We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angelica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Se

Cathedral Se
Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 106 things to do in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to Portugal's magnificent cathedral, dating from the 1400s, is a must-see during a tour of Funchal.
Fairlight
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Angelica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Because we were there prior to Christmas we were party to the most beautiful decorations at the Cathedral, apart from which it is a beautiful building with so much history and inside a feast for the eye. A cathedral you can visit more than once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    79
    62
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not my favourite!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although the interior was impressive I found the Cathedral very dark and gloomy despite the decoration. The lack of windows I found oppressive. A nice looking building from the outside!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Refection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well situated within walking distance for most people. A charming building for everyone to relax and reflect for a while away from the noise and chaos of everyday life. Nothing to dislike here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I didnt manage to spend as long here as Id like to have but it was a special place with a very nice feel to it. It was good to see it at christmas decorated with a traditional nativity scene.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Mass - brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was nearly packed by 2315hrs, and more people just kept on coming in. People were stood or sat in the isle and stood at the back for the service. They had the most amazing choir, it was worth every minute.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Se also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Se, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.