We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence comes as standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellence comes as standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just come back from a very relaxing week at the Cliff Bay,as usual greeted like old friends .The service levels are always good at this hotel and they never take your custom for granted.
Various area's have been upgraded since we last visited a year ago the most notable of which is the hotels flagship restaurant Il Gallo d'oro which now looks like a proper Michelin starred restaurant with surroundings to match the wonderful food provided by Chef Benoit Sinthon.
Th spa is also having a makeover and looks fantastic and it's not fully finished yet.
The staff make this hotel very special they are all very friendly and helpful and pleased to see you .
This is a very relaxing place to stay .

Room Tip: The seventh floor facing Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    155
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
143
1009
43
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Cliff Bay in Funchal and it was worth every penny. We blew the budget a bit on upgrading to a full sea view, but it was worth it. Our room faced directly east so we looked out over Funchal Harbour and could see the Desertas Islands and Reid's Palace as well as the best sea view I have ever seen. We set the alarm every morning so we could see the sunrise (we're a bit sad like that) The room was fantastic; the staff were lovely; the location is great- about a 20 minute walk into town alongside the harbour. We ate in the Rose Garden buffet or the Cliff Bar most nights. My husband braved the outdoor pool but I was too chicken. We couldn't really fault this place. It is very pricey in the hotel -drinks especially which, this being our first stay at a five star hotel, we hadn't really appreciated.Once we got over the shock of that and re-mortgaged the house to pay the bar bill, we were fine. We're quite youthful compared to most of the crowd here and to be honest probably looked a bit different to the sort of guests they are usually used to (my husband has visible tattoos) but we were treated with courtesy and friendliness by everyone there. We also noticed that they really took care to look after the more elderly guests really well. Afternoon tea on the terrace in the sun is a winner as is the fantastic breakfast buffet- it was warm enough to have breakfast out on the terrace looking at the sea. I can see why people come back year after year. We're not old, but we're not ravers either, and we loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Funchal have the best views but do pick up the wind in the day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed first week in feb for a week. We were upgraded on arrival to a sea view room with a balcony which was a nice surprise. Service throughout our stay was top notch with the whole hotel kept very clean with a twice a day maid service. Breakfast was superb with as big a choice as I have seen at any hotel. we didnt eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, but the nearby restaurants are all very good and reasonably priced and the food in Madeira was quite excellent everywhere we went. The massage in the spa was excellent, if a little expensive. All in all a very pleasant stay and we will no doubt come back in the future if we need another relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The room we had on the corner of the hotel was nice, but very noisy at night from the wind on two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first visit to the Cliff Bay and assuming we return to Madiera again it won't be our last. This is a truly beatiful Hotel with public areas which are wonderful. The staff are great and the food spectacular. Leisure facilities, especially the heated seawater pool were also excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view room looking towards Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed Jan 7th for 1 week .It is a wonderful hotel to relax in any stress drops of your shoulders as soon as you walk into reception.All areas and staff cannot be faulted treat them right and they will do the same to you.Huge rooms with kettle tea bags coffee sachets milk etc refilled daily as needed hairdrier plenty of coathangers safe bathroom toiletries tv water fruit bed turned down at night with a chocolate left on the bed they even empty the bins again in the evening mini bar (fridge).Rooms faciing funchal get the morning sun i prefer the rooms on the other side as we use the balcony most in the afternoon and early evening and they get the sun then.Breakfast buffet has everything you could want.This was our fifth visit can't wait for the sixth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me and my wife recently stayed for a 1 week relaxing holiday. The Cliff Bay was a great choice and we were very happy with our choice. The service from arrival was perfect. The room was spacious and very clean with a nice balcony. Breakfast offered a huge variety of hot food, breads, meats, cheeses and fruits which kept you going back for more. Both pools were great particularly the sea pool the had incredible views and a great bar that.

We really cannot fault this hotel, everything you need for a nice getaway and close enough to multiple restaurants and bars to keep you occupied.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are incredible but quite a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of January.
We had a sea view room on the 5th floor and it was very good. A large, extremely comfortable bed, well furnished room, first class bathroom and south facing sea view balcony.
Breakfasts consisted of a huge selection of buffet style food including an egg station where you can get omlettes made to order, fried eggs, waffles and pancakes. You could even have a glass of sparkling wine included with breakfast, but we didnt get to be quite that hedonistic.
All the staff were really friendly and helpful and all spoke very good english.
Service was generally very good with just one or two (nitpicking) exceptions. The lounge area situated between the Rose Garden restaurant and the Le Cliff Bar consisted of lots of sofas and armchairs but we sat there for over 15 mins one evening without any service. The same was true one night (quite early) in the Le Cliff bar. I know that might seem picky, but a hotel only justifies 5 stars if the service is exemplary, which this was not.

Room Tip: A sea view room is only worth the extra cost if you intend to spend time sitting on the room's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.