We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with luxury and opulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with luxury and opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This beautiful hotel with stunning views over the bay of Funchal, has old world charm with first class service and all mod cons and thoroughly deserves its 5 star status. Our room had two balconies overlooking two views of the sea, absolutely fabulous! We tried to visit this hotel on our honeymoon in 1990 but it was closed for refurbishment, so this was a special trip for our silver wedding anniversary. Flowers and bubbly waited for us in our room and many staff congratulated us despite the fact that we were low key about it. The food was excellent too, fresh tuna like you've never tasted before in the pool restaurant. Try a jug of the white wine sangria. We enjoyed the sights of Madeira but wished we could have stayed another week without leaving the hotel. Unlike other hotels in Madeira the guests were from all age groups and a variety of countries, predominantly the UK. It was eye wateringly expensive, but worth it!

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    79
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
136
517
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Reids for one week in July to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

We had a cosy room overlooking the gardens and the hotel kindly gave us a bottle of champagne and flowers for our anniversary - it was so lovely and thoughtful.

The breakfast and lunch was excellent and the service was superb. A big thank you to Romeu (not sure on spelling) who was very attentative and friendly and very helpful as was all the staff,

The William restaurant was second to none; with food and service comparable to a michellin star restaurant in London.

The Cipriani restaurant was also excellent with food and service 10 out of 10 with stunning views of the coastline.

It was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in and hope to stay in this lovely hotel again.

Thank you once again for a lovely stay and well done to all the staff for their courtesy and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thanks a lot for choosing our hotel for your holidays, and for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you described it as a wonderful experience. Indeed delivering experiences is our core business, and is from comments like yours that we find the motivation to work harder in order to exceed our valued customers’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your nice words, which for us are the right payback for all our efforts.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Superlative service and facilities for a seven night stay - we will be staying again as soon as possible! We had two adjoining Superior Sea View Rooms with balconies and air conditioning which were exactly as described.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I would like to take this opportunity to pass all our appreciation for having chosen our hotel.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a fabulous hotel, the staff and everything that goes on is of the highest standard. This is undoubtably a 5 star hotel of the highest standing. Our room ( superior ) was superb and the attention from our room lady was fantastic. We enjoyed all the restaurants and also a drinks on the great terrace enjoying the views. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Reid's Palace for your stay, and for sharing your great experience with all readers.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home.

On behalf of all team I pass you all our appreciation for the lovely comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel for more amazing experiences!

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at Reids for 10 days so had the time to benefit from everything that the hotel has to offer. Location=fabulous, room=great (Deluxe Room), breakfast=bit dissapointing, Afternoon-Tea=fantastic, swimming pool=great, personnel=very friendly, restaurant=no value for price, poolbar=should be some music during the day. We felt that the hotel targets an older audience which at some point will become an issue as they should get prepared for new generations.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

WeI sincerely thank you, for choosing our hotel and for your constructive feedback.

We are pleased to know that you had a nice time with us.

We value all comments as they encourage us to keep working every day to improve our service and continue to deliver memorable experience to all our clients.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,



Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a graceful old Lady, where staying is really a pleasure. The service is flawless, warm, attentive, yet discreet. Rooms are not big, but they have all you need and done with very good taste. The food throughout the property is very good - especially at the Italian restaurant - dining there on the terrace is truly delightful. The direct access to the sea with the rocky platform is a great plus. This is hotel where you will find piece & quietness - and it is a little world in itself. It is old style in a very good way - and I hope they keep it this way.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, which without any doubt are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a week at Belmond Reid's and had one of the most relaxing weeks ever. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much bother; the food in Cipirani's and the Williams restaurant was excellent. The island is worth a tour as the scenery and mountain roads are worth a trip. Make sure you do the toboggan trip, it's a bit hairy but a once in a lifetime opportunity!
We will definately return again and could see ourselves as regulars at this hotel. I would certainly recommend it. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a fantastic break.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Reid's Palace for your stay, and for sharing your great experience with all readers.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home.

On behalf of all team I pass you all our appreciation for the lovely comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel for more amazing experiences!

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Belmond, Splendia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.