We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Save Saved
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“World Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This centennial class Grande Dame of the Oriental Express Group remains one of the world's finest luxury hotels. Sitting atop Europe's highest cliffs overlooking the port of Funchal, the hotel caters to royalty, statesmen and those with significant means. As our transatlantic crossing included Madeira as a port of call, I had the chance to re-acquaint myself with this majestic gem in its time warp! It had been over 50 years since a family stay, and while buildings had been added to the original complex, little of its charm, elegance and beautiful furnishings had changed! The hotel exudes gracious world class service. We enjoyed cocktails on an upper terrace followed by a delightful poolside buffet. Foie Gras with Madeira Gelee (Aspic) and Madeira Drizzle, Bola de Caco bread, grilled offerings , seafood platters - and lovely sweets washed down with a nice Portuguese Duro Tinto and Malvaise Madeira, made for a glorious afternoon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    59
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
110
391
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having just spent a short half term break at Reid's I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is not (as I feared) only for the more mature traveller. I stayed with my 2 young daughters (10 and 8) and we had the most fantastic, fun and relaxing stay. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and our every need was provided for. Although the kids menu varied between the different restaurants in the hotel we could always go 'off piste' and order whatever the girls felt like. The adult menus, especially the seafood was incredible. Not cheap but worth it. The rooms were well equipped. There were 3 pools, virtually empty during our stay. A wonderful terraced area by the sea adds a great dimension and the kids loved jumping off the diving board into the crystal sea. The weather was reliable - a gorgeous 25 degrees so ideal for last winter sun. We enjoyed a boat trip on a rib (go for the fast boat not the catamaran as you can swim with dolphins if you come across them socialising, not travelling or feeding) and saw a pod of 11 incredible sperm whales, just 3 miles from the shore. There is a kids club for little ones, 2 excellent tennis courts and a teenagers hangout with wii games and play station. We didn't make it into the spa but it looked very good. All in all we all had the best time and would definitely recommend it to young families. Oh, and the buffet breakfast was incredible! Can't think of anything else they could have offered!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the 6th floor - large king size and a single for the kid. Do go for sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent staff, great atmosphere, lovely attention to detail! The pools, views and concierges have to be the best on the island. I told the restaurant we has a birthday in our party and they alerted the hotel and spa who delivered champagne and gifts!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at Reids Palace Madeira for 7 nights in late September and early October. Hotel was excellent and staff could not do too much for you. The hotel restaurants are 5 star especially the Italien which is in the grounds,
One problem was the view from the room which was partialy blocked by a tree but we were told that if we go again we should specify particular rooms with certain views. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the deluxe room very well appointed with fabulous view of the ocean. Swimming pool pleasant with lovely restaurant attached. The lunchtime buffet was particularly good.
Could not fault it. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Reids for my wife`s birthday....it is a hotel we will always remember for it`s splendour, lavishness , luxury, amazing staff and being treated as only Reids can. It`s not cheap but if you can afford it it`s money well spent for the experience. Each and every staff member were so attentive, polite and willing we felt like celebs. nothing was too much and every request was granted. My wife received Champagne on ice and lovley flowers on her birthday and the Villa Cipriani restaurant in the grounds gave her a specially made cake....so thoughtful....got to save up and get back there again!!!!

Room Tip: If you are celebrating anything, book Reids they will make it very special......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only stayed one night in a 'charming' room - lovely old fashioned luxurious surroundings, garden, various pools and sea access/sun area on rocks, good breakfast etc, but we had two technological problems in the room connected to its high temperature and lack of wifi. The air conditioning set-up by chamber maid that evening was none existant: too hot and couldn't be adjusted down, while the bathroom towel rail was set to full heat throughout the night (which we managed to switch off), and had under floor heating. We ended up opening the balcony doors at about 3 am. Worst night's sleep of ten hotels stayed at in Madeira this holiday! We were given internet access instructions on being shown to the room originally which failed to produce wifi, complained and given further instructions which again wouldn't work. Next morning on check out our two complaints were not really met with apologies but more as a thank you for drawing our attention to them. We wonder whether anything was actually remedied for the next guests?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Belmond, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.