We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned once again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
January Upgrade
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Returned once again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from a fortnights holiday at the Cliff Bay and we were delighted with our stay. How can anyone fault this hotel, the location gives you the option of either walking to the new promenade or into Funchal and the marina. The hotel itself is clean and spacious, as were the pool areas. A surfeit of sunbeds and parasols and plenty of space so that you were never cramped. We had a delightful seaview room and also a garden view overlooking the terrace. The two double beds were exceptional quality and we also had tea & coffee making facilities in the room.Everything on the buffet you could think of and more. The buffet was always full and there was a good selection of fresh fruits, cereals, breads, jams, cheese, smoked salmon plus all the hot food and a cooking staition for making your eggs the way you like them!!! I cannot comment on the hotel restaurants, as we always chose to eat out in the local restaurants, but they looked very nice.

We had a few dodgy taxi rides, but that apart it was once again a thouroughly good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. The Cliff Bay offers a wide variety of services and facilities including food and beverage.
Hoping to welcome you back again in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    173
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
156
1,099
44
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are gold level prestige members at Cliff Bay (as are many other people I know), as we have returned several times to this beautiful hotel in the last 10 years. The staff are simply lovely and we feel like "old friends" returning each time. Christmas at Cliff Bay and indeed New Year is a magical experience. The cleanliness is exemplary and the food in both restaurants is first class. We have recommended the hotel to many friends over the years and all of them have had a fabulous time there. The spa is outstanding.

We are returning again on 28th January 2013, following the recent death of my wife's mother, for a little relaxation and revival. It was the first place that we wanted to go to because we know that it will be perfect as always. Madeira is a beautiful island with warm, friendly people and the Cliff Bay is the best place on the island.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are superb but all sea view rooms are worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am delighted that we are able to make you feel welcome and return to Madeira Island. New Year is a fantastic period. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We were a bit concerned that hotel would be a bit stuffy based on some of the reviews we had read. However, hotel was very relaxed, with good but not over bearing service. We had a room with sea view on the top floor which was lovely. Paid more, but worth it given free breakfast in the a la carte restaurant and stunning views. Weather mixed and a bit chilly to use outdoor pool, but indoor/outdoor pool was ideal for these conditions. Only minor complaint about the hotel is that the bar is very dull (partly a reflection of the average age in the hotel) and the food that we had at lunch was nothing special (far better to eat in town and we were very pleased that we hadn't booked half board). Overall, though, we would highly recommend for a short break of 4 days.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London NW7
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to this Hotel. Once again it came up to expectation. The staff are attentive and professional and made us feel welcome. We arrived very stressed, but after a few hours started to feel it all drain away!! A great week in the sunshine. We decided to buy vouchers for the Gallo d'Oro restaurant - well worth it. The meals are more of a gastronomic experience than just food! Our room was on the 8th floor with wonderful views out to sea and a lovely balcony. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a top floor room - better views and breakfast in the better restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to our hotel and managed to unwind. Gallo d’Oro is much enjoyed and I am pleased to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. I hope to see you soon again in Madeira

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We have just had the most fantastic week in the Cliff Bay Hotel, Funchal. The weather was not great but they made us feel as if the sun was shining. All the staff are helpful, the bedrooms are light and very comfortable, the lounges, restaurants, bars, swimming pool areas are great. Have been to the hotel for many times and it never changes. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that despite that the weather was not in your favor, you still had a great stay. We all hope to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A super hotel and as so many before us have commented, excellent on every respect.
Only one issue and that is the ubiquitous use of rubberised mattress protectors on the beds, I hope it not an age thing but I had to ask for ours to be removed or sweat !
Anyway all done and a much better night's sleep was had !

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the sea and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The mattress protectors are popular by many and they make the beds more comfortable but also warmer. We are all here to assist in any request and I am pleased to we manage to find a fast solution.
We all hope to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A basic thing to get right is to communicate with your guests - something which the Cliff Bay started very poorly. Having booked direct with the hotel, and checked before we arrived of a request (which at least one travel agent will guarantee) for interconnecting rooms for our family with three children, and as we had not advised that there was an issue, we were looking forward to be impressed with the Cliff Bay's attention. We were sorely disappointed when on arrival, no mention was made of the fact that we had been in communication, and no discussion was volunteered. There were reasons why the request was made, which are not suitable for a public forum, and this was advised to the hotel before we arrived. Worse, our rooms were located in different wings of the hotel something we had never ever experienced on a family holiday. How we could then keep an eye on our three children is beyond us. This location was quickly changed but our original request was not met at that time. Whilst we accept that requests cannot be guaranteed (despite the fact that the Hotel can do it for others), good service should generate a discussion with us on arrival as to firstly the issues around meeting our request, and secondly whether there was any alternate options available. None of this happened.

Things went from bad to worse as we took a walk around the hotel, and arrived at the indoor pool and was presented with a scene reminiscent of the film set of Cocoon. At this stage, we were unsure if we could take eight days there, also given the lack of facilities (more on this later). A quick walk to the Porto Mar hotel revealed much better facilities, a more sheltered pool area, in fact several pools including a wonderful large one. The 4 star rating of the Porto Mar did show however and the polish of the Cliff Bay was absent. But we seriously thought about asking to move there.

We also had a walk around the Pestana Carlton later in the week which had a great games room with excellent table tennis table and pool table, but the poolside chairs and general feel of the hotel was below their 5 star rating, and certainly below the standard of the Cliff Bay.

The following day we asked to speak to the Hotel manager and try again with the interconnecting room request. Thankfully they made a great effort for us. Rita was wonderfully helpful and deserves a special mention and a thank you. The rooms were bigger than our previous rooms, and had two double beds each. This meant that a third bed did not need to be squeezed into one of the rooms as it was the previous day, but this did leave us rather thinking that the new rooms would have been a better option from the start. Perhaps a lesson learned for the Cliff Bay is to have had a discussion with us rather than the head in the sand approach taken when we checked in. The suggestion of offering that we could move during the holiday, made when we checked in, would have been more in keeping with the service level expected from a 5 star.

Food

Breakfast was the best out of any hotel we have stayed at with a massive selection of foods. Except for the awful mushy scrambled eggs made from powder presumably which were quite gross. And the sausages were best given a miss. Omelette station ladies were lovely and cooked to order. Superb slices of cake, which no doubt many guests may have taken for a snack later! We witnessed some elderly guests insisting on fried eggs from the pan when ones had been put onto the hot plate a minute earlier. Bizarre and a touch pretentious, but looking around, somehow not that surprising. Lunch options were ok although the Blue Lagoon was overpriced and generally empty. The Cliff Bar had great food but many mistakes were made initially with the food that arrived. The menu was not very child friendly so we asked for chicken nuggets, and they provided some very nice chicken strips in breadcrumbs. Maybe they should add this to the menu as it proved very popular. Other food could be requested that was not on the menu, for example grilled chicken breast which was superb. From this perspective, the service was fantastic. We did not try the Gallo D'oro as it appeared pompous, and a quick peek revealed a dinner dance that looked like a time warp. This was not for us, nor many, it seemed. And a jacket and tie stays firmly at home where it should when on holiday. We have eaten in local Michelin starred restaurants which instead provide a trendy and informal environment accepting of both jeans or a penguin suit. The Rose garden buffet was of a very high standard, but again a lack of children's food, which we normally see at other 5* hotel buffets. Perhaps the Cliff Bay could think about this.

The hotel is a bit fussy and has a 20th century dress code which is a pity. Modern holidaying is about relaxation, not worrying about the length of your trousers. Only on one night towards the end of the holiday was one of our sons asked to change his 'shorts' for the Rose Garden, which he refused to, as they were not in fact shorts at all. They were 3/4 length fashion trousers and therefore in keeping with the 'dress code' - which in any event is stated as 'suggested' and not compulsory. The arbitrary nature of this was revealed further when son number 2 wearing the same style trousers was considered fine, and when challenged, the 'concern' was stated as son number 1 being too tall! Very random. Yet our daughter was more informal in her attire, showed even more leg than son number 1 and wore flip flops, yet she was not picked on. The Cliff Bay needs address these inconsistencies and not discriminate by sex, age or height. Or simply relax a bit more.

Drinks were not badly priced for a 5 star, with a pint of Coral, which is quite a decent lager, being Eur 5.50. Much cheaper than Disneyland Paris at nearly Eur 9. Cocktails a touch pricey though.

Facilities and activites

If you like a spa hard sell then this is the hotel for you. Invites shoved through your door, a free consultation designed to flog you something, an 'activity' tour of the spa - the list goes on.

Being keen table tennis players, and armed with our equipment, we were looking forward to playing on the table which we had confirmed existed. We could not believe it when we saw it. The worst table out of any hotel we have stayed at. And it was positioned towards the cliff edge, so not only windy, but a decent shot (if you could hit the ball with the wind factor) would have sent the ball over the side. Or into the bushes. There should be a table indoors perhaps in the oversized and hardly used creche, the latter of which could be located in the underused nail salon. Table tennis is the most popular raquet sport in the world, so why stick a table in a daft location which makes it broadly unplayable. Ridiculous. When we visited the Porto Mar, we spotted a nice indoor table, and had a few trips there to play. Only around 10 minutes brisk walk or two minutes by taxi (a special note on taxis below) although not ideal to have to do this. The Porto Mar also had a very large indoor pool which could have done with better lighting inside. If you say you are from the Cliff Bay, the pool office area will provide towels.

The pool table also ranks amongst one of the worst. The cushions around the corner pockets were not affixed correctly, so that the corner pockets were so small that any shot that was not direct into the pocket would rattle, coupled with ridiculously large middle pockets.

The indoor pool was small, not particularly deep, and led out to a small outdoor area. Top quality indoor pool chairs with back padding support making it easy to sit up and read comfortably. There was a sign to shower before entering the pool which 99% of people ignored, which is no wonder as the shower in the mens toilet was fairly gross, with a rank and stale urine and sewer smell from the toilet area. This was fortunately the only such unsavoury facility. A tissue was left in the pool one day, and two days later, bits could be seen throughout the pool. Only on the third day did one of the staff get a cleaner out to resolve this. The saltwater pool layout was uninspiring and the cosy chairs around the pool of most hotels did not exist.

The gym was ok if you like running or cycling but with only one main, tired and basic workstation, it needs to be upgraded. The activities in the day time did not really exist. Two sessions of aqua aerobics would be the highlight of the week, otherwise if you are into flower arranging lessons, you would be happy. There were no organised competitions or fun activities that we have seen elsewhere. Evening entertainment was a live band every night, and one in particular was very good. No tribute bands though which can often be great fun, so this was a pity.

There was only one shop which sold, guess what, spa type products. Plus clothing with the Cliff Bay logo, and OPI nail products. Oh, and a very small selection of papers. To find a mini supermarket, go out of the hotel, turn left. Walk past Mamma Mia restaurant and a couple of hundred years later, cross over the road and there is a sign for supermarket - more of a corner shop. Otherwise turn right and just past Reid's, cross the road.

Taxis

Beware. Beware. Beware. Taxis that wait in the Cliff Bay grounds must see guests as rich pickings. Some switch off the meter and make up a charge when your arrive. The fare to the Porto Mar should be on the meter just eur 2.90, but we were charged Eur 5 before we realised. A trip to the cable car entrance in Funchal should be Euro 6 by meter. One time we were blatantly short changed, which we spotted. Another time, one of us dropped some sunglasses and as we walked away the driver picked them up and got back into his car. It was only the diligence of a good taxi driver (there are some) who watched this, and came running after us, told us what had happened and telephoned the association of taxi drivers to lodge a complaint, of which there is a formal record. The glasses were returned then to the hotel. We reported this to the hotel management with the taxi driver's number plate and his name so they are on notice that their guests are being abused, and they now have a duty to ban him from waiting in their grounds.

For airport taxis use Daniel Madeira taxis at Euro 30 each way. They always arrived exactly on time, and cannot be faulted. The hotel quoted euro 50 each way for the airport run, so again it looks like the taxi companies are hiking the price for Cliff Bay guests.

Accommodation

Rooms were smart, with TV and plenty of channels. The lighting and aircon do not work if you take both key cards with you, so a top tip is to fold one of the nice Cliff Bay sheets of paper supplied on the desk into four, and shove it in the holder by the door to ensure the aircon stays on when you are out. The mini bar did not have the annoying auto charge mechanism of some hotels, so your own drinks can easily be put into the half decent fridges. Beds were fantastically comfortable, with a choice of pillows. Some rooms are bigger than others, so it will be pot luck.

Our first rooms faced the gardens, out to the sea, in the middle of the hotel, and were southfacing. The rooms we moved to faced East looking at Funchal harbour and did not get the afternoon sun, but this did not matter as it was overcast and rainy most of the week. Good quality shampoo, bath stuff etc. Two hair dryers, one in the bathroom, and one loose in the wardrobe (although one of our bathrooms only had the socket instead of the hairdryer). Maid service was great.

Staff and Ambience

Staff had clearly been trained to say hello to guests walking past, and generally they appeared happy and friendly. A good atmosphere throughout and the reception ladies were always helpful. Cliff Bar staff were excellent (bar the one surly youngster), as were nearly all of the Rose Garden staff - in fact some offered the best service levels we have experienced in a hotel. Well done on this front.

Final comment

A smart and well run hotel catering it would appear for much older guests, providing generally high levels of service but not a great deal to do at the hotel itself. Maybe many guests choose to look around the Island, but if all you want to do is to relax at the Hotel, it has little extra to offer. Could do with adopting a more modern approach to holidaying.

Would we go back? We are not inclined to, but would consider it if there was an indoor table tennis table, a wider and enhanced activity program, coupled with better initial effort & attention to detail and better communication with guests.

Room Tip: Funchal view rooms only get the morning sun. Slot a piece of card or folded paper into the holder by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not completely correspond to your expectations. I have taken careful note of your suggestions and we will do our best to further improve our services and facilities. Due to the high occupancy of our hotel we accept a number of requests that we do our very best to accommodate. Requests in all hotels are always requests and not a guarantee unless confirmed by writing. Regarding connecting rooms and disabled rooms, the hotel has only very few. Most rooms are twin rooms.
The Cliff Bay caters for a varied clientele from many different origins. We are very pleased to serve all ages but many of our guests are experienced travelers that much value a tranquil setting. We do have suggested dress codes especially at Il Gallo d’Oro.
Comparing hotels is always difficult as individual preferences and characteristics come into place. We are very proud to have been elected overall winner as Best Thomson Holidays a la carte hotel. Naturally comparisons with four and large five star hotels can be somewhat difficult.

Thank you for your suggestions for improvements and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards and wishes for a good 2013,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.