We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favourite!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Se

Cathedral Se
Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 51 attractions in Funchal
Type: Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A visit to Portugal's magnificent cathedral, dating from the 1400s, is a must-see during a tour of Funchal.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not my favourite!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although the interior was impressive I found the Cathedral very dark and gloomy despite the decoration. The lack of windows I found oppressive. A nice looking building from the outside!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    45
    43
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Refection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well situated within walking distance for most people. A charming building for everyone to relax and reflect for a while away from the noise and chaos of everyday life. Nothing to dislike here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I didnt manage to spend as long here as Id like to have but it was a special place with a very nice feel to it. It was good to see it at christmas decorated with a traditional nativity scene.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Mass - brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was nearly packed by 2315hrs, and more people just kept on coming in. People were stood or sat in the isle and stood at the back for the service. They had the most amazing choir, it was worth every minute.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to midnight mass at the Catherdral and it was a very moving experienc.
Madeira is a very family place and celebrate Xmas the way it should be celebrated ie what the true meaning of Xmas is.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Se also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Se, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cathedral Se to your Saves list