We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbaric Avery” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Gardens Madeira

Botanical Gardens Madeira
Caminho do Meio- Bom Sucesso, Funchal, Madeira 9050-244, Portugal
291 21 12 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 49 Attractions in Funchal
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to the Botanical gardens provides visitors with the names and origins of the splendid variety of exotic flowers, vegetables, herbs and other useful plants found on Madeira.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Barbaric Avery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good views of Funchal, nice gardens, below average food, poorly presented museum, appalling Avery. Lovely creatures kept in bare concrete, wire cages. Boycott this at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    547
    277
    94
    55
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“They didn't miss a trick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This garden was over the top. More flora and fauna than you can imagine existing... The setting was very beautiful and you don't stop seeing beautiful rare plants from all around the world. A must see.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Jardim Botânico is really beautiful, and very well kept. The view from the garden is breathtaking. There is a new project for this garden which will make it more accessible for people with mobility problems.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A perfectly timed visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited the Botanical gardens in early May, the flowers were at their peak and it was an absolutely worthwhile experience. We took a tour arranged by Norwegian Cruise Lines and lucked out with a very knowledgeable tour guide. My only complaint was not enough time was given to really relax and experience this place..there is a whole area devoted to birds much of which we had to skip due to the tour schedule. Try to allow 1/2 a day for your visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The formal gardens were impressive but the rest of the gardens we found disappointing. They did not appear to be well tended as you would expect gardens to be in this country. We felt they did not compare well with the beautiful gardens at Monte which we visited during previous visits to this island.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens Madeira also viewed

 

Been to Botanical Gardens Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanical Gardens Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.