We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly good in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstandingly good in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in the Cliff Bay for a week between 21st and 28th January. It is a five-star hotel sitting just above the Bay of Funchal. Most of the rooms have stunning sea views. Do make sure you book a room overlooking the sea. Our room (a standard sea-view room with terrace) was extremely spacious. Apart from the huge bed, there was a sofa; armchair; coffee table and sideboard and there was loads of space to move around. The room had all the facilities you would expect from a top quality hotel including his and hers bathroom basins and a walk-in shower.

The terrace overlooked Funchal and its port and as mentioned above, the view was stunning.

The hotel's gardens, around which you could eat/drink if you wished made it feel as if you were in a botanic garden.

Apart from the usual sauna/gym facilities, there is a very nice inside/outside pool. Down at sea level (reached by the hotel's beach lift) is a huge outdoor pool.

Everything at the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

We had the included breakfasts in the main restaurant. The choice and quality of food was first class.

It is about a twenty-five minute walk from the hotel into the centre of Funchal (allow 30 minutes for walking back as it is partly uphill). However the hotel runs a free shuttle bus seven times a day. You do need to book it with reception and at certain times/days (particularly Friday - market day) it does fill up. Alternatively the local yellow buses are frequent and cheap. Even taxis are pretty reasonable.

In summary, we can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Just make sure you book a room with a sea view and you can't really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    202
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
198
1,330
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel and found it excellent. The room and facilities were spotless, the staff charming and the fruit at breakfast the best we have had anywhere.
Only criticism is lack of vegetarian options on the menus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed nine times in the last five years in Funchal, Madeira. Stayed at the Cliff Bay's sister hotels - which are very well run and comfortable. The Cliff Bay has just that something extra. It's worry paying the extra. Everyone you talk to in the lifts and restaurants are full of praise for the hotel and have stayed before. Home from home. Views are spectacular. Love the Aqua Aerobics twice a week.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the third week of January and were fortunate to have the weather that enabled us to make full use of the two pools both of which were beautifully maintained, as was the rest of the hotel.
If possible book a room with a Funchal view - stunning sunrises and the coming and going of cruise ships to watch.
Our sole complaint would be the offhand attitude of receptionists who also succeeded in twice giving totally inaccurate information.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Funchal view a big bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Cliff Bay in early January. This was our second stay and we are sure to go back. The hotel was good 5 years ago, but since then it has made a number of significant improvements, more terrace space, rooms renovated, spa improved etc.
The hotel has a magnificent location within short walking distance of Funchal. For people who have no interest in walking, there is a complimentary shuttle service. Food is excellent in all restaurants of the hotel, the bar is well-appointed. It's a perfect hotel for couples, although children are welcome.
My husband and I enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and returned home perfectly relaxed. Fortunately there were not to many Russian guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed with a friend at the hotel as usual.I have said before and others have done as well how good this hotel is staff food facilities etc are great .My friend Bobby on a visit first time direct from Canada said she thought the same.They have spent money doing up the hotel mostly finished but a few things to finish.A few new staff but good it is nice to be greeted by staff when you go back as a regular which i am .Return all going well in June for a fortnight looking forward greatly enough said i have said it all before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for the week in mid-November, having selected it on the basis of reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Staff are warm and friendly at all levels, the position the hotel's situated in is an enviable one as far as many other hotels are concerned along with the amenities that it offers. After a hard day's walk in the mountains it was a treat to pamper ourselves with the jacuzzi. Tired after horse riding? Take one of the extensive massage treatments. Like to swim outdoors? Do, there are pools at the hotel? Prefer indoor swimming? Not a problem, they've got one of those, too .. with the jacuzzi I mentioned nestling alongside.
We soon became aware that we were one of the few who'd not been before and that those with a disability are catered for with a proactive approach and without any trouble. A sure sign of a hotel that's found the winning combination, but takes care not to rest its laurels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.