We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remains our favourite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Newquay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Remains our favourite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our sixth visit over the past 12 years and will be returning again in the near future. All the staff are fantastic, so helpful with nothing being too much trouble. A choice of restaurants if you do not want to venture out to eat. This visit was our 40th Wedding Anniversary and we were greeted with chilled champagne, rose petals and a bouquet of flowers in our room.
We have recommeded the Edem Mar to family and friends who have all stayed and thoughourly enjoyed the visit.

R & J

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about your recent visit to Eden Mar. A big thank you also for being a great supporter of our hotel and happy to know that you had another enjoyable experience.

See you hopefully soon…

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    164
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
143
590
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived at 6-30 pm and found I had messed up the booking, we had no room reserved. The receptionist remembered us from last year,pulled out all the stops and found us a room in spite of being fully booked. They are really friendly and helpful. The room was superb, sea views across the lovely hotel gardens, large, comfortable twin beds and a small self catering unit with cutlery and crockery provided.There are a selection of really good restaurants in the complex, all of a very high standard. I cannot rate this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay and for the review about it posted on tripadvisor.

See you hopefully soon with or without booking!

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago have been to madeira 3 times and love going back there and this hotel is superb it has everything good food lovely rooms ideal location easy to go into funchal by bus if you dont drive staff are very friendly you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “ lovely Madeira” review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel.

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the most amazing room, with a twin basin bathroom, mini kitchen and olympic sized bed. The hotel was stunning. The entertainment (Duo Harmonia) were really great and had us up and dancing every single night, and sometimes during "happy hour" too! We were welcomed with a bouquet of flowers, champagne chilling and a fruit basket in our room as a wedding surprise. There were heart shaped petals on the bed and scattered around the room. Please go to Madeira and meet the people, they were all very friendly and genuinely pleased to have us there. The island is spotlessly clean from roads to restaurants and we loved it. Tip: if you hire a car make sure it's diesel as the hills are merciless!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to know that we have made a positive contribute to your honeymoon trip to Madeira. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.

It will be a pleasure to to welcome you in a near future.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. When it comes to going abroad, I have high standards as I expect everywhere to be as comfortable and clean as my own home... and this hotel didn't disappoi me!

It was recommended to me by a friend, who had also recommended it to her parents as well.

The rooms were very spacious, with a very small kitchen area at the back of the room - it was hidden out of sight though so you still felt like you were in a hotel rather than an apartment. It consisted of a few cupboards, a fruit bowl, sink and a fridge, which was handy for storing water and other drinks.

The breakfast buffet bar was rather small but still managed to stock everything that you would expect including, meats, cheese, breads, toast making, yoghurts and cooked breakfast items too and you could also help yourself to bubbly to make bucks fizz, which was a nice touch!!

We didn't eat anyother meals in the hotel but I believe they did have a few other places within the hotel where you could eat an evening meal and they had themed nights

The swimming pool was clean, well preserved and there was also an indoor pool which I made use of.

In terms of nightlife - there are a couple of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel but it is also really easy to catch a bus into the main town where there was a wider selection of restaurants and places to grab a bite to eat. Walking was also possible - about 20 mins.

We are a young couple in our late 20's and the only comment I would make is that the rest of the clientele in the hotel was probably 50+ which meant it was very calm and relaxing.

All in all, I cannot find a bad word to say about this place and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing week in Funchal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here in middle of April and were made very welcome. We were upgraded from superior studio to Junior suite without asking. This was a management decision and the room was very pleasant with all you could wish for, we were self catering and kitchenette area was really well equipped. Only exception would be a toaster would be good for breakfast times but this is being perhaps over critical! We had a good view of sea from second floor as I think all the rooms do. We could use all facilities in complex of Porto Bay (Porto Mare Hotel and The Residence) so found pools very good with choice of large, or medium or kiddies outdoor and two beautiful pools indoor. The Spa was also a very relaxing area where I had a back massage at a cost of 40 euros. The hotel provides you with bath robes, toiletries etc. and towels for use around pools.
The area was near to several restaurants and shops although some we up quite steep hills.
We had no difficulty with this as we were probably one of the younger couples staying here at this time being in our fifties!
We walked into the centre of Funchal and the harbour area. About 30 - 40 mins but the harbour area was very noisy with cranes, cement mixers etc - very industrial area.
We also took public bus to Camero De Lobos a very quaint fishing village about 4 0r 5 Killometres along the coast to the west. Reception were very helpful and told us about area and where to catch bus etc. Walked back from here to hotel mostly on coastal path, but had to come up some steps to road at one point to get around headland cliffs and then back onto promenade which goes all the way back to Eden Mar and supermarket below these buildings.
This took about 1 hr 45 mins. brisk walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday thoughts: We are pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon in our hotel

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Madeira and the Eden Mar really exceeded our expectations. Our 8 year old described it as his 'best holiday ever'. We thought the hotel was better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in and certainly better than most 4 star hotels. We had booked a junior suite and the hotel did not have our booking; said they were fully booked, so had to upgrade us to a suite! The suite was huge with a balcony the size of a ballroom with sunbeds, 2 TV's, plenty of wardrobe space and kitchenette. We were very reluctant to leave our room and had many meals on the balcony, including room service one evening. The whole property is spotlessly clean, equipment of a high standard and we used the fabulous indoor pools and jacuzzis every day. I loved the spa feel of the white bathrobes that everyone used walking around the property. There did not seem to be many people around for such a large resort and we thought it was very quiet. Our son enjoyed the outdoor chess, table tennis and crazy golf.

All staff were exceptionally professional and pleasant but particularly the reception staff. Toiletries in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities were well stocked but I was a bit disappointed that there was no hair conditioner. The breakfasts were good and included sparkling wine and it was nice to start the day with such an amazing view across the gardens and pool. The gardens were amazing to walk around and we loved the fact that plants were named. We did find that the resort is a little lacking in car park space but you can park under the residence apartments and this is a few minutes walk.

Next time we want some luxurious pampering we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

So rewarding to know that we were capable to exceed your holiday expectations. Thank you for sharing your feedback about it on tripadvisor.
I will pay good attention on the minor things mentioned and see what we can do about it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon in our hotel

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.