We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shu.aka

Shu.aka
Rua das Fontes n0 19, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
+351927388784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 444 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was fantastic !! The owner was great ,friendly and informative .The meal was excellent.No menu was provided it was what was freash that day.I can't recommend this place highly enough.Please try it .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    27
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We only went for lunch on our last day but if we had stayed on in Funchal (next time) , we would have returned. I was initially put off by the limited options, but wow, this was fantastic sushi. I can still taste it. My sushi palate is a little rusty - too many years in middle Europe - but I certainly haven't had any sushi this good since I lived in San Francisco. It is true that the waitress doesn't really speak English but the chef and the other server do (when we went) and are extremely friendly. On a lunch return I would next time just order the sashimi plate. Twice. Yum. As an aside - it was 'filled' (its small) with locals....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting ~Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

They have only option, which is 25€ set menu (3 starters, sashmi, sushi, warm sushi, minimalist dessert) and bargain at the price. Having lived in Japan few years, some of the stuff was bit .. non-Japanese, but still good. Only major downside was that waitress didn't really speak english much, and the chef(?) had to pop in to translate couple of times. Still, if I wanted more Japanese-style food, this is the place I'd go to in Funchal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Extremly good service.
Extremly good sushi with some new flavours i've never have tasted before!
Great value for the money as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must go place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best sushi I ever had!
Great value for money! We had both lunch and dinner there both equally superb! Sushi is of the hook! So I the amazing dessert ( I've never had tempura raspberries before! )
The owner is a really nice chatty guy who cares a lot about his clientele.
If you are in Madeira make sure to stop by! Check the website first for the opening hours ( dinner starts at 20:30 )
And to the owner: thanks again for an amazing evening:)
X

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shu.aka also viewed

 

Been to Shu.aka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shu.aka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.