We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Eaglesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Cliff Bay and a what a week it was. We cannot fault this hotel in any way. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were so attentive and there was not one person who wasn't friendly. The food is outstanding and caters for everyone. Le Bistro has a set menu which is very reasonably priced and the Cliff Bar offers flexibility. The June fireworks in Funchal every Saturday night was the perfect way to round off an amazing holiday. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,101
    144
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
137
954
43
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Cliff Bay Hotel, Funchal celebrating both a birthday and wedding anniversary. The hotel was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. There is nothing I can write about the hotel that has not already been said, it is a true five star hotel with excellent facilities, helpful staff and fantastic attention to detail is evident everywhere. The bedrooms are well equipped and spacious with a large bathroom including a separate shower with glass door and toiletries provided. Overall, one of, if not the best, hotel I have ever stayed in. Situated on the cliff top the views are to die for and plentiful sun loungers on the lido at anytime of day. We ate in both the Rose Garden and 'The Bistro', the latter offering a set menu from the Michelin restaurant for a fixed price and absolutely superb. We bought a 3 night dinner package and ending up eating in the hotel for 5 of the 7 nights, it was so good. The evening entertainment is of a good standard and we enjoyed most of the acts.

The centre of Funchal is about a half hour pleasant stroll away and we visited the Marina, fish market and shopping district not to mention a very enjoyable visit to Blandys for a little Madeira Wine tasting! We hired a taxi for four and half hours and visited Garajau and the Christ the King statue, Monte and the botanical gardens. The driver stopped frequently for photo opportunities and was very informative and helpful dropping us back at the hotel afterward. This cost us 80e but was quite cost effective when the cost of the cable cars etc is taken into account.

We booked a day trip to Porto Monix via the tour operator rep (Windsor Travel) at the hotel. The transport was a minibus of 8 persons and with a great group of companions and a local English speaking driver we travelled up the North West coast of Madeira via Ribeira Brava, a banana plantation, Porto Monix and the volcanic pools returning via Sao Vicente taking in the natural waterfall with an ultimate stop at Cabo Girao, the highest sea cliff in Europe and 2nd in the world with its transparent platform. At 35e per person with a lunch option if required for a little extra, this was a fantastic day out and worth every penny.

As a birthday treat we had afternoon tea in the hotel @ 16.50e each. This was an extravagant delight of small sandwiches (minus crust!) including smoked salmon, cucumber sandwiches followed by a selection of cakes and a scone with jam and whipped cream. This was taken on the hotel terrace overlooking the bay and gardens with soft background music, sun shining and made me think of colonial England in days gone by.

Madeira is a beautiful island with a temperate climate and a cooling breeze and even on the overcast couple of days we had, we found plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went on the strength of good reviews both on tripadvisor and people we know.
And we were not disappointed, very comfortable room with great views across to Funchal.
Although we were only B & B wow what a breakfast, everything you could want and all super quality to set you up for the day.
The free bus into town was very handy, lovely town Funchal and we also enjoyed organised trips with Thomas Cook around the Island.
Top tip we found out too late was wear sturdy footwear (both very steep with uneven paths) around the Botanical & Tropical Gardens, and we should have done a one way trip on the cable cars, then got a cab back from the bottom of the Botanical Garden.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the 5th floor facing Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been to Madeira for many years now & the Quality/Service/Facilities at this hotel have always remained of the highest quality.

The staff could not be more helpful & are truly a delight to meet, no false "Have a Nice Day" here, they really do bend over backwards to ensure that all your needs are met.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Certainly a very good hotel with excellent food and restaurant service. The pools and spa services are also excellent though the spa seems very, very expensive.There are just little things that detract from it being a great 5 star hotel e.g. light bulbs not being replaced, a dirty mini bar in my room. I would prefer a duvet on the bed and certainly really dislike those old covers put on the bottom of the bed. They could offer pillow options as the pillows are not good enough; also they should have 2 covers on them as well because I so dislike seeing the old stained pillows inside. And why is the mirror at the reception so bad? Picky points but one pays a lot of money for this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The sea and Funchal views are worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having just returned from the Cliff Bay Hotel in Funchal , I can only echo most of what other travellers have already stated , this hotel is Fabulous ,literally there is not one single thing I can fault , the staff were all very courteous and friendly . The Hotel facilities were second to none , food lovely , and the pools were the best I have ever experienced , heated to just the right temperature. All in all well done Cliff Bay , I hope this will be the first of many visits !

Room Tip: Higher floors are well worth the extra cost, with lovely views overlooking Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times and highly recommend this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are good and everything is well looked after and clean.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious and have balconies.
Breakfasts and the themed evening buffets in the Rose Garden restaurant are excellent. I have two favourites, one is the Madeiran buffet which includes a glass of Madeira wine, Madeiran specialities and later some folk music and dancing. The other is the fish buffet when there is a stunning array of seafood, sushi, a large salmon baked in a salt crust and several hot fish dishes. The pastry chef knows his onions as the desserts are above average for a hotel buffet.
My Rose Garden Waitress Award goes to Paula.

There are plenty spaces to sit outside with different views, either at hotel level at the top of the cliff or smaller areas on the way down to the sea or right down by the sea.
At hotel level there is a swimming pool that is half inside and half out and fairly warm. I like the sea water pool on the lower level.
There is a courtesy bus to take you down to town.
In the evening there is live music in the bar. My favourite is the local music performed with passion and skill by Banda d Alem on a Friday, you can find them on youtube. I also like the jazz evening and The Strolling Saxophone duo. Some of the others though can be a bit samey with some of the same tunes being repeated. The Fado evening was good but wasn't on this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Otel so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;