We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really relaxing week in beautiful surroundings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Palace to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 275, Funchal, Madeira 9000-250, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A really relaxing week in beautiful surroundings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We have just come back from a week here and would thoroughly recommend it. We had a room / suite on the 10th floor (reception is 7th- because of the slope) with views over the gardens and pools. the kitchenette though small was perfectly adequate for our needs and although some furnishings are looking tired, everything was very clean. If we wanted anything, staff were very happy to help.

The pools, Turkish bath, sauna and jacuzzi were always pretty quiet and there was plenty of room outside for all who wanted to enjoy the sunshine.

Our only problem - and it is totally ours, nothing to do with the hotel - was that it is very difficult for anyone with mobility problems to get around very easily in Madeira. Having said that the taxi drivers were so kind and helpful.

The Madeiramania italian restaurant opposite is not the cheapest but you are looked after beautifully and the food is fab. All home made.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    244
    107
    57
    15
See reviews for
109
314
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarnow, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Nice place ,greatest climate, polite and interesting people ,astonishing views

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesTeamMRP, Director of Sales at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear guest,
We herewith would like to thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again in the near future
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Relaxed ambiance. It was the second time we stayed ther and the staff remembered the rrom and they upgraded to a suit...brekfast very goog indor pool superb! I will came back for sure

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

After we booked for a Monday to Monday stay, we booked our flight and found out Tuifly only flyes in and out of Funchal on Tuesdays. We tried to change our hotel accomodations to Tuesday to Tuesday, but were charged 150 Euro to do so. Not good since we still only stayed at the hotel 7 nights. Also, neither computer worked in the business center and the tred mill and stairmaster in the fitness rooms were out of service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botosani, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Nothing to complain
Great rooms, great views, great pools and garden, very good breakfast,amable staff, in the vicinity is the forum madeira shopping center, the hotel has a bus to transport the tourists to the center of Funchal and back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesTeamMRP, Director of Sales at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday in Madeira Regency Palace. Hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We recently stayed at the Madeira Regency Palace early July of this year, I had read some prior reviews from other travellers and the reviews seemed to be a fair assessment of this hotel, the hotel has a very pleasing and pleasant ambience in its design and location, it has been built on the cliff so parts of the hotel and its facilities steep down towards the beach below, what is a pleasant sight at breakfast is the sub tropical landscaping and gardens with nice Japanese style pools with Koi fish, and bridges, you pass through these on your way down to use the pools.

On arrival our group was checked in quickly by very welcoming hotel reception staff, and we were given large pleasant rooms which all seem to have views of the Atlantic Ocean where you cannot ask for anymore than that.

The Rooms are large and very roomy, with nice patio sliding doors to a small balcony which has for couples a complimentary table and 2 chairs, very pleasant for sitting out and general people watching during day, the rooms have an unusual keycard system which opens the door, controls the electrics, and locks the safe, which is handy, the security safe is one of the easiest to operate I have seen anywhere in the world.

The bathrooms are marble effect, with WC Bidet, (separate) bath and shower, the only criticism I would have is that in a 5 star hotel I would have expected an independent thermostatically controlled mixer shower, and not an off bath taps mixer, with cross head taps, something of an irritation when setting your shower temperature, however thats a nor criticism for the management to consider in the future when undoubtedly, refurbishment issues come up.

The general decor and carpeting etc, is clean and presentable, as is the room furniture, which is generous, 2 good sized chairs, although again a minor criticism is the quality of the t.v. in the room, a rather smaller size t.v. on a trolley, (although, one does not travel to this location to sit watching t.v. all day), perhaps in the future, they may consider larger 32 inch flat screen t.v.s).

The bedding is inviting although the pillows are somewhat smaller than expected, but again a minor criticism more aimed at the managements consideration for the future.

The largest criticism I would have as a regular hotel stayer in temperate climates is the quality and operation of the air conditioning system, sadly in our room, (although I cannot write about other rooms) is that it was poor, when activated by the key card system the blow speed was minor, and the room had the feel of just about being ok, whether this is an ongoing problem in the hotel, or a one off, it certainly needs to be looked at, I suspect its an older air conditioning system built into the rooms when they were originally built, the room could have done with an overhead wall fixed system to make the rooms cooler, however, I am sure the Hotel Manager will note this for the future.

The hotel has excellent facilities, it enjoys a lovely indoor pool, with Jacuzzi, a small gym, and changing faciltities, we used the indoor pool, staff are on hand to provide towels, the gym sadly was not up to standard, only one piece of equipment was serviceable, at least 2-3 of the main items required such as tread mill was in disrepair, again I am sure the management are aware of this, and are dealing with it.

The outdoor pools are delightful, and upper pool, with plenty of sun beds, a lower pool with also plenty of sun beds, staff will bring you a parasol, and towels if you request it from the pool attendants, the pools are exceptionally clean and enjoyable, and the lower bathing area overlooks the ocean below, very enjoyable, and highly recommended.

The Hotel has a nice restaurant, and a fully stocked bar/cafe area, the furnishings throughout reception and the bar area are of a high standard, very inviting, and a good place to relax in the evenings, what makes the hotel such a nice place to have a small break or a weeks visit is the staff themselves, people are always the key, and the staff at the Madeira Regency Palace are of a high standard, professional, attentive and friendly, service with a smile seems to be key, at all times we experienced this.

The hotel has a lovely poolside bar, where you can order drinks, snacks and they also have a lunchtime buffet which is pleasing and enjoyable, the restaurant which we used twice during our stay was efficient, the food of an excellent quality.

Conclusion: The Madeira Regency Palace is a high quality offering, pleasant, welcoming and the place to go if you want a quiet relaxing, and enjoyable setting in a sub tropical environment, the hotel is especially nice for couples but just as nice for families with children, our experience is that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesTeamMRP, Director of Sales at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for writing this review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday in Madeira Regency Palace. We took duly note of all the aspects you have mentioned. Hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

An extremely comfortable hotel extending from the bedrooms to the public areas.
We would have liked the shower curtains to have been replaced by screens but that is nit-picking really.

It might be an issue for some people that it is situated a fair way from the centre of Funchal but taxis were readily available and not too expensive. Overall, a lovely break for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 275, Funchal, Madeira 9000-250, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Madeira Regency Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Madeira Regency Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Palace Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Regency Resort Funchal
Madeira Regency Palace Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.