We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Funchal
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just lovely....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading through a few reviews me & my husband decided on this hotel, (for one week) also part of our deal with our travel agent was a private taxi transfer from (and back to) the airport, makes a huge difference to us.
On arrival our suitcases were taken and after checking in, our cases were taken to our allocated room, we booked a side sea-view room and have to say the room was extremely comfortable and very spacious and the view lovely as we looked out onto the hotel's garden and the sea.
While there we were celebrating our anniversary and my husbands birthday, we were sent flowers and card for our anniversary and a cake and card for my husbands birthday, which was a very nice touch.
We also received complimentary bottled water and fruit for 3 days, which unfortunately we did not know was complimentary until they stopped delivering this and we were not told until we enquired about it....we thought it was a standard service from the hotel, but you have to join their membership (free) to receive this AFTER staying?? it would have been so much nicer as part of the hotels service and not be "forced" to return to a Porto Bay hotel to receive this service.
All the staff were exceptionally friendly and always approachable, we did encounter one grumpy waiter one morning at breakfast but we were served again on another day by him and he was much more pleasant....maybe he'd had a bad day previous?
The pool on first level was absolutely lovely and heated and went from indoors to outdoors and vice versa...so nice.
We didn't try the pool at sea level but looked just as lovely and clean, for the adventurous type you can also have a swim in the sea within a cordoned area.
One little grumble and be warned....we had bought 2 half lager shandy's in some of the town etc restaurants and usually paid somewhere about 3 or 4 euros for both....BUT one day we decided to have 2 lager shandy's in the hotel and paid 10 euros !! OMG! this really is disgusting cost, should be looked into!
We had a litre of sangria with our dinner most evenings and this was only 13 euro's! However, meals were gorgeous and the buffet (which we had) was really lovely and the hotel had a different theme every night so you always had something different to try, we decided on the flexi dine, so only had 3 nights of dinner but it was so nice we treated ourselves to an extra night dining at the hotel.
Overall the hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean and staff superb.
Even though on the expensive side we would come back to this hotel every time as you do feel that bit spoiled here and why not?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,088
    144
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
135
931
43
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from another holiday at the cliff bay hotel. This hotel is in a perfect setting, fantastic sea views, beautiful gardens and easy access to the town. The staff go out of their way to make your holiday wonderful, the breakfast is first class and the rooms are sheer luxury, especially when you have a sea view, we sat on the balcony drinking tea watching the world in peace and quiet. We will be visiting again, and again and again.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Other reviews tell you how good the hotel is. All the staff are very well trained and those spoken with seem to be proud to be at Cliff Bay. The management look at every detail and try to be the best. We tried to book the IL GALLO D'ORO restaurant for my wife’s special birthday which was fully booked. This was no problem for Roberto the F & B Manager who arranged a private magical evening outside overlooking the bay with our own waiter and it was a gastronomic delight, I won’t say any more it would spoil the surprise.
We booked with Sovereign who provided a courtesy afternoon tea and spar voucher and private cab for transfers. Hint! Book the forte restaurant in Funchal and get collected from the hotel in one of their 3 beautiful old cars for another lovely evening. See my review.

Room Tip: I doubt any rooms suffer from noise, the whole place is very quiet even when the music is on. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited for afternoon tea. The staff were stunningly helpful and nice. It was raining so offered the Atlantic room to ouselves. Semi circular overlooking the sea. Truly stunning panorama. Each afternoon tea we have had is different and all good in their own way. Offering gluten free was really kind. Good value as well. Really enjoyed the afternoon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A hotel for a very relaxing holiday.The entrance was very plain and not awe inspiring but on entering the foyer you were aware of the antique and marble areas on show.Large flower displays were elegant enhancing Madeira's botanical nature.
Our bedroom was high class with top range bedding ,an excellent bathroom and some British channels.However, we were given a bedroom overlooking the hotel's entrance.Poor air conditioning

Breakfast was good with some choice but not the best that we have had in a 5 star hotel.
The pools were adequate and at different levels but the areas to sunbathe were varied ,giving lots of choice with good beds and mattresses.The staff in all areas of the hotel were very helpful but the reception staff seemed to look down their noses at us on occasions(Only one or two).
We did not eat or drink in the hotel as the prices were very high.There are plenty of supermarkets nearby ,so we bought our own to enjoy.
We went on two local bus tours and enjoyed but there is not much to see.
Prices on the island are high but the restaurants we ate at produced high class food.Two of our favourites were"Beef and Wines" and "Olives".Both are about 300yards from the hotel.
If you like shopping ,Madeira is not the place for you.The shops were either rubbishy or high end with prices to match.
The range of flowers on offer were varied and beautiful.Thomson will let you send some home.
We had good weather for the two weeks.Lovely hotel but the island is not for us.
By two welsh ladies.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view. Ask for a high floor as you will have a better view of Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

4th time here and we can't wait to come back next September! The hotel must be doing something right as you see the same people here every time you return! The rooms are so well located either overlooking the gardens or looking out to sea towards Reids palace either way you wouldn't be disappointed. We have always been half board but next time will do bed & breakfast as you do feel abit tied to the hotel,there are so many top restaurant's around it's a shame not to venture out.before I finish up I would like to say how helpful Nicole Faesel was whe we asked to look at the top floor rooms she is an asset to the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked through a Travel company, but emailed the Hotel for an upgrade to an Upper Floor Room. Quite an expensive upgrade but worth it - 7th Floor - fabulous view and so quiet. There are "Flowers, Fruit and a Bottle of Wine on arrival" for these rooms - thought the "fruit" bit was a bit sparse -One nectarine and One orange! Given the lovely array of fresh fruit for breakfast I thought two pieces each might be nice!!

We did have a slight issue on our first day, but after requesting to speak to the manager, which was arranged within the hour, the issue was resolved in a very professional and satisfactory manner.

The sun-decks are very specious, never a problem of getting a sun-bed. The pools are wonderful, as are the staff.

Slightly disappointed with the fact that the basic menu didn`t change or have specials. There was a difference themed Buffet each evening in the Rose Garden, but the A la Carte remained the same, as did the Le Cliffe.

If we could pick up the Hotel and move it somewhere more interesting we would stay there again, but Madeira was not to our liking - The Marina and front are a building site, the "Hop on Hop Off" bus goes nowhere you would want to "Hop Off", Monte looked unkempt, though the views from the Cable car were lovely ( providing there was no cloud),the road through Porto Bay and else where are manic. Lots of Restaurants, but who wants to sit by a noisy road, and if I`d seen another version of "Scabard Fish" on a Menu I would have screamed!! Not the food capital by any means.

So "Thumbs up" to Cliff Bay Hotel and "Thumbs down" to Madeira - smarten yourself up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.