We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Ecellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was our first visit to Madeira so it was a hard choice on where to stay. We chose this hotel as we have stayed at the Porto Bay Falesia hotel on the Algarve and always been pleased (this is also a Porto Bay hotel, one of three at the Porto Mare resort.) What a good choice it turned out to be. We had an excellent junior suite on the sixth floor with lovely views of the gardens (more about them later) and the sea. The room was comfortable, well equiped with a separate living area and small kitchenette with two hot plates and microwave. We stayed on bed and breakfast so having the kitchenette allowed us to do a little self catering and eat on our balcony on a few occasions. Only one problem, there was no extractor fan and when we cooked a steak apparently we set the fire alarm off in reception, they rang us and asked us to open all the doors and windows. So don't burn anything. Breakfast was excellent and there was a choice of two restaurants, we ate in the Atlantico outside on the terrace overlooking one of the pools. We also had two buffet meals equally as good, watch out for those sweets if you don't want to put on weight, hard to resist. Wonderful swimming pools outdoor and indoor with a heated outdoor pool connecting directly to an indoor one. There is also an outdoor jacuzzi which we spent a lot of time in. Now back to the gardens. Absolutely wonderful, bananas, palms, orchids, herbs, plants of all sorts. Spent time every day having a stroll round them. Plenty of sports activities and evening entertainment. Pleasant and helpful staff. Hotel well paced takes about 30 minutes to stroll into Funchal.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the view is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    164
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
143
590
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was really impressed when I visited this hotel in May with my mum, we were hoping for a relaxing week and this place was perfect. Sunbathing around the pool was a joy as it was so quiet and we were surrounded by beautiful well kept gardens. The room was a good size and very modern and clean. The staff on reception were always keen to assist with restaurant recommendations and bus times etc.

We mostly walked into Funchal from Eden Mar, the walk isn't too bad but on a hot day I'd suggest getting the bus. Also I would recommend getting the bus from the airport, far cheaper than taxis.

I would definitely advise anyone visiting Madeira to stay at Eden Mar...my mum wants to go back already!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guests,

It is rewarding to know that your mum is already thinking about a future visit. We would be most pleased to welcome you back soon.
Also take the opportunity to thank you for the time spent in giving us feedback about your stay in Eden Mar. we are very happy to know that you had a good time.

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just returned from a week long break staying at the Eden Mar and we are more than happy to rate the hotel as excellent. I would not normally rate anything as excellent on the basis that there is always room for improvement but we would struggle to find anything to fault the hotel on. We had paid a surcharge to upgrade to a Junior Suite which gave us a separate bedroom and a lounge area with small kitchenette. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we had a great sea view and a small balcony to enjoy the sunset from. We had better weather than expected for mid-November - most days around 23-24 with 1 day of strong chilly winds and 1 day of drizzly rain. The hotel facilities are great as all guests are able to use the facilities of the Porto Mar hotel which is directly linked to the Eden Mar. Together the complex boasts 2 outdoor pools, 2 indoor pools, sauna, steam room, full gym, pool table tennis and loads of very relaxing lounge areas. I treated myself to a massage in the spa which was very good if a little more expensive than at home. We dined in 2 of the Hotel restaurants - the Med and Il Basilica - both were excellent quality and good value. Happy hour was also very enjoyable with 2 different cocktails included each night at half price. We had not stayed here before but we will most certainly be returning. One very nice finishing touch is that return guests enjoy a 10% disount. We wanted to do some levada walks whilst in Madeira and we went into the tour shop just close to the Eden Mar - the people there were very friendly and helpful and there was a very good offer which gave 3 walks for the price of 2 - we didn't check with our tour operator but I am not sure if this discount would have been passed on through them - worth checking out!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review about your holidays in Madeira and Eden Mar hotel.

We are glad to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and it would be great to welcome you in the future,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Its all been said before and its exactly as I found it,
clean, spacious junior suites, efficient aircon, excellent breakfasts, wonderful gardens, friendly helpful staff, high floor provides full sea view, very quiet location,curtesy bus to town, free wi-fi, .......... I cant find a fault

Room Tip: Junior suite on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

You “couldn’t find a fault”, I sometimes can’t find words to express our gratitude to so many people who share with so many other holiday makers the holiday experience in Eden Mar hotel. THANK YOU.

I really hope we will be able to keep the levels of satisfaction on a future visits.

With warm regards
Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Return to the Eden Mar for our 8th visit in 5 years. Still the same welcome from reception even if the faces were different. The excellent service given by all the employees of the Eden Mar and within the Porto Mare Resort is outstanding.
Our room on arrival had a reasonable sea and garden view, after two days we were given the entertainment of a fantastic tree surgeon outside our balcony as he cut the tall pines trees and giving us a superb view.
The Prestige loyalty card given after the first visit gives a discount on food and drink within the hotel and encourages you to use the bars and restaurants. We had two meals in the buffet restaurant and one in the silver service, both were good with plenty of choice.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher the room, better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 18, 2011
THANK you for your loyalty, thank you for the review about Eden Mar shared on TripAdvisor.
I am really happy to know that even after so many visits to our property we have been able to keep the standards of services .

Hope to have you back in a near future,

With warm regards
Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Everythimg about the hotel complex is excellent. Everywhere is so clean. Our studio room was of very good size with a wonderful sea view from the balcony. The room was well cleaned every day. With a choice of four restraunts we were spoilt for choice. The food was again excellent. There were activities morning, afternoon and evenings. The gardens were like a tropical isle. There are four swimming pools and more than enough loungers at any time. The staff were always very helpful. There is free wifi in the reception area. The air conditioning was very quiet and effective. This is our 2nd visit to this complex and we will be returning. The resort has been named the best on the island by the Madeirian tourist board.

Room Tip: level 3 studios 1303 to 1313
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a second visit to our property and for such a nice review posted on trip Advisor.
I am really pleased to know that you had another positive holiday experience and really hope to welcome you in a near future,

With warm regards
Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Well its been our third time at Eden Mar and we have allready booked for next September and so looking forward to it. The staff there are so friendly and extreemly helpfull, facilities are well looked after and so are the buetifull gardens. Also we flew with Tap airline they were very good and easy to book with.
Beryl & Dave

Room Tip: Sea facing and high for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Another stay (3rd one), Thank You…, another review, Thank You,…and already thinking about a future visit! THANK YOU…

It is so rewarding to read and feel that sometimes we are able to contribute to a positive holiday experience!

Thank you also for sharing your opinion about your stay with so many other holiday makers and hope to meet you next year.

With warm regards
Muito Obrigado
...
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.