We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barreirinha Bar Cafe

Barreirinha Bar Cafe
Largo de Soccorro | 9060-291 Santa Maria Maior, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291627418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a lovely place to relax in the sun and enjoy the coffee and beer whilst listening to the waves at the lido below. Great view over the sea. Highly recommended for a sunny day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cags63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“My latest favourite lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I called in on my way to meet friends for a meal and ordered a poncha. It took a while but that was because the charming waiter was making it fresh. Free crisps and a marvellous spot to watch the sunset.

I deliberately made my way there when I was exploring on my own. A lovely welcome and pure charm. Terrific leek soup with the local bolo de caco and a great glass of wine. Amazing value.

One of the friendliest bars and somewhere I can happily relax on my own. I will certainly be heading up there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“popular haunt, overlooking the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Most of the clientele are youthful locals who inhabit the tables opposite, overlooking the sea .The bar is just outside the Old Town so tourists are in the minority. It is run by three brothers of about 30, who are always very welcoming, producing the best ponchas, with great care, so a stroll up to the bar makes for excellent post supper excercise with a a fine nightcap! During the day their pastel de nata's go wonderfully well with the poncha!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little unspoilt spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came across this lovely little cafe/bar by chance late one sunny afternoon last week.

It is a tiny cafe but has tables and chairs across the road on the cliff, overlooking the sea. Lovely, local atmosphere; very reasonably priced drinks and food - delicious local Poncha. There was also jazz being played when we were there which added to the relaxed feeling.

We will definitely go back to this great little place when we are next in Funchal

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ideally situated on a corner with seating/tables across the road overlooking the sea and with an great but distant view of the harbour this little cafe is just the place to while away a few hours reading, talking or just taking in the sunshine.
If you are a resident of Quinta Bela sao Tiago come out of the hotel''s doors turn right then right again down a steep slope and the cafe is at the bottom of the hill on the left hand side.
The service is always excellent and friendly and the food is just right for a cafe of this size.
It's just a great little place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barreirinha Bar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Barreirinha Bar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing