We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because we are worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Because we are worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our 7th holiday here, we are always very reluctant to leave so this year we really treated ourselves and stayed for 3 weeks, the longest we have stayed anywhere! We had a wonderful 3 weeks - a warm welcome from the friendly staff, (we feel we know them all), great accommodation as always, amazing breakfasts, beautiful gardens and even glorious sunshine.
Entertainment program far from dull. During the day there are lots of things to do- Madeira or Portuguese wine tasting sessions, tours of the kitchen and gardens, basic Portuguese lessons, aerobics, as well as a gym and childrens areas. Each evening something different e.g. quizzes, magician, Capoeira (fantastic martial arts display) Also great music! Black Dog Blues Band, Banda D'Alem - brilliant, or if you want to dance the night away Duo Harmonia provide the excellent background for ballroom and Latin American.
We enjoyed every day of our 3 weeks on Madeira whether relaxing at the Eden Mar or on days out. There is a lot of great walking on Madeira, many places to visit and things to do, we always find somewhere new to explore and love using the local buses to get around.
Standards at Porto Bay hotels remain consistently excellent, again we were very sad to leave this "home from home" on Monday, we will be back - perhaps for 4 weeks next time.......... Because we are worth it....

Room Tip: High floor for best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the 7th stay at Eden Mar hotel. Secondly thank you so much for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about it.

It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your 3 weeks holidays and also took advantage of our entertainment program and other services.

See you on the 8th Visit.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    134
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
125
518
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Eden Mar continues to be a lovely place to stay. Spotlessly clean, spacious rooms with comfy beds, great facilities, beautiful gardens and wonderful staff. The courtesy bus is handy for getting into Funchal but it's an easy downhill walk if you prefer. The breakfasts are superb, so much choice although it can get busy. We ate in two of the hotels four restaurants, Alfama and Il Basillico, both very good. There are also lots of other restaurants within walking distance. We particularly like L'Osteria (separate review) and Casa Italia for great value pizza's and pasta. It was a shame the indoor/outdoor pool was closed but i guess it has to be done sometime and looks like it will be even better when it's finished. The bars were fairly quiet in the evening depending on what entertainment was on. The blues band were really good. All in all another excellent holiday at the Eden Mar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good to know that you had “another great stay” at Eden Mar

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your opinion about our hotel services and facilities.

Regarding the Porto Mare indoor pool, in fact due to a major water leaking we had to do some works but already finished.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This suite hotel and the personel who works there, have done everything to make a holiday on this lovely island a "REAL HOLIDAY. Freindly people who are willing to fulfil all your wishes. This was our 3rd stay here we are coming back!!
There are 3 good restaurants and a beautiful tropical garden as well as 3 outdoor pools en 2 indoor pools.

Room Tip: Choose a superior suite as high as possible. There is a little kitchen and a lovely few and enough s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and mostly for your loyalty to our property

I am really happy to know that you had another positive holiday experience and hopefully will see you around soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very pleasant hotel. The garden is wonderful with almost 500 species of plants from all over the world.
In the reception area is only one computer for 290 guests to share.
And the computer is terribly slow - the worst we have ever used in 25 years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel.

Regarding the internet speed please be informed that hopefully in a very near future we will have wi-fi and with a faster service.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuusamo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

In january we visited Madeira and this lovely hotel first time. We have visited quite many places and countries before this year. Now we found the place and hotel, we'll comeback back. It is very difficult to mention anything specially, because everything pleased us so well: whole athmosphere in Hotel Eden Mar was good: the whole area of hotel is so clean and the garden is very beautiful and well cared and the personal expesially, were polite and helpfull all the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the nice review about Eden Mar, posted on tripadvisor.

Really happy to know that you had a first holiday experience with us and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed for a week here mid Jan 2013. We got a great deal and although the photos looked great we thought 'there must be a catch' but no, there's no catch. Staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel is kept imaculately clean. We didnt see the evening entertainment but according to a couple me met there, they thought the entertainment was fantastic. The rooms are spacious (we got upgrade to a junior suite). The staff were even lovely enough to provide a bottle of bubbly in the room when they found out it was my birthday. Being part of 3 hotels means you get ot use all the facilites. Sadly the one pool was being refurbished when we were there, pitty as it look like its going to be amazing.
The hotel is down a pretty steep incline but then the walk into Funchal is pretty flat/ downhill. It takes about 20 mins to walk into Funchal.There is a free bus service but only at certian times (make sure to get a ticket from reception). We ate out every evening at different restaurants. 'Mama mia' looks very posh but is very resaonable ( walk towards Funchal and you can't miss it). In January we pretty much had the restaurants to ourselves. Tourisrm plays a big part in Madeira and sadly there weren't may tourists so go on, treat yourself to a trip to this lovely island.
Breakfast in either hotel is what you'd expect, good celection.
There is a Dengue feaver issue in madiera (apparentyl!) can't say we saw or heard anything while we were there. Just be sensible and use mozzie spray.
I would like to point out that I'm 39 and my partner is 47. Yes, there are a lot of people around retirement age but we never felt out of place. It seems there are more and more people our agfe visiting Mareira in preferece to Teneriffe. Same weather but without the 'british pubs' and larger louts. Talking of the weather, don't read any weather reports. It was predicted to be showers for the whole week we were there, we had sun every day and no rain! (well some one night). It was about 20-22 during the day, warm enough in the sun for shorts and T shirts.
Don't bother with a hat (it can bet quite breezy!)
Don't bother with high heels (on hills that steep they're impossible and there are a lot of cobbled streets!)
Do go to this hotel and enjoy Madeira !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your visit to Madeira and Eden Mar. We are happy that you had such lovely stay in our hotel in spite of the Porto Mare indoor pool was being repaired as we had a major water leaking . It is now opened.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to one of our properties,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our 6th vist to Madeira and our 3rd visit to the Eden Mar.The Eden Mar is part of a complex which includes the Hotel Porto Mare and the Residence, the latter is mainly a timeshare apartment hotel. Residents can use all the facilities in the complex. It is our prefered hotel because the rooms have kitchenettes and balconies and it has extensive facilities such as two large indoor pools and two outdoor, a very good gym and a Spa with all the treatments. Unfortunately the Porto Mare indoor pool was shut for maintenance during our two week holiday which would have been a serious problem if the weather had not been so brilliant. Likewise, being January there seemed to be a lot of maintenance work both in the complex and an adjoining shopping centre (very small) so sometimes the noise was rather irritating - hammers, drills, compressors and chainsaws. We had such superb weather that we could sit by the pool everyday so I guess normally this is not possible in January and so maintenance would not usually be a problem.

The rooms are spacious and the junior suites are very large. The hotel is a horse shoe shape so balconies get the sun at different times. It was my first experience in Madeira of finding the sun too hot at times on the balcony.
The kitchenettes give you the flexibility to self cater. They include a microwave combo including oven and grill. The hotels do 3 or 5 dinner packages and you can dine in either the Alfama, (Eden Mar) which is table service off a two choice menu or the Atlantida (Porto Mare) which is a buffet - very good. We did not try the a la cart Med. restaurant.

There is entertainment in the evening of a sort which suits the older generation. It was a bit dull in the bars as the clientele was dull and twice we went to the Monumental Lido hotel bar which was livelier and had on one night had some tasteful, athletic dancing girls.

The staff are generally very friendly and efficient and most welcoming. Check in and out was very fast.

The supermarket attached to the complex has everything and I recommend wine from the Alentejo. We drank Terra d'Alter at 3.07 euros a bottle.

Madeira attracts the older set which is ironic in that Madeira is generally very steep. The slope from the hotel to the main road is a challenge but some other hotels were far more difficult to access. Madeira is unsuitable for families because there are no beaches and there is nothing for the younger generation in terms of heaving bars and nightclubs. Along with the Brits there are now Germans, Scandinavians, Dutch, a few French /Belgians and many of the menus were in Russian but there were none around in January.

Room Tip: Do you want an east, south ot west facing balcony for the sun at different times?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review posted on tripadvisor about your 3rd visit to Eden Mar.

I am happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience. Regarding the Porto Mare indoor pool we had to do some repairs due to a major water leaking. It will be open very soon,

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.