided on a return visit. We did not regret it.
The facilities are excellent. The kitchen area in the room is a real advantage allowing some "self catering" if you wish. That said the hotel restaurants are good, there are several restaurants that we enjoyed very close by and a good bus service down into the town if you want more options.
The staff are very helpful and when my wife unfortunately had a fall they very quickly got us a doctor and subsequently an ambulance. Parking appears limited, but we never had any problem getting a space. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

…we will be most pleased to welcome you when you decide to return .
Thank you for your second visit to Eden Mar and for your review on tripadvisor.
Hope your wife is better and next time if you have doubts about the hotel to stay and if you wish to try another one…, why not Porto Mare?

See you son for the 3rd visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned home from a thoroughly enjoyable one week family holiday (via Thomson) at the Eden Mar / Porto Mare in Funchal, Madeira. The hotel, the room, the facilities, all round cleanliness, the food were all excellent and the staff and service received throughout the week were exceptional. I simply can't state highly enough the service we received from every member of staff we encountered at the hotel throughout the whole week. All were extremely helpful, courteous, professional and sincere. This was by far the best service we have received at any holiday resort / hotel and it played a huge part in the enjoyment of the overall holiday experience.

We had a Junior Suite room which was exceptionally clean and very spacious and well situated on the 4th Floor therefore enjoying excellent sea and pool views. We dined on a Half board basis and ate for two nights at the Antlantida restaurant, which despite being a buffet style arrangement was superb. The choice and quality of the food offered was excellent and far exceeded our expectations, and was by far the very best 'buffet style' food I have experienced on a package holiday. We also dined here each day for the buffet breakfasts which were truly exceptional. The breakfast choice was enormous and catered for pretty much every possible requirement. The outside tables here were particularly nice as they overlooked the main resort swimming pool. We dined for the remaining five nights at the on-site a la carte 'Med Restaurant' where both the food and service were truly sensational, and I would highly recommend. (see my separate restaurant review).

The prices of food and drinks throughout were extremely reasonable considering the rating / quality of the hotel and there was also a daily 'happy hour' (5-6:30 PM) where all drinks and selected cocktails were half price.

As well as the 2 main outdoor pools (both of which were excellent), the hotel complex also had an excellent indoor Spa area with 2 indoor pools, various jacuzzi's, Gym etc as well as a further external pool linking to the main indoor pool. The outdoor areas had plenty of sun beds however there was the usual early morning scrum to reserve those in the best locations. This often led to many beds being reserved but unused for several hours and I even witnessed some 'serial offenders' (UK guests!!) whereby they reserved beds in both sun and shade positions and swapped beds throughout the day as the sun moved around the pool!! The irony of this is that the Hotel's policy actually forbids the reserving of sun beds, however they clearly do not police this. As I said earlier, there are plenty of beds and so I wouldn't let this put you off, however it is a slight annoyance and I thought it was worthy of mention in this review. All pool towels were provided by the hotel so no need to take any with you as part of your luggage etc.

Worthy of mention also was the gardens, which the hotel complex was set within. Quite simply a magnificent array of plant species etc, throughout and all kept exceptionally tidy and perfectly manicured. Even if you were not at all interested in gardens or plants etc, you could not fail to be impressed by the standard to which all were kept within the setting of the hotel grounds.

Evening entertainment was low key but tasteful and was always concluded by midnight, whereby the various bars closed also. The demographic of the hotel was definitely towards more mature people, although there were a fair amount of families and couples also. The hotel was also geared up mainly for British guests, however there were lots of other European guests also which was great. The atmosphere at the hotel was always calm, quiet and relaxed and there was never even a hint of excessive noise / rowdy behaviour. And for those from the UK reading this review you can relax as you will be pleased to know there wasn't even the tiniest hint of there being any chav or Union Jack short wearing type guests around!!

We embarked on a couple of day excursions (under our own steam and not with Thomson) and there is lots to see and do in and around Funchal if chilling by the pool is not your only holiday requirement. One such trip was to the Funchal Cable Car / Monte (see my separate review) which was excellent value for money and well worth experiencing. We also took one of the many open top bus excursions to see the main sights of Funchal. The Hotel also provided free daily courtesy buses to and from Funchal, which was an excellent touch.

In terms of other on-site activities, within the hotel complex and aside from the main pool / Spa facilities, there was also mini-golf, golf practice facilities, tennis, table tennis, pool table, scuba diving facilities amongst other things available if required (although I was far too busy relaxing to try any of these personally!!) Wi-fi / Internet was also available in the main reception areas of the hotel but not in the rooms. Some work was ongoing throughout our stay to install wi-fi within the rooms although I'm not sure when this will eventually be available

All in all, this was a near perfect holiday, with the facilities / arrangements at the hotel covering just about anything you would need to enjoy a relaxing holiday, and in particular both the food and the staff being exceptional. I would therefore highly recommend this hotel / holiday to anyone. We are already making plans to return.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite on 4th Floor (Room 1409) with superb sea and pool views and late afternoon / e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Eden Mar and for the comprehensive review about it and shared on tripadvisor.
About the sunbeds we are looking for a more effective solution to control it.

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First ever visit to Madeira and first time staying the Eden Mar. We booked with Thomson and were looked after well by Margaret.

Very busy check in when we arrived, so the reception staff were rushed but surprisingly managed to tell us everything we needed to know. Keys at the ready, off we went to find our rooms.As we sauntered through the hotel initial observations rendered it very clean and as we later found out that is consistent throughout the resort. My mum was initially very disappointed with her room. We had upgraded to superior rooms and they are HUGE. However, our booking had indicated a "sea view". We could not see out to the sea instead we had the view of the courtyard. The receptionist apologised and explained that all rooms facing the sea were considered to be "sea view" rooms (whether you can see it or not). Due to the busy check ins she was not able to find rooms with better views but reassured us she would speak with the manager the next morning. This was not necessary as my mum discovered our second room had a lovely view of the courtyard/opposite side of the hotel albeit no sea view. We simply swapped rooms and my sister and I were not overly fussed. Perhaps the "sea view" ought to be explained more clearly so expectations are not set. The room itself I cannot fault. I love the kitchenette facility. The bathroom was huge and I nearly died seeing double sinks! I have never seen double sinks in a standard hotel room.

Aside from initial hiccup we were very happy with the resort. It was great to have the benefit of 3 resorts, so this means numerous pools. There were plenty of sun loungers but realised that in order to get decent beds you needed to reserve with your towels first thing in the morning.

The buffet breakfast was amazing. There was a huge choice and we thoroughly enjoyed the selection of breads. The staff were very polite and friendly, again a running theme throughout the resort.

We only stayed on a b&b basis but decided to experience their seafood themed buffet. It was lovely. Large selection of sea food, I overloaded myself with fresh prawns.

The only negative is the lack of internet. This was only available in the public areas namely the reception areas. Although whilst we were there (second week of July) there were installing internet for rooms. Not sure if this is going to be a free service.

The location was excellent. Just a short stroll into the town centre. There was plenty to see on the route which kept us enthralled. It was just a shame the freak heatwave resulted in the use of their courtesy coach. This was a massive plus for this Porto Bay resort. Lots and lots of places to eat within short strolling distance just beware the extreme slope up to the main road. A tip to avoid that is to stroll across to Porto Mar and exit there instead. It adds additional distance but for those unable to make the steep climb it is a better alternative route.

All in all a terrific resort worthy of all the positive reviews it has received. I would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for let us know that you had a positive first holiday experience in Madeira and our resort in particular.

Regarding the room types of Eden Mar, we do not sell our rooms by the view.
The room categories we have are studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites. The majority of this units do have a sea view, but some don’t.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned after another wonderful holiday this time we celebrated our golden wedding ,the hotel were great on the morning of our event we received flowers and champagne on the evening we had our meal in the Med restaurant with our family .They also gave us more champagne and a lovely cake,the table was covered in rose petals a lovely touch.We had a suite this time what a view ,the staff are very nice and helpful also the the food great .As this is our 10th visit to this hotel we must be one satisfied customer . We are now looking into our next holiday there a big thank you once again to the staff and manager of the restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to know that we had a positive impact on your special holiday at Eden Mar. Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing with so many holiday makers your holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.