We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

W have stayed in this hotel twice and it has been excellent both times. The salt water pool is the star attraction. The pool bar is good for lunches and snacks. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The spa is everything you would expect. The food in the formal restaurant is excellent and there is often entertainment.

Room Tip: A sea view is obviously better. We had the view of the harbour as well so could watch the sea traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    158
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
144
1,026
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Third visit to this hotel this year and once again very relaxing holiday. We were given the same room as our first visit which had a lovely view over Funchal which we very much appreciated. Arrived early and were able to go to our room on arrival which was an added bonus and made our holiday seem that little bit longer. Staff all very helpful and friendly as usual.

Room Tip: Funchal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Cliff Bay Hotel is clearly fabulous as our previous 4 visits and the huge number of repeat guest's testify - so to be clear it gets the highest possible review / rec from us. BUT on the negative side we were plagued by hundreds of ants in our rooms on the 1st floor and the Hotel did very little about it. In fact our tip would be, to avoid rooms on the first floor if you can. Also the entrance to these rooms is shabby and it feel's like you enter the corridor to the rooms thro a shabby service door. It will be interesting to see if the Hotel takes any notice of our observations because as good as it is - they cannot become complacent. Previously the Hotel was very well run by long standing Management and it will be interesting to review how the new team perform.

Room Tip: Funchal view rooms are good - but avoid the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is not done enough justice on any of the websites we looked at. We booked with the understanding that the rooms looked a little dated but had the faith we would hopefully get a room with a decent view in the lido area of the city. I can honestly say that when we got in the hotel room and opened our curtains our jaws dropped. It was probably one of the best views we ever had in any of our travels. We easily must have taken over 100 pics of our view alone.
As for the hotel experience, the customer service was absolutely amazing. Upon arrival we realized that we made a tremendous mistake on our booking which the front desk was nice enough to straighten out for us. They also were happy to arrange tours and dinner reservations for us. Unfortunately we did not make the time to eat at the Michelin star restaurant on the property (which we were not aware of until we got there). We did have lunch at the Blue Lagoon at it was great. I especially enjoyed the limpits. Everyone from the housekeeping staff to the lifeguards were very friendly.
The hotel is in a perfect location. The lido area has enough going on where you have everything you need locally from restaurants to markets and can easily get to the busier area of the city in a leisurely walk or a quick bus ride.
The room was spacious though a little dark and dated-looking. The bathroom was very spacious, modern and spotless. The balcony was large and we spent a lot of time out there enjoying the views.
The hotel grounds are spectacular. We enjoyed taking the longer walk to the pool down the staircases which were sprawled across the beautiful rocky cliffs. There are lounge areas scattered about the walk down so that you can choose your level of privacy and still get drink service. We didn't even miss the fact there was no sandy beaches by the water's edge. The water was clear and slightly rough in a good way where it let you feel like you got a little exercise in when swimming or snorkeling. It was very hard to want to leave this hotel and explore. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. Madeira is an incredible place and it's on the top of our list of places for a repeat visit along with the Cliff Bay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a water view facing downtown Funchal area for beautiful sunrises and moon-rises. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our second stay here and very enjoyable once again. The hotel is for the most part maintaining its excellent standards of accommodation, service and facilities. Staff are very friendly and almost all trained to a high standard. Particular credit here goes to the excellent female pool attendant who gets our top mark again, but also to the reception staff, spa staff and the gentlemen who allocates seating in the Rose Garden restaurant for Breakfast. The hotel needs to be careful the décor does not become dated, and to keep on top of maintenance in the rooms – for example our bedside lamps were in obvious need of repair. We had some problems with one particular waiter who got our order wrong three times, housekeeping forgot to provide (replace) hand towels on one occasion, and we found the plastic mattress covers made you rather hot at night. We would also have found it useful if the Il Gallo d’Oro restaurant could publish its daily set menu a week ahead if possible so that you can better plan a meal there. These are relatively minor issues - my mention of them is intended as constructive criticism and not a complaint, and we will certainly be back again soon. Room-wise, it is worth noting that Funchal-facing rooms (which you pay more for) do not get the sun on the balcony in the evenings – we prefer this but others may not.

Room Tip: Funchal-facing rooms (more expensive) do not get the sun in the evening - you may or may not prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the Cliff Bay Hotel for the past 10years and each year cannot wait to go back again we stay for 3 weeks and do not want to come home. The hotel is such a fabulous place, so peaceful, wonderful staff who are so attentive to ones needs, the food is excellent, the bedrooms are large and superbly furnished with large balconies. We are booked again for next year and can't wait to go. Thank you Cliff Bay Staff for making our vacation so wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your support by staying with us for so many years and for the review about your recent holiday experience.

So pleased to know that you had another enjoyable stay and profited from our services and facilities.

We will always be pleased to welcome you, preferably soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am a huge fan of the Cliff Bay Hotel & Spa and this year, I returned with my partner for a ten-day stay.

This year, we upgraded and chose a junior suite that was on the fifth floor and the view of Funchal Bay (one of my top draws to return) was superb. The accommodation was overall, very tranquil (another key draw). However, the attention to detail in cleaning and replenishing the room was not as good as last year (although still of a high standard) and only once was the room as well-serviced and welcoming as it was on the day we arrived.

The customer service we received in this hotel (which I would probably say, was my main reason for returning) is still very good. What I would say though is that last year, the standard was very high across the board and this year, the exceptional service seemed to be more individual. In my experience, Luisa on reception, Alfredo in the Il Galle d'Oro restaurant, the pool-side staff, and the spa staff delivered an extremely high-level of customer service.

Overall, this a a very high-quality, relaxed and special hotel and despite the very minor niggles I mention above, my partner and I have already re-booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay and for the feedback about it.
I regret to know that we were not able to be as positive as we had been before.
Your thoughts will be taken in good consideration and we promise better attention to details.

It will be a great pleasure to meet you on your next visit to our hotel,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;