We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our fifth stay at the Cliff Bay and, as always, the staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. The food in both restaurants was delicious with a huge variety, especially in The Rose Garden. Lovely room with great views across the bay to Funchal, and the very high seas and rough weather provided some spectacular views of the harbour. The Prestige package is good value but our only negative point is why are the drinks prices for the same champagne, wines etc more expensive in Il Gallo d'Oro than the other restaurant and bars? One expects to pay more for the food in the Michelin starred restaurant but the wine prices should be the same.
Otherwise another lovely break at the Cliff Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our food and beverage offer. We offer the same prices in various outlets but sometimes there can be slight differences of product… In Il Gallo d’oro we use different champagne brands compared with the bar etc.
The Prestige Package is our most popular way of making reservation and a great alternative for the individual traveler that like to make own arrangements.
Hoping to see you soon again at The Cliff Bay.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,128
    148
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
139
979
43
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved staying here and had a great view of downtown and Monte. Numerous cruise ships dock in Madeira. The breakfast and lounge were great, with a wonderful singer and band. he hotel seems to be equidistant between the Old Town and new town. Within walking distance both ways in a bout 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views downtown and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our fabulous view toward the Funchal Harbor. I hope to see you soon again in Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel and the room we had were amazing. Not wanting to pay extra for a sea view we had booked a garden view, but what a view!! This room was on the first floor, with balcony overlooking the gardens by the side of the hotel and right across the bay, viewing Reid's Palace Hotel and further on to the port of Funchal which gave us a far more interesting view that just out to sea. We also had the sun on our balcony in the morning, just perfect for that first cup of tea of the day.I would heartily recommend this view, but make sure if you ask for it that it has Funchal view. We had room 101 and it was just great, convenient for the restaurants and bars and straight down by lift to the spa and wellness area.
There were gorgeous views from every terrace with the Blue Lagoon pool and bar down at sea level, although it was closed during much of our stay due to high winds and dramatic seas.
The nearby Lido area with its bars and restaurants was a five minute walk and it was easy to walk into Funchal in about half an hour to look around the old town and port.
In the hotel itself, don't miss spending time in the spa and wellness centre, especially the vast relaxing steam room with its colour changing lighting system and soothing music. This was right beside an enormous brand new sauna and beside the jacuzzi and relaxation area. The spa do a couple of discounted spa offers and promotions every day, so you will be spoiled for choice, if the weather is too hot or windy to be outside all day.
The Cliff bar is great for a lunchtime drink and club sandwich on the terrace, with a view to die for, it's difficult to think of going anywhere else, when you have everything you need right there. They also had live music some evenings and a good cocktail menu, although they ran out of mint for my favourite Mohitos, which was the only negative, but there is a good choice of restaurants in the hotel, including the island's only Michelin starred restaurant, Il Gallo d'Oro where we had the set menu there with recommended wines - we were truly in paradise that evening.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden view with a Funchal view, we had room 101 which was beautiful and great views ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that you had such memorable experiences throughout the hotel.
Just to clarify that our land view rooms/garden view rooms are 12 rooms facing the front of the hotel. The room you experienced was a sea view room with view towards Funchal.
Hoping to welcome you back to Madeira for further memorable holiday experiences.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

great hotel. we had a junior suite- lovely views to reid's palace and the port and would highly recommend it. service and all staff were wonderful. we were worried we would be isolated but it's an easy 10-15 min walk to the town centre, right next door to reid's palace and loads of other restaurants, pubs and a grocery store just steps away.
b/c we had our 1year old with us, we tended to have room service for dinner. menu was limited- but that is typical with most hotels.
we were there off season but if you have kids, they've got a great outdoor and indoor play areas. kids pool would be great if it was warmer.
the big complaint would be the indoor swimming pool. the first few days it was wonderfully warm and was a joy to be in. it got progressively colder to the point where none of us could get in the last day. we were told it was kept at 29-30degrees but then as the staff came to test the temperature he confessed it was 27. fine if you're just wanting to lie around the pool, but annoying if you have to get a 1 year old sorted to go only to then have her scream when she gets in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Cliff Bay and again we were not disappointed. We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a week here this time and could not have wished for a better location. The staff were generous with their attention to all our needs and the standard of accommodation was excellent. Both the Rose Garden Restaurant and the Michelin 1* facility were most satisfactory with a very good selection and variety of food at all meals. The spa facilities were ideal for recovering from the exertions of the day on various trips. What a great selection Sovereign Holidays made for our celebration. We hope to be back for our 60th!!!

Room Tip: A floor 3 sea view room will not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a fabulous hotel. We were there for one week in February. We had the most fabulous rooms (on the 6th floor). The rooms themselves are spacious and well equipped.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. If you need any help, just remember to pop and see the ladies on reception. Before our visit I had requested to have rooms near to each other and our request was met. When checking out we were phoned to ask what time we would be leaving - how nice to be asked rather than told what time we had to vacate our rooms!

I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra to be on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We needed a break and decided a another trip to the Cliff Bay was needed. How nice it was to be greeted by all the lovely staff who seem to remember all their returning guests. Lots of changes since November 2012. The weather was not so great but loads to do in the hotel or just lounge in lovely comfy settees. Thank you once again we will be back in the autumn.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have slept in are very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.