We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chill-out Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chill-out Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

First class, welcoming hotel with amenities to match and friendly, helpful staff always ready with a smile. Rooms are spacious and well maintained; plenty of outside spaces and loungers for relaxing; used the inside/outside pool and its kept warm so you can swim even if it's a bit windy. Really enjoyed the variety and quality of the meals and there are plenty of places to eat, ranging from the Michelin starred Il Gallo d'Oro which is wonderful for a special treat, the Rose Garden and Blue Lagoon Restaurants to the Bistro or Bar.
The walk into the centre of Funchal takes about 20-35 minutes depending on how fast you walk but there is a courtesy bus from the hotel and the local bus stop is very close. Funchal, like the rest of Madeira is very hilly, and it is downhill from the hotel so be prepared for an uphill walk on the way back - again depending on which route you take the hill can seem steeper! We found we needed the walk to compensate for the good food and wine so definitely worth it.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and hope to be going back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Funchal and port have a glorious sea view, are not overlooked by other rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the services and facilities offered.

I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    202
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
183
1,273
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I had enjoyed all of the facilities the hotel and local area had to offer, so when the opportunity arose to book "seats" to view the annual carnival through the hotel, we did so.

On arrival we found that although locally booked seating had been available, the facility offered by the hotel was nothing more than wooden benches. VERY uncomfortable considering you would be expected to be on these for almost 4 hours.

This was the only negative experience in an otherwise superb trip. Shame it was down to the hotel's organisation and misleading advert.

Room Tip: Always pump for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We have taken careful note of your feedback regarding Carnival seating and we will take this into consideration when and if we have the possibility to use the facility again.
Hoping to see you soon again in Madeira.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a little piece of heaven. The grounds around the hotel are absolutely gorgeous and so well maintained. Lots of seats here and there so you can find your own little peaceful place.

The hotel is located in a quiet area of the town and an easy enough walk to downtown Funchal.

The breakfast spread was simply astonishing. Everything you could wish for ( including champagne). A vast variety of hot and cold choices including omelettes made while you wait. Foodie heaven.

Service from staff is quite exceptional. Everyone was polite & accommodating.

Our room was spacious, bright, very comfortable, clean and had a lovely view towards Funchal.

Pleasant bar and attractive restaurants within the hotel. Evening meals, to be honest, weren't quite as good as we would have expected ( especially for the prices charged).

The pool areas were lovely to spend time around. We spent the start of the week at the upstairs one ( part of which is indoors) but found the lower pool area to be nicer, more spacious and more sheltered from the brisk breezes. The lower pool area has a casual beach type restaurant which was great for using during the day.

We sampled their afternoon teas on day and it was such a treat ....delicious .... I'm sure it would give the Savoy, Ritz etc in London a run for their money !

This hotel really is a treat to stay in with the most stunning floral displays in the main public areas.

We'd happily return here for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Our hotel has a privileged location with many services and facilities.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lots of grey-haired people strolling around but the hotel was great! Superb breakfast in the Michelin-starred restaurant. Great bar service with cocktails. Lots of places to sit outside and feel a bit private. A bit chilly sometimes in February but we had a nice room with a bay view. Comfy beds. Overall, a true 5*

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and consider us a true five star hotel. Many gray-haired people could actually be myself walking through the hotel… The Cliff Bay try to serve all ages however average is a little higher in winter season.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Cliff Bay Hotel surpassed all expectations. Our first time in Madeira and truly the overall quality of The Cliff Bay Hotel was exceptional. The rooms were excellent, cleanliness of the facilities was faultless and the friendlyness of all the staff did not go unnoticed.
We would highly recommend eating at the Michelin star Ill Gallo Doro restaurant at the hotel. This said the standard of food throughout was of a very high standard ( breakfast in particular) . Difficult to find any fault.

Room Tip: The views from rooms looking onto the harbour are wonderful. Although the hotel has an excellent DVD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that we surpassed all expectations. This is our goal for all our visitors to The Cliff Bay. I am pleased that you enjoyed Il Gallo d’Oro and the friendliness of our staff.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having been to this hotel before, we know that the service and standard is always very good.

The rooms are very good and clean. The staff welcomed us back and were very friendly for the duration of our stay. We enjoyed the variety of food on offer. This is our fifth visit and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for returning to our hotel. I am pleased to hear that the services and facilities that we offer correspond to your expectations.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having been a regular traveler to Madeira over the years and stayed a few nice hotels I thought I would try out The Cliff Bay for the first time. Located only a few minuets drive out of Funchal and with superb views of the bay and coastline, the hotel is well positioned on many fronts!
I arrived early evening with a taxi paying 38 Euros and was checked in quickly and then escorted to my very nice room with views over the ocean. After spending much of the on a plane I put some walking shoes on and ventured down to the town for a bit to eat and some fresh air. The room was well decorated with plenty of space in to unwind and cupboards to hang cloths. A good night sleep was interrupted by the beautiful sun saying good morning to me! I put on my gym cloths and headed down to the indoor pool and gym. The facility is ideal, perfect size and as one fellow gym user said "how good is this".........well a good work out and nice swim made me ready for a good breakfast! The breakfast buffet was a delight with even a few nice bottles of local Champagne to prepare a good Mimosa with......the food was fresh, full of tropical fruits and a good mix of breads, cereals and egg dishes to set us all up for the day!
With a full tummy full, I was set for a day of Levada walking on the stunning island, one of my favorite activities and a great way to really see and explore Madeira, well apart from sampling a few drops of the local wines or a game of golf on the stunning courses.
The choice of The Cliff Bay proved a great decision and one I can calmly recommend! The hotel has a good mix, 3 pools and when the Atlantic is calm and warm, great to swim in. Perfect for families or even a romantic couple, you won't be disappointed with very friendly staff who are always looking to please you. Keep smiling must be their motto!

Room Tip: The hotel offers a range of meal packages which I must say were pretty good and excellent value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our team at The Cliff Bay managed to make your stay memorable. Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer. Funchal nearby is a typical Portuguese city with Atlantic inspiration.
I hope that your stay with us was a taste that you enjoyed enough to return in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.