We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Truly the best in 5* traditions, both staff and structure. Incomparable. Breakfasts superlative. Swimming pools spotlessly clean and heated for winter ! Gardens delightful. Good enough for Churchill, good enough for me !

Room Tip: I prefer the traditional old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    63
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
113
411
26
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Already looking forward to return. Staff and hotel are exceptional. Food and dining is top class. Views and ambiance is nothing short of spectacular. Excellent location, central but still quiet with it´s wonderful gardens. Being an avid traveler I am used to stay at many international hotels. Few makes me feel at home the way that Reid´s does. My wife Susan and I just love it. You have to! It´s that kind of a place.
Johnny Dahlberg

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your renewed preference.

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time for filling our guest questionnaire, and above all I would like to thank you, also on behalf of all the Belmond Reid's Palace Team for the words of vote you reserved to us.

These type of comments are indeed the greatest motivation and payback for the efforts we undertake to walk the extra mile to satisfy our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from a week's stay at Reid's Palace Hotel. We were enchanted by the building itself, its public spaces exude old-world style with chandeliers and furnishings of the finest quality. We were made welcome immediately with a personal guide of the hotel's facilities and told to make ourselves at home, which we did with ease. Our double room had a king-sized bed and charming and practical furnishings. Our meals in the hotel included a Dinner Dance with amazing food and good choice options. Entertainment was provided by a first-class jazz band and we danced the night away! The Cocktail Bar has the best view in Madeira and we sat with our tipples of choice and watched the city lights at night and the visiting Cruise Ships coming and going. Music was provided again each evening in the bar and the atmosphere was wonderful. Every member of staff was welcoming and helpful and our week flew by much too quickly.

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms have a sea view. Our had a balcony which took in the vista of Funchal a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your feedback.

We do thank you for having chosen our hotel, and we are glad to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations.

Receiving comments like yours is the right payback for what we do, and motivates us to do our utmost to satisfy our valued customers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Belmond Reid's Palace, possibly soon.

Kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were due to stay here last May but sadly I broke my shoulder. On a Cunard cruise last month we called in at Madeira and decided to have a drink and lunch at this wonderful hotel. This is truly the most fabulous place and location. It is a top class hotel but although the staff were magnificent there was no sign of pretentiousness. Everyone was helpful, efficient, charming and most welcoming. We had a magnificent buffet lunch by the pool. I can't think of any food type that was not on offer. You helped yourself but there was a member of stall right at you shoulder to carry you food back to your table. The buildings are stunning and although close to the town there was a wonderful peacefulness with breathtaking views of the sea and the town. I am hoping to go and stay for longer next year.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch at our Pool Restaurant, and I would like to take this opportunity to pass all our appreciation for having chosen our hotel for your lunch break.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Belmond Reid's Palace.


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have recently returned from my second visit to this lovely historic hotel.On my first first visit several years ago, my late wife was ill on arrival and the staff could not have been more caring and helpful. We had a wonderful holiday . I hoped that standards had not fallen since my previous visit and I was not disappointed. Sure, other hotels might be more modern and flashy, but Reid's has a quiet , timeless class that cannot be bought. There are four restaurants, all first class and the staff were efficient and friendly. The afternoon tea on the terrace is a must..Even as a single traveller I had a lovely room with a beautiful view over Funchal and the ocean. The gardens are wonderful. The hotel is a modest walk from the center of Funchal and there is a complimentary shuttle service . For a quiet luxurious holiday I cannot think of a better venue

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our hotel and staff, for having chosen our hotel, and for the lovely comments you've shared.

We are pleased to know that you had a delightful experience with us.

We value all comments as they encourage us to keep working every day to improve our service and continue to deliver memorable experience to all our clients.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two weeks there with my very good friend following my husbands death. Staff were wonderful - so attentive. Just what was needed to relieve the exhaustion of the last year. The spa is fantastic with the sounds of the ocean coming through the windows. Thanks to Antonio for looking after us and Ricardo for dancing with us.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Reid's Palace for your stay, and for sharing your great experience with all readers.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home.

On behalf of all team I pass you all our appreciation for the lovely comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel for more amazing experiences!

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous week at reids, the hotel is so elegant, when we arrived we went for tea, great choice of teas and beautiful cakes, scones and sandwiches, the italian restaurant is wonderful and was my favourite also the gala dinner on saturday night was excellent. Due to inclement weather i went for a hair restyle.my stylist was very good and very knowledgable about hair, the pools are heated to 29 degrees and 26 degrees. We had a fab week will definetly return to this excellent hotel

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, which without any doubt they are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.