We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit but not the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First visit but not the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, what can we say position, position position - but it is also very well
managed with long standing courtious staff. We could not fault anything the food is excellent, rooms well furnished and equiped clean and what fantastic views. You do not need to move very far every thing you need is catered for. If you want a relaxing break we would definately recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views. We had a room facing Funchal which had sun in the morning views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    203
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
200
1,333
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Cliff Bay - it's quite pricey so we usually go to other hotels in the Porto Bay group but we got an excellent deal via Mercury Direct. This is a very well-run hotel and the service is generally excellent. Its position next to the famous Reid's Palace is stunning with the sea on 3 sides. Rooms are spacious and with wonderful views (avoid 'Mountain View' as you'll only see the car park). Some quibbles this visit: breakfast was slightly disappointing (no wholemeal bread and v poor croissants); side gardens overlooking Funchal bay were shut off due to re-seeding and repairs to pathways; wi-fi (free) didn't work in the room but was fine in public areas; like Andy08London we didn't take evening meals except for trying the Michelin starred Gallo d'Or and we too found the service slightly oppressive - we had a particularly 'bustling' waitress, which was a distraction. Food was good and theatrical but tiny portions of course - without a special 30% discount deal it would have been poor value. This is the flagship of the Porto Bay group. What lifts it above its sister hotels is the attention to service. If you can get a good deal, it's a very nice, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came back yesterday after a 7 day stay it was our first visit and it was to celebrate our wedding anniversary. And can i say how well we were looked after and treated by all the staff from being met by the porter at the door on arrival to the member of staff who found us looking for our room who showed us to it and then let us in and explained all the facilities. We had upgraded to a superior room on level 7 and would reccomend this as the view was amazing from watching the cruise ships arriving in the harbour to watching the sunrise But back to the staff they are so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for youl they relly are a credit to Madeira
B Woolley

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I agree with most of the comments written about The Cliff Bay. We have just returned from seven days there. The hotel is beautifully maintained, well run and a very relaxing place to stay. The staff were all charming, friendly and attentive.

We tended to eat out locally rather than use the hotel's restaurants as we wanted to experience the local cuisine. We did have one meal at the hotel's Michelin star restaurant. We found the food - and the whole experience - disappointing. What's more, there were very few people dining so there was no atmosphere. There were more staff than diners! At the end of EVERY course we were asked if we had liked it which we found irritating. So much so that we chose to take coffee in the hotel's bar instead.

We especially enjoyed using the hotel's pools. The indoor and outdoor pools are lovely. At the beginning of our stay the indoor/outdoor pool water was wonderfully warm. However, for the last few days of our stay the pool water had got much colder. We mentioned this but nothing was done to improve matters. The new, outside jacuzzi (on the lower level) is also quite cold.

We were very happy with our room and the view of Funchal harbour from our terrace.

Aside from some minor quibbles, we would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my second stay at the Cliff Bay and I think I'll definitely return.

Why? The views are gorgeous, the facilities are delightful, the staff are friendly and the food is delicious.

I had a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Would recommend a sea view or a room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas and New Year and were delighted when we were shown to our room to find that we had a large room with views over the sea, funchal and the cruise terminal. In my mind the best position in the hotel especially when it came to New Year and the fireworks, We were not however, delighted when we opened the balcony doors to hear the noise of excavators and drills in the garden outside which looked like a building site.When I returned to reception for an explanation I was advised that the hotel had only opened that day. We found out later in the day that the spar/gym facilities were still being refurbished and although we were told they would be open tomorrow, tomorrow didn't arrive until the end of the first week, It would have been nice to have been advised of this in advance or at least to have been told upon arrival. On the first evening a letter and bottle of sparkling wine arrived from the General Manager and when we subsequently complained some days later about the continued disturbance, some further concessions were made.
This incident is an indication of how things should not be handled as there is no doubt that this is a very good hotel, The staff and management, without exception, are professional, extremely polite, courteous, and basically very nice people who strive to ensure that guests enjoy their stay.
The hotel is elegant in an understated fashion and was very tastfully decorated for Christmas. There is a contrast between the old fashioned charm of the rose garden were a violinist plays during afternoon tea and the modern spa and exercise room (although small) with sufficient up to date equipment. Incidentally, make your spa appointments without delay as it quickly gets booked up. Prices for treatments are not too hefty.
We had half board but would probably choose B&B next time to give more flexibility of eating out or even eating from the al a carte which seemed good value. I really enjoyed the breakfast buffet but would not speak in raptures, as others have, regarding the evening buffet. They had a theme each night which was repeated each week during our visit e.g Italian, Fish etc. The food in the Gallo D'oro was delicious but beware if you don't like rich food.


The slopes down to the pool could be a problem for the less agile or those with mobility problems, although I believe the one in the rose garden down to the indoor/outdoor has less of a gradient since the refurbishment. I also understand that the planned new elevator will resolve this issue but the staff are always willing to help
All in all a very enjoyable stay with reasonable weather and I have no doubts, despite our initial disappointment, in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a view of the cruise terminal and funchal despite only having morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was wonderfull, in a great location fantastic views stay on the upper floors which was worth every penny
The restaurant is amazing ( go flexi deal ) you can have breakfast there if your on the upper rooms much better than the restaurant down stairs
We went with Sovereign hand Lucy the rep was great
The cocktail night was ok
The spa treatment are a bit expensive but a lovely place to unwind
We would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Upper floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.