We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Da Penha De Franca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Da Penha De Franca to your Saves list
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 85-87, Funchal, Madeira 9000-014, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nykoebing, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“We will come again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms in the old main building are a little worn down, and the tv the smallest I have ever seen. The water has to run for 15 minutes to get warm ( a waste ) and there is not much pressure. The carpet is worn down. Besides that the room was cosy and clean. The area is beautiful and the pools very nice. The restaurant is good, but we prefer the Bernini restaurant up the street. At first we could not find our way down to the pool by the sea, but you take the green backdoor from above the small pool, go down the street 15 meters, across the street, put your finger between the bars of the door which is marked Private, and unlease the lock, cross the bridge to the elevator. You have to take a green towel either by the upper or lower pool. The white towels in the room is not to be used for that purpose.
Despite the above mentioned we would be happy to come again.

Room Tip: We would have preferred a room with a balcony/terrasse but they were sold out. We got a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    168
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
44
261
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

With a little more attention to detail, this hotel could be 5 star. The location is excellent. It has some really good restaurants nearby, and is not far to walk into the centre of town.

We stayed in the main part of the hotel, in the new block, which had a balcony and a sea view. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom.

We could not understand why some things were available, but only on request. We would not have known, unless we had seen on the reviews of the hotel that kettles and cups were provided if requested. The tea and coffee was not, but easily purchased fro the Spar shop nearby.

Bath robes were also available, but again, only on request. It was only when we saw that people had them around the pool that we knew we could ask for them.

Our only other complaint would be the pillows, and the bedding. The pillows were really hard, and there were blankets, rather than duvets (my pet hate, as I think they are very unhygienic ).

But, overall we enjoyed staying here and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The main hotel has more character and the new block overlooking the pool and the sea are the rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHOLT ENGLAND
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Visited "joes bar" restaurant once again , after being there a few times on previous holidays.
We like sitting in the bar area having an aperatif before or meal which has always before been excellent,this time we were slightly disappointed, not with the food,but with what we considered to be an over enthusiastic desire to lay the tables for the following days breakfasts????There were four or five tables with clients still in the garden when the "marie celeste" time began, we tried in vain to politly catch someones eye to ask for the bill but flying eyes were not in vogue and we waited some ten minutes or more before eventually standing up appeared to have the desired effect.As I say food good but comment from one restaurant worker to another not briiliant sorry!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Two years ago my wife and I stayed at this hotels adjacent subsidiary right by the sea,which was very acceptable, but this year we were in the main hotel which was rather better, both in the rooms and the range of facilities. The staff in both are very helpful, but there is much more of interest in the main hotel. Funchal is very hilly and while it is interesting to walk along the mile-long promenade the older hotel is better placed to either go into the City centre or to go to the many good restaurants nearby for dinner.Breakfast is either in the restaurant or on a lovely patio.
Our room was on the second floor on the main block, with large balcony and was well equipped and with plenty of hanging space. It should be noted that there appear to be few rooms with double beds, most are twins. A lot of rooms are in separate small buildings in the large grounds and appeared to be rather smaller without balconies, but a small patio.The gardens are a special feature, beautifully kept with a great many trees and magnificant flowers (in many cases labelled for those interested).There is a limited number of free internet terminals for guests use.
The reception is a rather weak feature and seemed rather understaffed. On more than once there was no one there at all, with the office door shut, which would have allowed an outsider on to the room floors without anyone being aware.
With only that reservation above, this is an excellent hotel for a weeks holiday to see Funchal and the area without being too far from the centre, and with beautiful surroundings

Room Tip: Main block appears to be best,rooms 60 to 80 Do not confuse with the Mar subsidiary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just stayed here for 6 nights B&B. For about £40 per night (double) it was v. good value. We had room 20 in a small 'house' near a summerhouse, and part of the garden. The rooom was a twin bedded room, with TV, shower/bathroom. There was a minibar, but no kettles, but this was supplied quickly with cups when requested from reception the same day.

The hotel appears a mix of rooms in various buildings, set in tropical gardens with a pool. A little bit dated and eclectic in places, but it was welcoming. Wifi was only available in the foyer, and large sitting room area. A computer with internet access is provided for guests. There did seem olts of steps around, but that probably isn't different from many places.

There is also access to the Q. Le Mar hotel, via an overhead walkway. This was an added bonus and there there are 2 seaside pools and sitting area, next to a bar/cafe. It looks straight out onto the sea. Also access here to the sea, which was too rough for us.

We were very pleased with our find, and would return.

The hotel is next to the Pestana Casino, and is 20 minutes downhill walk into town, and about 30 coming back!

Hotel and restaurant staff were helpful, and came alive when they were subjected to our attempts at speaking Portuguese!

Breakfast was buffet and lots of food and a good range - cooked, or cereal or toast or meats etc.

The evening restaurant was OK, perhaps not as good as a couple of the other local restaurants, but reasonable value - £40 for 2 mains, sweets and a 1/2 bottle of wine. Although the sweets were rather 'shop bought'. Its location was good for choices of eating places, and there are two local Spar corner shops, which were good for bread, milk, wine, snacks etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our taxi incorrectly dropped us off at the Penha de Franca Mar reception, but the receptionist at the Mar quickly arranged for a member of staff to lead us to our reception at the Quinta and sent our bags over to save us taking them. Once in the correct part of the Hotel we checked into room 71, which was large with a side sea view and had afternoon sun on the balcony , also could pick up wifi signal on the balcony as was just above the reception area. The decor is old style Madieran home and the hotel set in beautiful gardens, much prettier than some of the newer high rise concrete jungle style Hotels that have been built in recent years. The walk through the gardens out across the bridge to the Mar, down in the lift and then out to the road leading to town is the easiest, as it avoids the hills , and certainly the best hill less way back to the Quinta. The location of the Hotel is excellent, a pleasant 15 minute walk to town, past the cruise ships that have arrived for the day. Breakfast is serve your self, with ample choice of English style, or continental with various meats, cheese, fruits, juices, 7 or 8 different bread types, croissants and cake, served in the main building, or on the sun terrace, which we were lucky enough to do, with lovely sunny days, even in early November. Thoroughly recomend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Several different types available, choose carefully, ones in the old quinta do not have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thought I'd booked the main old quinta inland so was surprised we had a room in the seaside Penha de Franca Mar- it has very tired 1980s style decor, but the outdoor space is good - large pool looking west towards Reids, Savoy etc. It has lots of sunbeds, and you can get down to the sea to swim. Good breakfast choice- particularly nice if you sit on the large veranda with the sea crashing around you. You can get to the old quinta via a lift and small green pedestrian road bridge through the gardens, and can also use the small swimming pool there. Good location to walk into Funchal through the new esplanade running along the harbour. Some poor if not rude staff, others good and helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floor for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Da Penha De Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Da Penha De Franca

Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 85-87, Funchal, Madeira 9000-014, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Da Penha De Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Quinta Da Penha De Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Da Penha De Franca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.