We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have just returned from our summer holiday in this beautiful hotel. The Cliff Bay is practically perfect in every way! The hotel and it's grounds are immaculate and picture perfect, you can always find a quiet place just to sit and relax, with stunning views of Funchal harbour to look at..especially at night when the lights of Funchal twinkle and sparkle as if in a storybook!
That sounds really soppy but honestly it is a magical place.
The staff are all courteous and professional, every single member of staff always greet you with a smile.
Now for the food..... Wow ! The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, we always ate outside in the rose garden over looking the sea, a fantastic start to the day! So much to choose from, with a glass of fizz to wash it down if you fancy it!
I only have one small gripe about this hotel and that is that they charge far too much for drinks and snacks . It just seems a little greedy to charge for example 5euros50 for a small local beer where outside at high quality eating establishments you can buy the same beer for 1euro90!!....surely by anyone's standards this is an unreasonable mark up! We would have loved to have sat in the bar during the evening and have a drink but felt that this was a bit of a rip off!
There are lots of lovely restaurants near to the hotel of which we tried quite a few...however the best by far is l'osteria. Have written a separate review for this lovely restaurant.
All in all I would 100percent recommend The Cliff Bay Hotel for a totally relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up if poss with a side sea view or a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    155
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
143
1008
43
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely hotel and beautifully clean everywhere including the swimming pools (we preferred the sea water pool) and spa (lovely treatments). Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Rooms extremely spacious. Really good choice at breakfast - we had breakfast one day in the a la carte restaurant, for which we paid extra, but actually didn't feel we had anything more. Not necessary to pay the extra as excellent anyway. Would definitely recommend and will return. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our annual visit never fails to impress when met by the friendly reception team and this extends to all the staff in the restaurants and pool facilities. There has been considerable investment into the Spa facilities and Blue Lagoon pool area and these improvements add to the ambiance of rest and relaxation.
I would recommend booking on bed and breakfast as this will give you the choice of some excellent restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast choice will meet any need although I would like to see investment in new 'toasters' ! The A La Carte dinner menu could also do with refreshing as it has remained unchanged for three years or so. The new Bistro eating area would also benefit from a more varied selection off the same A La Carte menu.
I would recommend a visit to the glass bottomed viewing platform at Cabo Girao, an 1885ft drop to the sea below.
Stunning views across Funchal and the harbour await you when booking a side sea view and in June, firework displays every Saturday night.
Never disappoints and we look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Side sea view, the higher room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel was very clean with excellent staff. However, the food was pretty awful for a 5 star hotel, especially at dinner in the Rose Garden Restaurant. Even the a la carte dinner and choices were poor. There were plenty of choices outside the hotel, but unfortunately we booked half board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our eighth visit to the Cliff Bay. I suppose that speaks for itself; great location, large comfortable room, great food. The staff are amazing, friendly, helpful. All in all it is quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. If you are trying to make you mind up about a holiday destination and want 5 star luxury with all the trimmings (fizz with breakfast, afternoon tea, spa etc) set your compass for Madeira and the cliff bay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent 5 star Hotel. would definitely recommend to all. Stayed for 2 weeks from 24th June 2013. Weather could have been better. But Hotel surpassed all expectations. Swimming Pools, Spa, Food, and accommodation is fabulous, The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. We will be back !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After spending a lovely week staying here we left knowing without doubt when we return to Madeira we will stay here again. Everything about this hotel is 5 star, the room (we upgraded to a superior room with sea view on 7th floor) was brilliant, the staff very helpful and friendly, free courtesy bus into town, beautiful dining rooms and bars and the excellent breakfast served by cheerful helpful staff. You could not want more from a hotel..... except perhaps free use of the vintage Rolls Royce outside the front doors !!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, 7th floor was ideal, as garden views not as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.