We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like the position, setting and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Palace to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 275, Funchal, Madeira 9000-250, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“We like the position, setting and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our fourth stay at the Regency Palace and we continue to like the place, though I agree with those who say it needs a good refreshing and the bedrooms and suites are now more four star than five. Good points include the location, right at the far western end of Funchal, which means you can walk along the sea front to the fishing port at Camara de Lobos. Immediately inland is a large residential area, which means good local eating and drinking at much lower prices than the main tourism areas of Funchal; indeed some of the places targeting the tourist haven't survived the recession. Excellent facilities, with indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room and gym, beauty salon etc. Downside is the piano music and customer noise from the bar: because of the layout this echoes around the central areas so that if you want an early night you might feel the need to close your windows; against this the pianist knows his stuff so if you prefer to mingle at the bar and listen this becomes a plus point! Also a negative is the urgent need to refresh the bedrooms and suites, at the very least why not give the rugs and the furniture, a good spring clean?

Room Tip: For an early night ask for a room facing out from the courtyard, although those overlooking the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    221
    101
    54
    14
See reviews for
104
291
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place needs a revamp. Carpets are stained and grubby. Towels worn out. Kitchen whilst well equipped - silly little kettle and rubbish toaster.
Meals very expensive.
Beware promotion deals - they don't tell you in the flyers that you have to book at reception.
Reception staff - quite condesending in manner - not at all helpful. Porters and cleaners all lovely and efficient.
Would not recommend. Totally unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems and definately not for wheelchair users. Access - steep hills.

Room Tip: Higher floors - better view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Regency, the staff are very helpful, lovely pools, gardens and reception. Bar food was very good. Yes the towels could do with renewing but we had clean ones every day, the room was cleaned every day too. The kitchen was well equipped and the furnishings good, a better view from the balcony would have been good and we could have had that at an additional charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
Our main goal is to fill all our guests' expectations and therefore is a pleasure to read you review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel purports to be a five star hotel, but falls far short of this standard.

We arrived for a four night stay after a cruise, and we're told that we would have to take our dinner at 6.30 pm. When we objected to this, we were told that we could eat at other times, but would have to book our time every evening. This is not acceptable for a hotel of this standard: we would have expected to be able to eat at any time.

Except for one evening, the evening meal was in buffet format, which makes the booking requirement even more absurd. The food could best be described as mediocre.

The public rooms and our bedroom were spacious and elegant, but the carpets in the corridor were dirty. Our bathroom fittings looked as though they had been bought second hand from a 1970s hospital, complete with old fashioned plastic shower curtain.

The hotel is some way from Funchal centre, and they offer a shuttle bus service. However, this has to be booked 24 hours in advance. As others have commented, the driver is off-hand. Yesterday, we were told that we could not use the bus, because it is undergoing repair. There was no suggestion of laying on alternative transport.

We gained the distinct impression that the hotel is underfunded and under staffed, and needs considerable investment if it is to maintain standards.

Room Tip: Timeshare rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our first time in Madeira and it is a beautiful island. We really liked this hotel. The staff were all very warm, friendly and helpful. The room size was good with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. We had B&B and the buffet breakfast was good. Slight downsides in that the Wifi speed was free and fast but it was not available in the room. It is also a little way from Funchal but there is a courtesy bus and the public bus was very good and cheap. I read that some travellers found the hotel a little tired and whilst we could understand what they were saying it in no way detracted us from this lovely hotel. Pools and sun beds were also good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesTeamMRP, Diretor de vendas at Madeira Regency Palace, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We herewith would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property. Regarding the internet, the hotel still does not have them in rooms but it is something that we are working on.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Back in 1999 the Madeira Regency Palace must of been a fantastic hotel opening - the style and standard are all in evidence with the perhaps now over the top 5 stars
The economy and hotel competition in Madeira have made the Regency Palace a difficult one to sell at profitable room rates - hence a stay here is a real bargain !
Rooms are large and originally well furnished but now a little tired and relatively poorly equipped - sub standard television signal on a 20 inch CRT old style TV is one example
However the public rooms and general standards are very good
We had a large 2 bed apartment with kitchen and it was very comfortable
The view and gardens are fantastic but general maintenance looks a struggle with many areas closed down and the lift to the sea shut down - basically it needs a significant euro investment spent on it
Service and staff are excellent but the main restaurant is overpriced and very average - the feature buffet is 32€ - al a carte is also high for the food standard -
Overall it is comfortable and good value but do not expect too much from the 5 stars

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We never stayed at this hotel, but were stopped in the street in Funchal and asked questions regarding a so called 'survey' about the hotel we were staying in. We were told that we would be given a gift for answering the questions, and when we'd finished we had to take a voucher from an envelope to find our prize - I had won a bottle of Madeira wine, and my husband a week's free holiday (big excitement faked by the surveyor who said there were only 5 being given away!). To collect our gift we had to go to the Regency Palace Hotel and listen to a presentation about the hotel (why we agreed we'll never know!). We were taken in a taxi and told that the presentation would last one and a half hours, which we had to stay for if we wanted our free gifts. So we stayed and listened whilst a rep tried to sell us the benefits of staying at the Regency Palace and belonging to their exclusive club which would give us access to further cheap holidays in high class hotels. The cost for the minimum of four vouchers to stay at the hotel was just under £2,000, but there was also a joining fee of over £1,000! He wanted us to agree to join up there and then, and when we refused his offer, he was polite but not happy, and we felt uncomfortable. We got our gifts - but it turned out the free holiday was linked to another pressure selling venture for timeshare - and they were giving away thousands! When we later researched 'holiday clubs' on the internet, we were told that they were a scam to beware of - although the hotel's club may have been genuine, were the other benefits? My point is, that although the hotel looked very nice, I question the integrity of a place using such underhand selling tactics...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 275, Funchal, Madeira 9000-250, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Madeira Regency Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Palace Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Regency Resort Funchal
Madeira Regency Palace Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.