We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short winter break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for a short winter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid-January having arranged a holiday through Thomsons and were delighted with our choice. Our first time in Madeira and the hotel was ideally placed to the western edge of Funchal. The hotel operates a courtesy coach service to Funchal and back running at approx 45 minute intervals although not in the evenings. It is however only a 30 minute brisk walk from the hotel into Funchal and perhaps a little longer on return as this is uphill.
As a suite hotel the rooms are excellently equipped with a small kitchenette including microwave, 2 plate cooker and fridge together with all necessary crockery, utensils etc. Beds are extremely comfortable, bathroom is on small side but adequate and there is a good sea facing balcony with table and chairs. You have access to a number of restaurants in the hotel complex and the Italian is particularly recommended. Both indoor and outdoor pools together with a range of other activities and some good evening entertainment. An excellent additional touch was a bottle of sparkling wine delivered to our room on the day of a birthday by the hotel.
The gardens of the hotel complex are a delight and very well kept.
Thoroughly recommended and we will not hesitate to use the hotel if we return to Madeira.

Room Tip: Sixth floor gives good views over gardens and out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your first holidays in Madeira and hopefully not the last !
Also take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor and really happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    159
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
141
581
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed in other Funchal hotels, all of good quality but the Eden Mar offers more: the facilities of this whole Porto Bay complex (Eden Mar & Porto Mar hotels and The Residence time share) which provide a wide choice of dining, relaxation and entertainment of various kinds, plus a very well tended botanic garden to laze in. The staff, like all Madeirans, are very helpful, relaxed and charming.

There is a supermarket, wine store, newsagents, etc adjacent. There is a hotel courtesy bus and a choice of buses to different locations in Funchal and the rest of the island 5 minutes away; the "promenade" and lido are just in front.

We cannot recommend the hotel and its facilities more highly; and the kitchenette really is a great bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms have been excellent on all occasions with balcony overlooking the beauitiful garden and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holidays at Eden Mar Hotel. It is good t know that you have enjoyed yourselves in our property and took advantage of the different facilities within the Vila Proto Mare complex.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed in other Porto Bay hotels in Madeira and they are all a high standard . The Eden Mar Hotel is an older hotel belonging to this group, and yet of the same quality -good sized rooms with very useful and well equipped kitchenettes . Staff are friendly and helpful and the complex offers plenty of entertainment and facilities. The gardens are lovely even in January. We will return!

Room Tip: The side sea view rooms appear to have a better view then those directly facing the sea, which were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for let us know that you had a positive holiday at our hotel and thank you for your support to Porto Bay hotels.
I also take the opportunity to thank you and all the other guest who during 2012/13 shared on tripadvisor their thoughts about the hotel Eden Mar and therefore contributed for the 2013 Traveler’s Choice Winners – Service-Top 25 hotels in Portugal

MUITO OBRIGADO

Warm regards

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed over New Year and cannot fault, if we were to return (I am sure we will) would definitely go back to the Eden Mar. I liked the fact that we were able to make tea/coffee in the room but at the same time have full hotel facilities. The grounds are very well looked after and we enjoyed the restaurants we tried. The supermarket underneath the hotel was a lot larger than expected and everything was reasonably priced. In general found prices in Madeira to be very reasonable taxi's about a third of the price to those in Italy earlier in the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with so many other holiday makers. It is rewarding to know that you did enjoy the time you have been in our island and our property in particular.
I also take the opportunity to thank you and all the other guest who during 2012/13 shared on tripadvisor your thoughts about the hotel Eden Mar and therefore contributed for the 2013 Traveler’s Choice Winners – Service-Top 25 hotels in Portugal

MUITO OBRIGADO

Warm regards

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Although we have never stayed at a five star hotel before, the Eden Mar was better than any of the 4 star hotels that we have stayed at in many respects: Our day started with a luxurious buffet breakfast which even included sparkling wine, followed by a walk through the beautiful grounds. The hotel has indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub and a baby pool as well as crazy golf, putting, petanque, giant chess etc. There were organised daytime activities provided for guests, and a choice of quality evening entertainment.
We found the room to be well equipped and spacious. There was a large flat screen TV with a good selection of channels, lovely beds with memory foam mattress toppers and very fine bed linen. Dressing gowns and beach towels were provided – this saved having to lug them from home. The bathroom had a powerful shower over a bath and toiletries were provided.
Housekeeping and maintenance was impeccable, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
Finally, we were on a B&B board basis, so we tried numerous different restaurants for lunch and dinner, but it is not a coincidence, that the best meal of the week was from a restaurant which was part of the Eden Mar group – “Ristorante Il Basilico”

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Just a short note for your lovely review sent to tripadvisor.
Glad that you had a first positive experience with us so we hope it wont be the last.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have just returned fom The Eden Mar suite Hotel .Staying over the 2012/13 new year.I cannot fault the hotel. Very Clean and very heplfull staff, Beautiful gardens and outdoor and indoor swimming pools.The most comfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers.
I also take the opportunity to thank you and all the other guest who during 2012/13 shared on tripadvisor their thoughts about the hotel Eden Mar and therefore contributed for the 2013 Traveler’s Choice Winners – Service-Top 25 hotels in Portugal

MUITO OBRIGADO

Warm regards

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying in Eden Mar Hotel in Funchal. We were here for a week at the end of November 2012 staying in Porto Mare and this time we arrived New Years Eve for 7 nights. The Gala Buffet on New years Eve was excellent. The staff are so helpful and friendly throughout the complex and again nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms in the hotels are brilliant - spacious and very clean, the breakfast buffet is excellent with more choice than one could wish for. The Spa area is also excellent, I had a hot and cold stones massage during both stays and they were brilliant, very relaxing. The lights in Funchal were wonderful and the firework display on New Years Eve was fantastic, never seen anything like it before. The weather was also a bonus, hot and sunny every day. Since we first came to stay at the Porto Bay complex in Funchal we now never go anywhere else and this must have been our 7th visit, so that must say something about these great hotels.
Hoping to come back soon, can't wait.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in - standard, superior and junior suites are excellent so it doesn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Seven times staying with us, great reviews on tripadvisor…, THANK you so much for such a great support.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you and hopefully rewarding you with another positive holiday experience in one of our properties.

We all wish you a great year,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.