We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great service, nice food, non intrusive staff and walking distance fron town centre.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting and takes care of it, inside as well as outside.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, making you feel at home.
The spa was top, the gym ok.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    200
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
173
1,202
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a very welcoming hotel with great facilities in a fantastic location. We were in a sea view room on the fifth floor with a view towards Funchal harbour as well as out to sea from the large balcony. Generous sized room and bathroom with both shower and bath. With our half-board package we eat mostly in the buffet restaurant, but also in the bar restaurant on one occasion.
There are themed buffets every night and the choice is overwhelming. Both service and food were always first class. The hotel has beautifully manicured gardens and plentiful sun loungers spread throughout the pool areas both at hotel level and sea level. There is a useful courtesy bus into Funchal town centre that runs regularly, but requires pre-booking.

Room Tip: The higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms
Sensational Spa
Fabulous food
Vast views
Bountiful breakfasts
Superb staff
Always busy, often 100% full,forever exceeding expectations
As much as 50% of guests can be returning visitors
Paradise

Room Tip: Just try it and see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think in this being our 7th visit to the Cliff Bay we have nothing more to add.
It is an elegantly appointed hotel with very good dining and eating facilities. Many of the staff have been there for years and provide a welcome reception to returning customers.
There is a very good spa treatment centre, whilst the benefits to Prestige Gold members is very advantageous.

Room Tip: Funchal and side sea vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stay at the Cliff Bay since we found it via an Easy Jet package one holiday. We have now stayed there 7 times and cannot fault it. If feels like you have come home and our holiday starts the minute we walk through the revolving door. We cannot fault the staff, accommodation or facilities and never have any trouble finding a sunbed although I did notice this visit some people were 'booking' a bed by leaving their towels before breakfast - rather sad. Perhaps there are better hotels in Funchal however we are quite happy with this one it suits us fine.

Room Tip: Best view upgrade to Funchal town side, sea view over the main garden is fine but garden view at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Cliff Bay is Rated 5 Star but I am not not sure what this means in international standards?

For a beach location it is certainly has all the amenities required plus a few more, but by international city centre hotel standards, the Cliff Bay is not 5 Star - perhaps 31/2 - 4 Stars.

All the staff are well trained, pleasant and friendly. Nice bar and restaurants. Excellent pool and spa facilities. Good location near to Funchal and many restaurants and bars.

However for me, unlike many 5 Star rated hotels in the Middle and Far East, it just did not immediately say WOW when you enter, but I would recommend it and certainly go back.

Room Tip: Above the 8 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This would have received 5 stars if it wasn't for the average age of the guests which must have been well into the 70s which made you feel a bit like you were visiting a Care home. The hotel facilities, rooms, food and service were all 5 star and the views over the sea and Funchal harbour are amazing. The location was close enough to walk into town - unless you have a zimmer frame! - and the pool area good for sun worshipping and sea access which is important on a volcanic island with no sandy beaches. I would go back but maybe in school hols when hopefully there would be a broader age range.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.