We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fine hotel which justifies all the good reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
wimbledon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A very fine hotel which justifies all the good reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here last year and found it so good that my wife was very keen to return, so we spent a week here March 3-10. The high point is the amazing buffet at both breakfast and dinner with a very wide selection of fruit salads in the morning, plus hot food, cold meats, bread and cakes and even complimentary champagne for those who want it (not many, it seemed). At dinnertime there was an equally wide selection and each night had a different culinary theme. Sunday night was graced by an excellent Madeiran folk dance group in traditional costume. Lunch can be taken at the Blue Lagoon cafe/restaurant (reached by lift at the foot of the cliff) where we had excellent hamburgers , salad and sorbets. There is a large outdoor swimming pool at this level, while on the upper level the pool extends both inside the hotel and outside. The rooms are very comfortable and bathroom facilities excellent, though, as last year, we commented on the lack of conveniently accessible electric points for recharging shavers, iPhones etc. The electric point in the bathroom is too high for the cables provided with some equipment and there are no points on the table/desk tops. However, there is a socket in the cupboard with the kettle. BBC TV was available last year but not this year for some reason, only Sky and CNN. The hotel is well situated and most rooms have excellent sea views - ours looked out towards the harbour and neighbouring Reid's Hotel (now very expensive under Oriental Express ownership). All in all, Cliff Bay is justifiably THE place to stay in Funchal. However, it has mainly a 'silver set' clientele and is perhaps not ideal for young people and families, but very comfortable for older people, like us.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view facing the harbour. We found rooms 123 and 124 had a good view, but those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. The location of the electric point is in accordance with Portuguese legislation in “wet areas” despite it not being as comfortable in all situations. I would recommend the socket in the cupboard for additional appliances. At present moment we are forced to review the British television channels as they have been taken off the satellite that we receive in Madeira island. At The Cliff Bay we try to offer services and facilities for all ages and nationalities.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    170
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
151
1,073
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English traveller
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were staying at another Porto Bay hotel in Funchal in January. We had heard great reports about the Cliff Bay Hotel and decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea. The ambience was wonderful and the weather perfect. Unfortunately, we had cause to ask our waitress if she could replace the inedible cakes because they had melted in the sun. She said it wasn't possible. We were very disappointed and when we returned home I wrote to the manager but did not receive a reply. Porto Bay hotels usually have excellent customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for sharing your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of beautiful sister hotels in Madeira. I am however sad that we didn’t manager to correspond to your expectations regarding your visit for afternoon tea. We will do our very best to further improve our services and naturally look into what happened. The management responds personally to all feedback both at Tripadvisor and through other means of communication. I unfortunately do not have trace of which type of correspondence you mention in your comment so please feel free to contact me at janringertz@portobay.pt or in private mail through Tripadvisor and I will look into any matter further.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is an excellent hotel providing a high standard of service and comfort. It is well sited close to Funchal town, the harbour and the old Reids Hotel. The centre and old town are well within walking distance and downhill from the hotel. Taxis or buses are readily available for return journeys.
Staff are friendly and very helpful and the general ambience is warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the higher floors with sea/harbour views, floors 6 to floor 10 - although these do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer. The rooms on the higher floors are our superior rooms/top floors rooms that are quite in demand.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

First class, welcoming hotel with amenities to match and friendly, helpful staff always ready with a smile. Rooms are spacious and well maintained; plenty of outside spaces and loungers for relaxing; used the inside/outside pool and its kept warm so you can swim even if it's a bit windy. Really enjoyed the variety and quality of the meals and there are plenty of places to eat, ranging from the Michelin starred Il Gallo d'Oro which is wonderful for a special treat, the Rose Garden and Blue Lagoon Restaurants to the Bistro or Bar.
The walk into the centre of Funchal takes about 20-35 minutes depending on how fast you walk but there is a courtesy bus from the hotel and the local bus stop is very close. Funchal, like the rest of Madeira is very hilly, and it is downhill from the hotel so be prepared for an uphill walk on the way back - again depending on which route you take the hill can seem steeper! We found we needed the walk to compensate for the good food and wine so definitely worth it.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and hope to be going back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Funchal and port have a glorious sea view, are not overlooked by other rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the services and facilities offered.

I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I had enjoyed all of the facilities the hotel and local area had to offer, so when the opportunity arose to book "seats" to view the annual carnival through the hotel, we did so.

On arrival we found that although locally booked seating had been available, the facility offered by the hotel was nothing more than wooden benches. VERY uncomfortable considering you would be expected to be on these for almost 4 hours.

This was the only negative experience in an otherwise superb trip. Shame it was down to the hotel's organisation and misleading advert.

Room Tip: Always pump for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We have taken careful note of your feedback regarding Carnival seating and we will take this into consideration when and if we have the possibility to use the facility again.
Hoping to see you soon again in Madeira.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a little piece of heaven. The grounds around the hotel are absolutely gorgeous and so well maintained. Lots of seats here and there so you can find your own little peaceful place.

The hotel is located in a quiet area of the town and an easy enough walk to downtown Funchal.

The breakfast spread was simply astonishing. Everything you could wish for ( including champagne). A vast variety of hot and cold choices including omelettes made while you wait. Foodie heaven.

Service from staff is quite exceptional. Everyone was polite & accommodating.

Our room was spacious, bright, very comfortable, clean and had a lovely view towards Funchal.

Pleasant bar and attractive restaurants within the hotel. Evening meals, to be honest, weren't quite as good as we would have expected ( especially for the prices charged).

The pool areas were lovely to spend time around. We spent the start of the week at the upstairs one ( part of which is indoors) but found the lower pool area to be nicer, more spacious and more sheltered from the brisk breezes. The lower pool area has a casual beach type restaurant which was great for using during the day.

We sampled their afternoon teas on day and it was such a treat ....delicious .... I'm sure it would give the Savoy, Ritz etc in London a run for their money !

This hotel really is a treat to stay in with the most stunning floral displays in the main public areas.

We'd happily return here for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Our hotel has a privileged location with many services and facilities.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lots of grey-haired people strolling around but the hotel was great! Superb breakfast in the Michelin-starred restaurant. Great bar service with cocktails. Lots of places to sit outside and feel a bit private. A bit chilly sometimes in February but we had a nice room with a bay view. Comfy beds. Overall, a true 5*

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and consider us a true five star hotel. Many gray-haired people could actually be myself walking through the hotel… The Cliff Bay try to serve all ages however average is a little higher in winter season.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.