We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of everything in a magical setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best of everything in a magical setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Reid's Palace has to be one of the finest hotel experiences. The location and setting are unique - with clifftop views over the sea - and the food and service are superb. There is plenty to do - from the great pool, spa and tennis courts to the evening snooker matches to the nearby golf - or for those days when it just feels right to lounge, the cliffside terraces are the perfect place to quietly read in the sun. We spent five nights here over the Easter break and had an absolutely fabulous time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    63
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
112
411
26
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

After spending our honeymoon in Maderia, we always said we would return for our 25th.
Choosing Reid's Palace for this occasion exceeded all of our expectations, the service was impecable, the food was first class and overall the presentation of the hotel and gardens was exceptional.
The extras which we were given (upgrade of room, wine, flowers and champagne, etc)
showed us that the people at Reid's really cared for us having a memorable time.
We shall certainly return, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADEIRA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Although we are lucky enough to live in Madeira, we take our holidays here at Reid's. Once you are inside it's like going to another planet. Eveything is perfect and there is no need to go out of the hotel for anything. The views and gardens are magnificent, and the rooms and service impeccable. It really is one of the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I visited for the 6 th or 7th time earlier this year in February. When you arrive at the reception desk the staff say welcome home --. This opitimizes the strengths the hotel has.-Service.!! I think the food has definately improved in the recent year. As per usual the service from the spa to the restaurants to the room service is excellent. If you find fault it more often the customer who has the problem not the staff.
Most of the guests are repeat visitors . I think that this would say everything.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We never got around to writing a review at the time but cannot speak too highly of this hotel and the staff. We could not find fault with any part of our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Even though they nick name The Beverley Hills Hotel, LA 'The Pink Palace', for me Reid's is the genuine article. The building itself has been tastefully updated for the present day, but has still kept its 1920's charm. Obviously you get what you pay for, and although I love M and S - this comparatively could be likened to Harrod's or Harvey Nick's, but without the pretentiousness. It really is very relaxed. Of course quite rightly for special ocassions a dress code is required. The 'Dinner Dance' (on a Saturday) was a special experience whereby you're wined and dined in a palatial dining room. I would recommend the breakfast included deal - the views over the sea are amazing and the food and service is as perfect as you can get. Generally the service is excellent. The staff are very helpful, When we arrived we were given an informal tour. And the 'Guest Service' Staff Isobelle and Joanna were so helpful and charming. The other thing about Reid's is every day there are excursions and activities. Some of these are free*. *I recommend 'The Garden Tour', 'Basic Portugeuse' and 'The Madeira Wine Tasting Sessions'. *And every Tuesday there's a delightful 'Cocktail Party'. Few things are dissapointing - one is you can't borrow an iron and ironing board (the excuse is its an health and safety issue - the charges for having them done in the hotel are astronomical). The lovely capital 'Funchal' is only 15 minutes walk - and if you're lazy or genuinelly have difficulties there are shuttle buses throughout the day time. Reid's itself has an impressive 'gallery' hosting past time visitors. Basically the hotel, it's services and surroundings as well of course as Madeira are top notch. Just to give one final example of how good the service is. On one day we asked the concierge if he knew where we could get some Manuka Honey. He said leave it with me. Within 2 hours there was a knock at the door and some had been ascertained. A BIG WELL DONE TO ALL THOSE HELPFUL AND ACCOMADATING STAFF AT REID'S PALACE. iF THERE WAS SUCH A THING AS A 6 STAR HOTEL I WOULDN'T HESITATE TO GIVE REID'S THAT STATUES.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The hotel restores one's faith in an industry mostly overtaken, elsewhere, by tacky "luxury" and architectural hubris. It is the epitome of understated elegance; good, unobtrusive service, friendliness without cockiness, and a determination to be the best. It succeeds. The ambience, both indoors and out, is calming and restorative. The gardens are beautiful and uncrowded, a constant delight. The seascapes and townscapes are always changing and full of interest. It may be equalled, in my experience, but never excelled.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.