We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning excursion to Nun's Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions

Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions
Estrada Monumental, n0 284, Shopping Centre Monumental Lido, ground floor, shop 15. | 9004-541 Funchal, Madeira, Portugal., Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291 768 426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 78 Activities in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Madeira Happy Tours is an official tour operator agency based in Madeira island - Portugal - specialized in Madeira island excursions & levada walks.
Redditch, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Morning excursion to Nun's Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We made this trip on 15th October. Picked up from our hotel promptly at 9am, there was one other couple in a comfortable eight seater minibus. The driver was a lady, sorry I have forgotten your name, who was very good but not especially informative particularly about the history of Nun's Valley. The journey comprises two viewpoint stops, the first for 20 minutes on the hills outside Funchal, Pico dos Barcelos, to admire the coast, city and mountains. The second stop is a 40 minute break at Eira do Serrado, 1095 metres high, to walk up to the viewpoint overlooking the Nun's Valley and village. Well worth the walk up the steep path although it is very busy as a lot of tours stop at this point where there is also a cafe, shop and toilets. Then down through a new tunnel to the village itself, Curral das Freiras, which is quite disappointing. Only the church is an historic building the rest of the village is modern buildings. The main trade these days is the sale of sweet chestnuts in various forms, we found no information on the history of the place. After a 40 minute break it was a drive back down the valley on very twisty roads to Funchal and our hotel for 12 midday, the advertised time.
As previously said our driver was very pleasant and competent and for 11 euros we felt it was good value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great tour of the beautiful island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took a day tour to the west side of Madeira.
The tour was excellent - the guide and service were good, picked us up on time and told interesting explanations through the entire drive.

We visited the amazing cliffs of Cabo Girao, and a number of beautiful viewpoints, and had a good long break at Porto Moniz for the pools and a walk on the amazing rocky coast.


Highly Recommeded!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Would recommend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Did the North West Island Tour with Alfredo as driver/guide. Minibus picked up and dropped off at the hotel. Very prompt timing. Had a very good day out with some spectacular mountain and coastline scenery. Took us to lots of places to either have a walk round or take pictures. I would say the highlights were the viewing platform at Cabo Girao, one of the highest cliff faces in the world, the mountain top views and Porto Moniz with the volcanic rock pools you can bathe in. Having had such a good day we decided to book a second day tour to the South East. We had the same driver and again had a good day. Some even more spectacular mountain scenery and between the two tours we saw most of the best places on the island. Would highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We did the north west tour which was very good for 20 euros. The stops are well spaced out in good places (pretty villages and good viewing spots). There are toilets at each stop which is good news for those with weak bladders like me. Our driver was informative and gave a good insight into life on the island. The minibus was ok but there is one stage through the middle of the island which is a bit bumpy but not too bad.

Great fun and great value.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Read the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor after seeing the booking office near our hotel. The price quoted is considerably less than other similar hotel and agency offers most of which averaged around the €30 mark. We chose the West Coast tour for €20 per person.
It would be difficult to compare unless I had taken another similar tour so considering price this has to be great value. As with all other tours, the price buys you an air conditioned minibus and driver, a tour of the west side of Madeira stopping at all the points of interest along the way. Our driver (whom I shall not name) was factual and informative, spoke good English and drove carefully until the last half an hour when it seemed the mad dash to Funchal was a crazy ride to get back by the appointed time!! I would not say he was entertaining or amusing,but delivered a perfectly acceptable audio commentary. We were blessed with astonishingly good weather although breezy at Porto Moniz where one of the volcanic pools was closed due to the Atlantic breakers swamping the area. Well worth the trip to west side of the island to see the varied landscapes. High cliffs at Cabo Girao a definite highlight.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.