We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break before Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful break before Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thank you to the Eden Mar team once again for another wonderful holiday. We have not visited at this time before but would certainly recommend it The room and service were all excellent and we hope to be able to return again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a positive review shared on tripadvisor and for your support by staying with us once again.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    153
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
136
568
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second time at the Eden Mar and it was as good as last time. The kitchen facilities are a major bonus for us as we don't want to eat restaurant food for every meal every day for a fortnight.
When we ate in the restaurant it was very good. The programme of events organised by the hotel was varied and interesting. I particularly enjoyed 'the garden tour' which took one and a half hours and showed us sections of the hotel gardens that we had not noticed. Cindy made this particularly interesting. I also enyoyed the twice weekly concerts given by students of the conservatoire. There were also aquarobics, pilates classes, portuguese language classes and other activities if you wanted them. One of the pools was out of action for repairs but this is probably back in use by now. Altogether a lovely hotel complex - can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We prefer west facing rooms that have the late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your second visit to our hotel and for your “Top Class” review shared on tripadvisor.
Cindy will be most pleased to receive your thoughts that I will share with her and all the Eden Mar team.

Really pleased to see that you have participated in some of the different activities we organize within the Vila Porto Mare complex.
The Porto Mare indoor pool was closed as we were having a major water leaking.
In the meantime the outdoor pool was heated and we will finish the works this Monday.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We got acquainted with the Eden Mar in 1993, and remain regular visitors. We remain convinced by the location, the facilities and the personnel. Avoid, if possible, the Eastern end of the property (noise, traffic problems)

Room Tip: A negative factor is increasing year-over-year : the noise from the Pingo Doce parking lot and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review sent to tripadvisor and for another stay at Eden Mar.

It is rewarding to know that after so many years we are able to meet your holiday expectations,

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a week here during the first week in December in one of the hotel's Junior Suites

The room was OK, but in our opinion was a little old fashioned. That said, the room was always clean

You can get the shuttle bus down to Funchal from the Porto Bay Hotel next door, however, the service is a bit limited, so we walked to Funchal several times (it is a little hilly on the way back)

We had breakfast every morning outside overlooking the main pool. There was plenty of choice, both hot and cold, with a good selection of fruit, yoghurt, cheese and cold meats etc

We didn't eat in the hotel at night as there are plenty of options available within a short walk at rasonable prices - most restaurants give away a glass of madeiran wine

Shop around if you want to take a tour of the island as prices vary wildly, and some are lead by time share companies (which are not the cheapest!)

Madeira has a lot to offer for all ages, and is a destination to which we would definitely return to in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared on tripdavisor with feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and happy to know that overall you had a positive e holiday experience

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel at all. It is the best I have stayed in for a long time. The staff were kind and very helpfull, the rooms were large, well equipped and very clean, even provided towelling robes for use when swimming in the 4 pools. Entertainment good, location good and the gardens were magnificent. I will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Just a short note for the ”fabulous” review sent to tripadvisor.
We are really happy to know that overall you had such a positive experience with us.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in any of our properties,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester,uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went over the New Year for 2 weeks this time, and found the Eden Mar had maintained the excellent level of service and quality we had experienced on previous visits.
Antonio Pais, and the large team of staff throughout the Eden Mar and Porto Mare hotels, pride themselves on customer service & care, nothing seems to be any trouble and any problems are quickly sorted.
The food was great and plentiful and the room comfortable and very well cleaned.
The whole complex is clean and well maintained, this year we managed to get on the kitchen tour which was very interesting and gave a good insight into the level of work which goes on behind the scenes.
We cannot praise the staff enough for making our stay a wonderful experience and we shall return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the “five star” review posted on tripadvisor. Thank you for the public praise of my team that deserves all my recognition. Without them for sure it would be very difficult to achieve positive results and maintain the standards we have accustomed our dear guests.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in!! Room was fabulous and we were even given a free upgrade. They thought of everything even down to a "goodnight" sweet by our bedside every evening!!
Beuatifully clean and well cared for with marvellous gardens including an orchid garden.
Evening entertainment in the bar was very good and the food was excellent. Hotel staff could not do enough for us.
Will definately be returning as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Will definitely be returning as soon as possible!!”..what a pleasant way to tell us that you had a positive holiday at Eden Mar hotel. Thank you for such a “wonderful” review and we will be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need for a brief return to our hotel

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.