We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Service at Reid's is the best we have encountered anywhere in the world. Superb pool service, reception/concierge could not be more charming and helpful, all restaurant(s) staff superb. House-keeping faultless. The hotel has quirks - would be nice not to have to scrabble on the floor to find a power point (believe some rooms have addressed this) - but overall the hotel is outstanding and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I would like to take this opportunity to pass all our appreciation for having chosen our hotel.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    77
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
131
503
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The minute you enter Belmond Reid 's palace you realize what a special place you are in. Incredibly spacious common areas, views of Funchal harbor, and service like none other. The rooms are spacious with wonderful amenities and views. Breakfast buffet is delicious and afternoon tea spectacular on the porch. Staff is attentive and friendly.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, which without any doubt are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a wonderful restful holiday at this exceptional hotel. We have stayed there several times and find it unbeatable when we just need to relax in tranquil, luxurious, yet comfortable surroundings. It's wonderful to idle away the time sitting in the beautiful peaceful gardens overlooking the ocean, eating afternoon tea on the terrace or drinking cocktails as the sun goes down, sunbathing next to the pool or swimming in one of the pools.....! Whilst this is happening an army of staff work behind the scenes to ensure the rooms and public spaces are immaculate and delicious food is prepared for every taste.
If you can tear yourself away from the hotel, they do arrange interesting excursions to some beautiful parts of Madeira. Over the years we have been on several such excursions and they are always interesting. It is good to see different parts of the Island.Funchal is only an easy twenty minute walk downhill or you can use the shuttle bus there and back. Taxis are cheap and easy to catch for the return journey unless you like walking up hill!

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays, and for your nice words.

We have been thoroughly enchanted by your lovely comments, it is through these kind of feedback that we continue to find the passion and motivation to walk every day the extra mile and try to deliver unforgettable experience to our valued customers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Belmond Reid’s Palace in a not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What can be say that hasn’t already been said many times before?
The hotel is located in a superb cliff top garden overlooking Funchal, and after a hundred years still delivers that certain ‘je ne sais quoi’. But you know when you experience it. It is of course through the staff –the hallmark of every top hotel. From the initial welcome to the final goodbye, you are made to feel special but in a quiet professional and dignified way. Just one example: On my first evening finding the way via a secondary staircase to the cocktail bar, came across a private reception in full swing and saying to the waiters serving the party drinks –‘Oh I seem to have arrived by the wrong staircase’ –only to be told immediately – ‘you never arrive by a wrong entrance at Reid’s sir’.
Simply everyone of note it seems has stayed there from politicians and actors, to the crown heads of Europe, many on repeat visits. Perhaps summed up by a Winston Churchill remark, [also a guest in his time] “My tastes are simple: I am easily satisfied with the best.”

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your feedback about your stay at Reid's.

I have been flattered by your words, this is are the pay back for our efforts, and for the passion we put in what we do. Comments like yours make us walk the extra mile, and do our utmost to please our clients.

I will be more than proud to share your words with the entire Reid's team, on behalf of which I thank you very much for your words of vote.

I thank you very much for choosing our hotel, and looking forward to welcoming you back soon, I remain, with my kindest regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is very old school in that they always greet you by your name and are very respectful. It is a lovely hotel with good clean rooms. The beds are very comfortable and you can choose from a selection of pillows if you so wish. This is our 4th visit to Madeira and this hotel is great. We have stayed at the Cliff Bay Hotel which is next door. You cannot really compare the two hotels as that would be unfair. They are totally different but both excellent in their own way. All the soft drinks in Reids mini bar are free so this is an added bonus. Also the towels are changed twice a day in your room. The girls at the spa are very good and professional. Good pool area with different levels for sunbathing. Would definitely return. If you would like poached or fried eggs you can order this from the waiter who seats you. Also you can add your bacon etc so that your breakfast is cooked especially for you. Never had this before!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time for writing your review.

We are flattered by your comments. These type of feedback is indeed the fuel that make us step up and walk the extra mile meet our customers' expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe Uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been visiting this fine establishment for many years now and it just gets better and better. This year our visit took place in June, the weather was warm and Funchal was relatively quiet as at this time of year there are only a few cruise ship's visiting the island. As usual we spent most mornings reading in the beautiful gardens overlooking the port and the amphitheatre of Funchal. Our room on the fourth floor was exquisite, overlooking the pool, gardens and port area. The character of the room was pure elegance and exuded tranquillity, peace and luxury! The staff were all magnificent and as always made us feel valued and completely at home. Lunch by the pool is to be recommended as there is a fabulous choice of light meals or an extensive buffet, all of which are served in the pool area. I don't think I can say anymore in praise of this wonderful destination hotel apart from identifying one extra special member of staff and that is Joana in Guest Relations' this lady is an absolute joy to deal with and has an outstanding knowledge of everything Reid's, Madeira and Portugal Joana is undoubtedly the most helpful and enthusiastic person I have ever met!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful although we enjoy overlooking the port and Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time for writing your feedback about your stay at Reid's.

I have been flattered by your words, this is are the pay back for our efforts, and for the passion we put in what we do. Comments like yours make us walk the extra mile, and do our utmost to please our clients.

I will be more than proud to share your words with the entire Reid's team, on behalf of which I thank you very much for your words of vote.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and in the meanwhile we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at Reids to celebrate my 26th Birthday. Received an upgrade on arrival from Classic to Superior Sea View in the old part of the building, directly overlooking the harbour. Delightful elegance and luxury in this exquisite hotel, with impeccable levels of service and a destination in its own right. We had afternoon tea and cocktails on the terrace, used the pool area and private beach/infinity pool, swam out to sea and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We also ate at Villa Cipriani overlooking the sea, before experiencing the Atlantic Fireworks Festival from our room balcony. Beautiful building, gardens and outlook, room tasteful, high ceilings and with complimentary birthday champagne, madeira wine and cakes, a nice touch. Every aspect was truly wonderful, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time for writing your review.

We are flattered by your comments. These type of feedback is indeed the fuel that make us step up and walk the extra mile meet our customers' expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Belmond, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.