We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barreirinha Bar Cafe

Barreirinha Bar Cafe
Largo de Soccorro | 9060-291 Santa Maria Maior, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 428 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a lovely place to relax in the sun and enjoy the coffee and beer whilst listening to the waves at the lido below. Great view over the sea. Highly recommended for a sunny day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    49
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
“My latest favourite lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I called in on my way to meet friends for a meal and ordered a poncha. It took a while but that was because the charming waiter was making it fresh. Free crisps and a marvellous spot to watch the sunset.

I deliberately made my way there when I was exploring on my own. A lovely welcome and pure charm. Terrific leek soup with the local bolo de caco and a great glass of wine. Amazing value.

One of the friendliest bars and somewhere I can happily relax on my own. I will certainly be heading up there again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“popular haunt, overlooking the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Most of the clientele are youthful locals who inhabit the tables opposite, overlooking the sea .The bar is just outside the Old Town so tourists are in the minority. It is run by three brothers of about 30, who are always very welcoming, producing the best ponchas, with great care, so a stroll up to the bar makes for excellent post supper excercise with a a fine nightcap! During the day their pastel de nata's go wonderfully well with the poncha!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely little unspoilt spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We came across this lovely little cafe/bar by chance late one sunny afternoon last week.

It is a tiny cafe but has tables and chairs across the road on the cliff, overlooking the sea. Lovely, local atmosphere; very reasonably priced drinks and food - delicious local Poncha. There was also jazz being played when we were there which added to the relaxed feeling.

We will definitely go back to this great little place when we are next in Funchal

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ideally situated on a corner with seating/tables across the road overlooking the sea and with an great but distant view of the harbour this little cafe is just the place to while away a few hours reading, talking or just taking in the sunshine.
If you are a resident of Quinta Bela sao Tiago come out of the hotel''s doors turn right then right again down a steep slope and the cafe is at the bottom of the hill on the left hand side.
The service is always excellent and friendly and the food is just right for a cafe of this size.
It's just a great little place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barreirinha Bar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Barreirinha Bar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barreirinha Bar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.