We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf in the mountains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palheiro Golf

Palheiro Golf
Rua do Balancal n 29, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
+351291790120
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set within the magnificent Palheiro Estate and lying adjacent to the five-star Madeira Island Hotel Casa Velha do Palheiro – a Relais & Châteaux property – the 18-hole, par 72 Championship golf course meanders through a pristine environment of maritime pine and botanical woodland embroidered with lush, sub-tropical vegetation.At nearly 500 m (1640 ft) above sea level, the location is blessed with dramatic views of Madeira’s mountainous skyline and the vast Atlantic Ocean. Nestling below just 10 minutes away is Funchal, the island’s capital. Designed by renowned golf architect Cabell B. Robinson, this picturesque layout with year-round appeal takes full advantage of Madeira’s hilly terrain, with abrupt ridges and deep valleys providing a compelling challenge for even the most seasoned golfer.Teeing off here is to walk through a verdant and tranquil 200-year-old country estate, and an abundance of fragrant, exotic flora lends the course a unique and singular quality.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Golf in the mountains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Family group of 8 went for an unplanned round of golf. Transport was provided to and from the course by the golf club,the drive up provides spectacular views. The course is very hilly, buggy hire is available but at €45 each also quite steep. Green fees €65 each, no concession offered for party of our size. Pro shop staff very helpful, but stock limited & pricy. Clubs were provided free of charge (usually about €32 ) Last 2 tips, do not play Wednesday after 12 noon as members have a Texas Scramble & expect to play through,and finally the day we played the greens were much slower than they looked & needed a closer cut.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO9020FNC, Director of Sales at Palheiro Golf, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that your family golf outing into the mountains went well, despite being chased by some eager members. May I point out that you actually did pay a substantially reduced green fee (our normal rate is €110 p.p.), and in adding free hire clubs we felt that this would be a nice concession.
Please feel free to contact us directly next time you want to play a round of golf here in Palheiro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    29
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“3 Great Rounds, Enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 2 great weeks at the Palheiro Village. So convenient for this great picturesque course. The facilities were excellent and the service went 'the extra mile' in every respect. As an example, on the last hole of the last round I left my 8 iron by the green, easily done when you are driving buggies, it wasn't until I returned home and played again that I realised some weeks later. Full marks to Lucia who went to a tremendous amount of trouble to both find it and return it to the UK for me. Can't express my appreciation too much. A great place to play and be well looked after!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO9020FNC, Director of Sales at Palheiro Golf, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Peter,
thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience. We are also delighted to hear that your 8 iron made it safely back to the UK. We look forward welcoming you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic round of golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a fantastic round of golf, the course was not too busy and you could take your time and enjoy all the views the course gives you. when we finished our round of golf, we had a nice relaxing time at their bar looking out from their balcony, out onto Funchal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO9020FNC, Director of Sales at Palheiro Golf, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Toby,
remembering the good rounds and forgetting the bad ones is what it's all about. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A nice course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband played this course and enjoyed it. He did find it a bit steep but buggys were available if you wanted to hire them

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO9020FNC, Director of Sales at Palheiro Golf, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Nessy,
it's nice to hear that you had a good day here at Palheiro, and thank you for sharing your comments on TA. We look forward seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice golfcourse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This golfcourse has lovely views. And most holes are challenging. Due to the lack of water the fairways are hard with many spots of bare land. And the bunkers are poor: little sand and rock bottom.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO9020FNC, Director of Sales at Palheiro Golf, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Palheiro golf. The bare patches are actually part of our annual maintenance as we are removing (by burning) some invasive grasses. The bunkers are also now being refilled with sand. We hope to welcome you back to Palheiro golf soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palheiro Golf also viewed

 

Been to Palheiro Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palheiro Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.