We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as many of the gardens in England” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palheiro Gardens

Palheiro Gardens
Caminho da Quinta do Palheiro, 32 | 9060-255, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Attractions in Funchal
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The gardens at "Quinta do Palheiro" are famous not only for the variety of plants that grow there but for the beauty of their setting in the hills to the east of Funchal, the capital of Madeira. Madeira has long been called the "Garden Isle" and it seems that almost anything will grow in its fertile soil.The Palheiro gardens are situated at about 500 meters above sea level and were started in 1801 by the original owner the Conde de Carvalhal. He introduced Camellias to the Island, hence our vast collection. The gardens, some 14 hectares (with about 650 species of plants),include the Camellia avenue, Main Garden, Sunken Garden, Rose Garden, Long Border and the Ladies' Garden where you find the tea house. There is also the Ribeiro do Inferno, a deep valley with treeferns and indigenous plants.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as many of the gardens in England”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Designed to be a home-from-home English garden by the Blandys it now seems to fall short of what we have come to expect in the UK (e.g. many National Trust gardens) but the presence of Proteas and other cold intolerant plants no doubt makes it well worth visiting earlier or later in the year (i.e. not December).

Beware of the poor bus service (very poor on Sundays) - one can walk 10 minutes down the hill to get an alternative bus back though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    81
    36
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The avenue leading to the formal gardens from the entrance had a splendid collection of flowering camellia trees on one side and a bank of wild mombretia and other wild flowers on the other. The actual garden is small and the planting dull and lacks any sense of innovation. At E10.50 it is totally overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quinta Bonita!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Easily the most attractive garden we visited. It's part of a luxury hotel complex and it is well tended and stocked with some lovely plantings. You can't visit the main house (which I think is owned by the Blandy family) but it's lovely to look at and there is a nice tea house at the bottom of the garden overlooking the golf course. Well worth the visit, though it's a bit out of town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

These gardens are the most beautiful I have ever seen - every possible plant and tree you can imagine, and despite damage from the fires earlier in the season, they are still magnificent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quiet and calming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I visited the gardens in October 2012. We took the bus from Funchal and the driver was very helpful and told us when we reached the stop and how to get to the garden gate.It was a quiet Saturday afternoon and there were few people in the gardens. We had an enjoyable few hours and enjoyed the various aspects, rose garden but late in the season and the lilly pond. The small tea room was clean and inviting and we had a drink and a sandwich... all very nice.
It was sad to see that the areas just outside the main garden and down in the ravine (inferno) had been badly damaged in the summer wild fires. There had been a lot of clearing but still evidence of the damage. Other visitors disliked the smell of charcoal but the people can do little about that as it was a terrible natural disaster and will take time to heal. It was still worth a visit.
We then walked up the hill to the levada and walked westwards in the direction of Monte, called at the Hortensia tea room and then caught a but out s0die the tea room back in to Funchal.
A pleasant and relaxing afternoon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palheiro Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Palheiro Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palheiro Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.