We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Imperatriz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Imperatriz to your Saves list
Aparthotel Imperatriz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 72, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Espoo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights early may, during the afternoons sitting in the roof, it felt that we were the only customers in whole hotel. We arrived after 2am and as I had pre-warned them, everything had been arranged so we could just go to sleep. Little minus for noises that do come from nightclub nearby and different traffic around the hotel, but you will quickly get used to it. :)

Staff was very helpful if we had any questions, cleaning was perfect and the location, it's close to all traveler needs, city, restaurants, harbor and levadas. You can make two levada walks starting from nearby.

For us it was great hotel, as we were hiking around the island. We were able to decide which time we make the breakfast and leave. Buses were 20 minutes away to travel all around the island and if you are coming back from east to city, there's bus stop almost just front of the hotel.

And the places to drink and eat, you can find big variety inside 500m from hotel.

Room Tip: Studio rooms on the "shopping centre"-side were nice to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glossop
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week, it was good value and in a great location for getting around Funchal without needing a bus. The room was quite large, with a small cupboard containing a sink, 2 solid hobs, kettle, pans, fridge, crockery, cutlery (enough for 2 people). The bed was 2 singles pushed together but made up as singles with sheets and blankets, a bit odd, but if you make it up to suit you, they'll remake it as you left it. There was a table and 2 dining chairs. The bathroom was large with bath/shower.
They supply a teatowel but you'll need washing up liquid etc - the nearerst supermarket (see other reviews for directions) sells everything you need. There is a spa shop next door which has a whole section dedicated to English tastes (spam, toast, jam!) the Pingo Doce is larger with more choice.
There is a small pool on the roof - we went in for about 5 seconds just because it was there, but it was VERY cold (not really surprising in feb). There aren't any public indoor pools in Funchal.
We stayed as self catering, but had breakfast in the bistro downstairs on our last morning which was good but was glad we just shopped for our own. We only cooked in the evening once, there were lots of really good restaurants within walking distance. We particularly liked Olive, just uphill from the catherdal, and the bistro downstairs was cheap and cheerful when we were too tired from walking up hills to walk anywhere further.
The aerobus is 5euros from the airport - ask for casino park and they'll stop just uphill from the hotel. You can get a return for 7.50 euros
Victor and Duarte on reception speak excellent English and are really helpful and friendly.
There is a car hire place on the main road, we paid 40euro for one day for their smallest car. But to get around the buses are brilliant and very reasonable - there are timetables for the city buses in the room.
You can use their internet connection for a small fee (1eur for 15 mins)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just returned stayed here for 4 nights in February. Location is good for airport bus, parks, restaurants ,with a 20 minute walk into the fab old town. Rooms are good and clean with basic self catering only 2 hobs and not great seating for a family of four. some of the staff are excellent really friendly. please don't rely on the pool its tiny and FREEZING. The breakfast is very basic just bread cheese and ham, and yogurts got really boring. but as a basic clean base to explore funchal you really can't complain. also there is a spar next door sells a great range and good price.

Room Tip: at the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We thank you for your review and hope to have the pleasure of your visit in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The self-catering hotel is ideally situated next to the Casino and close to the port and town centre. There are regular buses into and out of town on the main road nearby, and plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Our apartment was on the top (3rd) floor. There is a sun terrace and pool on the roof, and a small lounge and bar (bar closed on our visit) on the ground floor. The apartment was quite basic, without a comfy chair, and the "kitchenette" was poor, with only 2 rings and no grill. There was a small balcony with table and chairs which did not get any direct sun (useful in very hot weather, but not as good in winter). A kettle was provided but no toaster. The fridge worked well and had sufficient capacity. It is quite good value for money, but t may be worth considering paying slightly more for better facilities, particularly if you want to self-cater in the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid a room immediately over the night club next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the Aparthotel Imperatriz twice and their receptionists remembered us straight away when we came back for the second time. Two of their staffs, Duarte and Victor are very friendly, helpful and can speak very good English.

This hotel is in a good location, only about 15-20 mins walk to the centre compare to the other hotels in the “Hotel Zone” area which is about 40 mins walk. The Pingo Doce Supermarket is only about 10-15 mins walk which is very useful if you want to use their kitchenette. We stayed at the side of the hotel and it’s very nice in the evening when the sun was shining into our balcony every time we come back from our day trips. In July, we can watch the sunset until around 10pm! They also have a very private swimming pool on the roof with a nice view of the sea and Funchal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters in Stoke
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Hotel ideally situated just 7 mins. walk into Funchal. We had a top floor, side view apartment which was lucky as the front is noisy with traffic and bars and the back has no sun. We had a good sized balcony that was sheltered. Bedroom was large and cleaned daily. Staff were very friendly. Cooking facilites are limited. Two solid heating plates only. Please note there is no toaster, kettle, microwave or oven/grill. Only 2 saucepans and a frying pan and very limited cooking utensils. Enough crockery and cutlery. There is also no hairdryer. There is a TV with 4 English Channels, two News Channels, an Old Films channel and TV Gold repeats. Apartment had a safe (hire charge). There was a roof Sun Terrace and small swimming pool which is adequate, but you are overlooked as Hotel is surrounded by other hotels. The rooms do not have new furniture, but I found it comfortable and met our needs. The Imperatriz in a convenient location and good value.
Tips: Get the AUTOBUS right outside the arrivals at the airport. Cost 5€ pp. each way.
Tell Driver your stop 'Casino Park' he will remember to drop you there (he makes a note)
Alight at your stop, cross the main road, and look for the 'no entry' sign. That is the road you need 'Rue de Imperatriz' Hotel is 100yds downhill on the right.
Shopping tip: Get a top-up travel card from a Kiosk on the promanade, journeys cost 1€
For groceries use Pingo Doce supermarkets, water is 29 cents for 5lts!!! The nearest Pingo Doce is situated in the Dolce Vita shopping centre. Walk towards Funchal down the hill past the gardens. At the Marina Roundabout take the first exit left (keep the BBVA bank to your right). The Dolce Vita shopping centre is 100 yds on the right and Supermarket is on the ground floor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Dont expect a five star hotel, but it is a good hotel for what we paid. The pool area is simple. The location is good for walking and a few bars nearby with free wifi. Lovely restaurants nearby. Could cook in room as well. Downsides...Ladies take your own hairdryer. They only have 1 to share, so had to ask for it every morning. There was alot of noise outside at night and early in the morning, so was not a restful area, but a pair of earplugs sorted that out! There was no aircon, but we went at a cooler time so that did not bother us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Imperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Imperatriz

Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 72, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Imperatriz 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Imperatriz is a small family-run establishment conveniently situated in the most upmarket district of Funchal, adjacent to the famous Madeira Casino and Congress Centre, close to some of the city’s finest restaurants and bars, about 5 minutes walk from Funchal's harbour. The hotel has 27 comfortable studios, each with private bathroom, hair dryer, balcony, kitchenette, mini-bar, cable TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe-deposit box. Facilities include a snack bar, restaurant, games room, business centre, small library, winter garden, freshwater swimming pool with a sun terrace affording breathtaking views over the ocean, private garage, 24-hour reception and a rent-a-car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Imperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Imperatriz Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Hotel Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Imperatriz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.