We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Art Museum (Museu de Arte Sacra)

Sacred Art Museum (Museu de Arte Sacra)
Rua do Bispo 21, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291/22-89-00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 51 attractions in Funchal
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in a former bishop's palace, this museum houses an extensive collection of masterpieces by Flemish artists from the 15th and 16th centuries.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Some interesting pieces but nothing world-class - ok for price (3 EUR) - 2 floors - can be done in 30 minutes - recommendable as there is not much else to see in Funchal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice surprise to run across”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This museum was just the right size not to be boring, but suffered from a distinct lack of seating. The art was gorgeous and absorbing but frankly after walking my tush off for 3 weeks all over the island the last thing my back had patience for was standing for 2 hours through a museum. The second issue I had was that very few of the placards next to pieces had a YEAR listed on them, so without seeking out the English packet of info (which I didn't do because my back was killing me and there was no place to sit and peruse it) I couldn't gauge how old the pieces were. Just a bench or two down the center of each room would make it a lovely place to sit and really engage with the art. Otherwise the pieces were truly beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
160 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Don't buy the leaflet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Takes about an hour to visit. Situated in a palace with stone stairs and cobbled hall. Don't buy the leaflet as it doesn't give much information. I loved the ornate wood-carings in particular a relief of the Last Supper. The restaurant attached is excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a look if you're at a loose end”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Only 3 Euro entry over two floors. Predictably, very catholic in content. Lots of silver, some sculpture and quite a few paintings. The processional cross of Funchal is housed here. The items are labelled in Portugese only. The additional leaflet offered on entry for 1 Euro is only a history of the collection and does not refer to the individual exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The silver is a feast for your eyes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

OK 3 euros to get in but the staff outnumbered the visitors when I was there! Instead of one handout describing the artifacts, each room had separate ones which was confusing at first and frustrating. That said some of the silverware was awesome including a large chest which really took my eye. As it's under-lit to save damage and you can't use a flash the only way to keep a record is with video and whilst my camera has the facility the quality isn't brilliant so a good low lux camcorder is best. The Flemish artists never could paint "young faces", cherubs and the like in the same way the Italian masters did so the paintings were a little unrealistic in some cases with children/cherubs depicted. It's worth a visit to see everything plus the wooden carvings, some have aged better than others ( dreaded worm has struck some!) but when you consider how old they are some have remained remarkably intact.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Art Museum (Museu de Arte Sacra) also viewed

 

Been to Sacred Art Museum (Museu de Arte Sacra)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Art Museum (Museu de Arte Sacra), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sacred Art Museum (Museu de Arte Sacra) to your Saves list