We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Gracious Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Save Saved
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off suites
Ranked #5 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and Gracious Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I travel frequently to luxury hotels, and found Reid's Palace to have some of the best service in the world. I was there for 6 nights and had a wonderful experience each night The people at the front desk were incredibly helpful, and knew my name right away. Even more remarkably, I came into my room one evening when the maid was in the middle of the evening turn-down service. I told her that she could stay (and she did), and I thought she had finished when she left. When I came home from dinner, a full 4 hours after the maid was originally in my room, she had come back into the room again to close the curtains and tidy up the bathroom. I was so impressed to have a fresh room for a third time that day! Its a lovely location, and combined with the service, makes this a really fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    57
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
104
369
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My first trip to the Madeira Island, and my first hotel in Funchal. Hotel is about 120 years old which is good and bad. The furniture and style are old which has some charm. I playing billards and card games is your best idea of having fun, this place is for you. Rooms are updated which is fortunate, and bathroom was modern. View from the main hotel terrace is beautiful. Pool area also enjoyable. No king size beds. Food was very good. Staff was superb. Taxis readily available. About 35 Euros to/from the airport. 1.5 hour trip to Funchal from Lisbon.

Small casino about 10 minute walk from hotel, and downtown area of Funchal about 15 minutes from hotel. Cruise ship is in port each day so you see tourists about. Across the street from the hotel is ice cream, a mini mart, and a pastry shop. Next door is an excellent Italian restaurant.

The garden area of the hotel is pleasant to explore and even romantic.

As for a previous review by someone that the Reid's Palace is "one of the best in the world" I do disagree. It is a high quality, charming hotel, and at 196 Euros/night a reasonable rate. It is not one of the best in the world.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

My wife and I needed a break for a few days over Easter with our 18 month old son and chose Reid's Palace as had heard good reports from friends and stayed at other Orient Express Group hotels.
We had been hoping to celebrate my 40th birthday on holiday but due to work commitments were only able to go 10 days later.
Both my wife and I are lucky enough to have stayed in wonderful 5 star hotels as we travel with work.
This is now in our top 3 hotels in the world (so far)!
Other hotels provide wonderful service but the staff are clinical and cold. The team at Reid's achieve the perfect balance of excellent and efficient service, with a friendly smile and a chat if you wish.
The hotel was also kind enough to give a bottle of sparkling wine for my belated 40th birthday - which was exceptionally thoughful of them as we had not been able to travel until 10 days after my birthday.
From the lovely ladies who cleaned the rooms to the F&B supervisors to the wonderful Customer Services Lady I could not fault them on anything.
It's always the small things that show how much thought and effort have been put into operating the hotel - Reid's had them in abundance - see how many small touches you can spot next time you go !

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We visited Reid's Palace for afternoon tea on the Tea Terrace to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. It was a great decision. You don't go just to eat/drink tea! It is all about the occassion - the view, the environment, the atmosphere. It all contributes to making an occassion very special. There is a dress code of smart casual (most people were dressed more formally) which also adds to the occasion. Tea consists of 5 different types of sandwiches, gorgeous scones with jam and cream and a selection of pastries. When my husband and I thought that we could eat nothing else the staff surprised us with a cake. Even a candle to mark our first anniversary! On the way from the hotel to the airport, the taxi driver asked if it was worth the money (it is not cheap) but for that special occasion I would say definitely!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have just return from Reid's. 2 adults and 1 child, age 1 year. And we could not ask for anything more... from the pillows to the bed, the free cleaning shoe service, the welcome teddy bear for our child, the excellent staff...we find the breakfast buffet with the ocean view a truly amazing experience, just to give an example there were more than 14 different kinds of fresh fruit, and also the outstanding personal service. Love the gardens, and the Spa must not be missed! We really feel exclusive at Reid's!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Having a great stay at Reid's Palace this April!

The rooms are very comfortable, albeit not huge - we have interconnecting rooms with our children so it feels like being in a suite. Twice-daily maid service, even a pillow menu to order different kinds of pillows if you want! Free soft drinks from the minibar. Free DVD rental (mainly Academy Award winners).

Two heated outdoor pools, one to 30/85 one a few degrees cooler. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Sitting by the pools, you will have towels brought, your umbrella adjusted, your seats moved if you want - all your needs met.

The only downside is the price. If you are price sensitive look out for deals on the Reid´s website - we got our children´s room free. The more informal Italian restaurant is no cheaper than the main restaurant, but you are a 4-5 euro taxi ride from central Funchal.

Plenty for teenagers to do - tennis and table tennis, now a room with Playstations, Wiis and Macs (on which I am typing). Other activities for all are announced on a daily ´Reid´s Times´ delivered to your room each evening - e.g. Madeira tasting, dance lessons, Portuguese lessons, pilates, water aerobics (all free) or excursions (all expensive).

Clientele mainly British, with some French, German and Portuguese.

Highly recommended for a luxurious and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The check-in staff apparently spotted that it was my wife's birthday and 30 minutes later a nice bunch of flowers and a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket were delivered to the room! A great start. Well done Reid's!

Throughout our stay, the service was invariably prompt, enthusiastic and genuinely friendly, the restaurants superb, cuisine excellent. The best is Villa Cipriani, a Reid's property (I think) located next door.

The housekeeping was faultless and the history of the hotel added to the interest. If you're looking for a quiet, luxurious holiday Reid's is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orient Express, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.