We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating between 3 and 4” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rating between 3 and 4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel we were given a room directly above the entrance to the supermarket on the ground floor. Yes, we did have sea view which we had requested, but also a view of the car park for the supermarket. I asked politely in the reception if it would be possible to change to another room, but was told quite stiffly that the hotel was fully booked. We suffered a night of little sleep, with cars coming and going, garbage trucks and the bottle bank/container being emptied. The next morning I tried my plea once more in the reception. This time I was met by an understanding and helpful member of staff. She told us she would look into the matter, and would let us know within a couple of hours. When we came back, we were moved to a room on a higher floor, overlooking the sea and the pool. The rest of our week at Eden Mar was good. We enjoyed the lovely gardens and the pools. A bit of a stroll into the centre of Funchal, but there were lots of restaurants to choose from in any direction from the hotel. Had we not been so unlucky with our first room or had better service from the reception when we first asked to change rooms, my review would have been a four. It just goes to show how much it matters that the staff is hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Eden Mar hotel. I am deeply sorry not being able to full feel all your expectations and promise good attention on issues raised so we can do better.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in case I can be any help for future visits to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    175
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
149
633
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel staff helpful and the room was excellent. I did struggle a bit with no wifi in the room or by the pool because planning the next day's activities or keeping up with business while in the room or near the pools is an essential activity that requires wifi. I did not like having to go to the lobby or bar to use wifi.

I would advise savvy travellers to consider portable wifi/ pocket broadband hotspots, perhaps on a phone with a local SIM card, until the hotel realises that very soon room wifi will be almost as essential as electricity. A wifi repeater might work as well but I have no technical skills with those so cannot advise one.

We found the jacuzzis a bit on the cool side and did wonder if the posted temperatures of 34C were aspirational.

Hotel gardens are beautiful.

Be aware that this is a resort/tourist area and finding a restaurant that caters mostly to locals in the area is generally not possible. There are plenty of restaurants around, but with tourist menus and tourist prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent visit to Eden Mar.
Take the opportunity to inform you and all the other tripadvisor followers that we have already installed WIFI at The Residence (same hotel complex of Eden Mar) and started the cable works installation on the other hotels of Vila Porto Mare complex. This mean that in some months time we will have WIFI available in all the resort.

Regarding the restaurants issue, yes it is true that there are many options around including the Il Basilico an Italian restaurant where about 40% of the clientele are locals and also clients from there hotels around Vila Porto Mare.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case we can assist you on anything you might need for future visits to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our fifth visit here and we decided to avoid the Scottish winter by going for FOUR WEEKS ! Because the rooms are spacious and there is a small kitchen we had everything we needed for a long stay( including sunshine). Management sorted out a small complaint we had WITHIN TWO HOURS and we felt valued as returning customers. Well done all staff again for appearing happy and helpful at all times. The facilities are top notch- from the pools and gardens to the four restaurants we couldn't fault anything. I love the way the hotel varies its entertainment programme- the "Dinner Shows" on the Saturday nights were top class entertainment and top class fine dining .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for let us know that you had a “fifth great stay” at Eden Mar hotel.

Good to learn that you took advantage of our entertainment activates and had fun with it.

As usual we will be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need for your 6th visit.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Eden Mare is a great hotel in a prime position within easy reach to all the amenities.
Me & my family stayed here to celebrate my birthday (a special one) & loved our time here.
We stopped in a junior suite which was ideal having a baby son & having the extra room is well worth it, we had fabulous views of the Atlantic & nice views of the pool & gardens.
Without a doubt the staff were wonderful to us & nothing was too much trouble & i would like to say a big thank you to all concerned for making my birthday a very memorable one & would love to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to know that we had a positive contribution to the celebration of a special event. I will proudly share your thoughts with all my team.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case you need any assistance for future visits to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A very nice hotel with a superb relaxing garden including an orchid garden. On a complex with the Porto Mare and the Residence you have access to four pools, a spa where they do wonderful treatments and four restaurants to choose from, There is a pool bar where you can get light lunches. And there are plenty of sunbeds! Not far out of Funchal, and there is a courtesy bus that you can book to take you into the city. Perfect for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Muito obrigado” for sharing your opinion about Eden Mar on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you had another enjoyable experience and we do promise to give good attention the dessert issue.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff continue to impress with their cheerful, attentive attitude. The rooms are spacious, clean & well maintained with comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet offers a very wide variety of food, that includes cooked & continental with an extensive range of fruit, while the breads are just wonderful!

We ate in the Med restaurant on 'Meat Night' & enjoyed real quality steaks & an extensive wine list. 'Fish Night' in The Alfama provided good fish but the.desserts did not look so appetising. The Basilical provided a rich tasting Lasagne, an excellent Risotto, very good steak & succulent fish, supported by a creditable wine list on the 2 occasions that we ate there.

A little further a field we enjoyed eating at L'Osteria twice, relishing the steak, chicken & the Scabbard Fish with Banana in Passion fruit sauce, while the Pannacotta & Crepe Suzette also found favour.

Although all but one of the men in our party would not join the Aqua Aerobic sessions, that was their loss; the 'teacher' was so very cheerful, cheeky & affirming that we all pushed ourselves to the limit for a thorough workout! Can't recommend it highly enough to offset all the calories ingested in between.

The hotel Shuttle Bus provides a reliable return service to & from Funchal, but be advised, it leaves very much on time!

Another most enjoyable stay with a return for a 3rd year running very much in mind for next year..

Room Tip: A room above the 3rd floor enables a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar. we are happy to learn that you had another enjoyable experience and we do promise to give good attention the dessert issue.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our 7th holiday here, we are always very reluctant to leave so this year we really treated ourselves and stayed for 3 weeks, the longest we have stayed anywhere! We had a wonderful 3 weeks - a warm welcome from the friendly staff, (we feel we know them all), great accommodation as always, amazing breakfasts, beautiful gardens and even glorious sunshine.
Entertainment program far from dull. During the day there are lots of things to do- Madeira or Portuguese wine tasting sessions, tours of the kitchen and gardens, basic Portuguese lessons, aerobics, as well as a gym and childrens areas. Each evening something different e.g. quizzes, magician, Capoeira (fantastic martial arts display) Also great music! Black Dog Blues Band, Banda D'Alem - brilliant, or if you want to dance the night away Duo Harmonia provide the excellent background for ballroom and Latin American.
We enjoyed every day of our 3 weeks on Madeira whether relaxing at the Eden Mar or on days out. There is a lot of great walking on Madeira, many places to visit and things to do, we always find somewhere new to explore and love using the local buses to get around.
Standards at Porto Bay hotels remain consistently excellent, again we were very sad to leave this "home from home" on Monday, we will be back - perhaps for 4 weeks next time.......... Because we are worth it....

Room Tip: High floor for best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the 7th stay at Eden Mar hotel. Secondly thank you so much for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about it.

It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your 3 weeks holidays and also took advantage of our entertainment program and other services.

See you on the 8th Visit.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.