We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming 'hole in the wall' restaurant with excellent simple cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaquet

Jaquet
Rua Santa Maria 5a, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
+351 291 225 344 ‎
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 394 restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
wimbledon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Charming 'hole in the wall' restaurant with excellent simple cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We agree with other visitors that this is an excellent, if very individual place to eat. Situated at the
town end (not the Fort end) of Rua Santa Maria, the narrow entrance could be easy to miss and the interior is hardly bigger than a 'hole in the wall' shop. The proprietor is the waiter and his sister is the cook. He is businesslike but with an underlying charm as he explains his two or three (only) fish dishes of the day. These were fresh and excellently, if simply, cooked and there was a selection of good vegetables. Seating is basic on stools at wooden tables. For a genuine, no frills, taste of scabbard fish, sea bream etc, this is a place to go, but eat early as it is likely to get full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    75
    34
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windlesham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had to visit this place after reading reviews on this site. If you want fine dining stop reading. This is a small place with stools around about 8 tables (mostly for 2 people).
Scruffy chalk marks on a blackboard but no menu. The waiter explains what there is (and his English is difficult to understand but he repeats it if you ask). I had the limpets (enough for 2) cost 7.80 euro. I then had the dourade (Gilthead seabream) 12 euro, with boiled potatoes, carrots and marrow, 1.40 euro. He served it off the bone for me without asking. I loved it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Wonderfully different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nobody to invite you in. No written menu. No fuss. Just pure quality fish prepared simply and in front of you.
I didn't think I liked lapas (limpets and a delicacy of the island). But there was no other choice for starters and I loved these.
Three fish alternatives. We went for the scabbard fish and it was terrific. So much too, with interesting veg and good wine.
Not a place for ceremony or leisurely dining. But a very special place for food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“No fuss but the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very small restaurant run by brother and sister; very convivial place; stools, paper table sets, about ten tables and no menu. You enter the room, sit at a table and the waiter tells you what there is on the menu. Limpets (lapas, speciality of the Island) were the starters; daurade and espada were the 2 fish on offer. We had the limpets, they were delicious. For fish we chose a whole daurade and the espada; both were cooked to perfection. we were asked whether we wanted the fish to be grilled or fried; we had it grilled served with lemon and garlic; with the fish there was a dish of local vegetables too. We love fish and were delighted by what we were offered and will go back next year. Of course this place can only be recommended to people who like fresh fish and do not mind very basic setting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great no nonsense fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Small place, sit on stools, warm atmosphere. Tourists in the evening, locals for lunch. Amazing fish :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaquet also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Jaquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.