We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and we weren't disappointed. I would not look any further than this hotel when staying in Madeira. A perfect holiday. Peaceful and beautiiful surroundings, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to be given a free upgrade to a junior suite, but even without this the rooms are everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to know that we were able to fulfill your expectations on your second visit to our Hotel.
Also take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your thoughts with such a vast audience of tripadvisor

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    136
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
126
519
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

With considerable enthusiasm we made our third trip to this wonderful Hotel arriving on 3rd June for 2 weeks. Our continued support of this hotel is based upon it's unfailing ability to keep and maintain standards. It is more common to re-book with a company only to start to see the cracks as familiarity sets in. Not the case here. I note that previous guests have heaped praise upon Luis and his food and beverage manager and whilst this is clearly due I want to praise, thank and applaud the team that really make it all work (in my view).

This team starts with reception and in particular Cecilia. All the team on reception are amazing but for us the sight of her familiar face (and she remembered us too) made our day on arrival, she has a wonderful sense of humour and a dedication to the role which is not easily matched! She made our holiday!

Then we have the pool staff, the waiters, the chefs and their staff, the gardeners and our VERY hard working house-keeper. Again the same lady as last year, she looked after us in room 1207 and she is an absolute star.

This year we took advantage of the 3 or 5 meal plan which gives you a discount, this coupled with the Prestige Club members discount makes dining at the complex excellent value. The buffet meals in the Atlantida are quite remarkable and we recommend highly.

The Eden Mar has become our cocoon of comfort, reliability and service and we will most certainly return next year. We'd go again this year but sadly the thing called 'work' gets in the way.

Understandably the Hotel is generally full, this in itself must speak volumes. My only tip is this, if you are thinking of booking then do it now, and go for 2 weeks - Madeira has so much to offer.

Thank you Porto Bay Hotels - see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a rewarding review posted on tripadvisor and for praising the service the facilities and some of my colleagues with whom I will proudly share your thoughts,

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We returned to the Eden Mar Hotel for the second time, and again we were not dissapointed.The cleanliness, attention to all your requirements was first class and the food was great.The facilities around the complex were numerous and the grounds and gardens are kept meticulous. I would love to return again.

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay and for your feedback about it on TripAdvisor.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Eden Mar Hotel has everything a holidaymaker can hope for. Starting off with the welcome and help from the all the girls on the reception desk to the day you leave and check out at the reception desk. Added to this the'in between times' of the holiday when you need directions, information etc. and all of this is handled perfectly (much better than than the Tourist Information Centre in Funchal Town).
The rooms are spotless and the room maids are brilliant and so eager to please. Every comfort is available and the beds are SOOOO comfortable.
The breakfast is taken in the most beautiful place, looking on to huge palm trees and a variety of flowers. The staff here are also so pleasant and eager to help.
The variety of evening entertainment is excellent and no one can fail to enjoy as you have the opportunity also to go to the Porto Mare hotel (in the same complex) to listen to the outstanding husband and wife duo who play there 6 nights a week. Wonderful artists. Bar staff in any part of the Eden Mar and Porto Mare are 'spot on'.
The swimming pools (inside and outside) are so well maintained as are the sun loungers and umbrellas.
Finally the situation of the hotel is extremely perfect as local buses run every 10 mins into and back from Funchal Town if you have not managed to catch the courtesy bus. If you do not wish to eat in the hotel restaurants (the food and diversity of menu is excellent) then there are many restaurants close by which we would recommend.
A wonderful relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite as they are very well sited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback shared with the most vast travel audience of Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to know that you took such a positive impression of our facilities and services provided us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on a near future.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is our second holiday at the Eden Mar and we will certainly be returning again next year. Every aspect of the complex is excellent and the staff from management to housekeeping are warm and friendly. We met many couples who have been returning there for years, and the benefit of the Prestige Club card when you vacate on your first time checking out gives you a 10% discount on all food and drinks at the Porto Bay group should you return plus discounts from various shops and car hire. Its a lovely way of them thanking you for your loyalty as satisfied customers. It is also a good location being a 30/40 mins walk from Funchal Town and in the opposite direction a beautiful Lido promenade walk. The gardens in the complex are spectacular, and everywhere is kept spotless inside and out. Cant wait for next years return!!!

Room Tip: Probably higher for a sea view, but the grounds are so beautiful I cannot imagine any room being dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your “amazing “ review on tripadvisor . It is really rewarding to know that you enjoyed another holiday experience with us.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently returned from a two week stay in Eden Mar. As usual all staff were friendly and most efficient; the hotel was clean throughout. We ate in all restaurants - including Il Basilico - and could not fault either the food or service - particularly when I was not well the staff in Alfama were exceptionally helpful. In the evenings it was always a pleasure to walk in the garden where the smell of Jasmine practically bowled you over. Away from the hotel, the Jacaranda trees are a sight to behold! We look forward to our 20th visit next May!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

… We look forward to y(our) 20th visit next May! ..Thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor . Happy to know that once again we managed to fulfill your holiday needs and that you had another positive holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

There's little we can add to what we've written before (see reviews June 2011 and June 2012). As usual nothing is too much trouble for the brilliant staff. The hotel grounds are still beautiful and our room was spotlessly clean with an extremely comfortable bed. I'd spend time sitting there for part of the evening with one eye on the TV (among other English stations you receive BBC 1, BBC 2 and ITV) and the other at my amazing views. At breakfast on Thursdays we were unexpectedly entertained by a small Madeiran folk band, working their way round the tables. What a wonderful start to the day!

When we arrive at the hotel it's like coming home, and when we leave it makes me cry.

Thank you again Eden Mar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Our second home”..I will proudly share your thoughts about your recent visit to Eden Mar. I am sure all my team will be most pleased to read your comments THANK YOU.


We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#1 of 91 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
City Center, Po...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 91 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 91 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.