We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality, delightful hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Save Saved
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off standard rates
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“High Quality, delightful hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The Reids Palace was the venue for our Silver Wedding Anniversary, staying in a Superior room on the 5th Floor, with access to the garden, private sun-beds, and great views. The hotel represents Britain, in the days of the Empire! The room was great, very clean, free wifi, and complimentary soft drinks. Restaurants were all great, and dressing for breakfast wasn't uncommon, indeed champagne was on offer for breakfast. Lots and lots of space to sunbathe by the pools and on sun decks by the sea. The pools were nice and warm, a real joy, and the pool service was good. The clientele of the Reids were mainly elderly, I felt young at the age of 50, no bad thing! Drinks prices weren't too horrible, food prices were steep though. Good restaurants, and even competitor hotels are a 5 minute walk away, and are half the price, shame really, perhaps the Orient Express chain needs to rethink. The staff of the hotel are all excellent, greeting you warmly every time and from what I could see all spoke English, German, French and Portuguese, as ever humbling British guests! Funchal town is a 25 minutes stroll away, one steep hill, the hotel has a bus to help and taxis are plentiful. A great hotel, we will return when we get a little older, when we might appreciate the quiet ambience more!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    53
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
93
339
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary here for a week never having been to Madeira before. If Downton Abbey went on holiday this is where they would go, beautiful if slightly formal reception rooms including one for Bridge, jackets and long trousers on for dinner, photos of previous visitors such as Churchill fill the cabinets and apparently bathers used to be serenaded by an orchestra (sadly no longer). There are the most wonderful views over Funchal which is also close enough to walk into, although there is also a timetabled free shuttle bus. We had a fabulous superior room on the 5th floor which actually opened onto a garden area overlooking the sea and we never tired of lying on the sunbeds watching the boats. Strangely there was free Wifi in the room but not in the reception areas. What worried us most was how quiet the place, the general age of the guests, many of which were British and return year after year was 65+ and although we learnt the place was 70% full the cocktail bar was often empty and it felt like at night the place was deserted, not helped by the restaurant prices (78 euros each for a dinner buffet). We left the hotel for a more casual atmosphere not requiring long trousers most evenings. We loved the luxury of the place, the staff were the best we have ever seen, breakfast was substantial including champagne if so desired, the heated pool like a warm bath, afternoon tea a must but feel the place will need to adjust to the 21st century at some point. We visited the 5 star hotel next door to find large outdoor sofas, cabanas for 2, jazz nights and a slightly younger crowd.

Room Tip: highly recommend the superior rooms with garden areas rather than a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect here, had heard and read mixed reviews and don't want to put anyone off booking, as they need all the custom they can get to bring some life back into the place.
The first thing that strikes you, is how quiet it is, no other guests roaming round, no one in any of the public areas or bars, reminded me of a posh nursing home where the residents have escaped.
The decor is lovely, but the soft furnishings are very tired and some money needs to be spent updating it in a tasteful way. There is a certain charm and there are some interesting memorabilia around the place to see how popular it once was with the glitterati. The pool area is lovely and the views are stunning, probably the best views in Madeira, a nice place to have a cool drink on a hot day. Bit of a faff up and down in lifts, between new and old bits of hotel to get to pool.
The bedrooms were huge, with 12 foot ceilings, the bathrooms were a bit small and worn, the carpets although clean needed replacing. We had a deluxe room, with a balcony on the 8th floor which meant apart from overlooking a tiled roof, we had glorious views over Funchal and the sea.
The dining room, for breakfast, was cool and spacious with a great choice of delicious food and drinks, the staff were probably the nicest and most polite ones in the hotel. We came across others who made you feel like an inconvenience. One gripe we had was of thechamber maid who wanted to turn down the beds at seven p.m, just as we were getting ready for dinner, she was very surly when we wouldn't let her in and completely ignored us when we saw her later, how rude! and it wouldn't have hurt the staff on the reception desk to have acknowledged us passing by, a "Good day" would have been nice.
The managers cocktail party was a treat, but was it a bit of a ploy to get you to book the 78 euro meal at their nearby restaurant? We spoke to other guests who agreed that if the prices had been more competitive at the hotel more people would have dined/drank there. Suppose it keeps the riff raff out! keeps everyone out though- shame.
All in all mixed thoughts about this place, wanted to love it, but only liked it. Glad I went but won't be rushing back, a week was enough.

Room Tip: 8th floor, corner room overlooking sea and town in old part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely historic luxurious hotel old world atmosphere, views of the hotel are amazing, food excellent, afternoon tea on the terrace are a must. Room decor traditional.
La Prairie SPA treatment are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked to eat here whilst staying elsewhere in Funchal. The summer buffet, served on the pool terrace, was absolutely lovely and could not be faulted. Well worth the money and an occasion we shall remember always. Fireworks over the marina just added to the delight.
If you are in Madeira do go here, you will not be disappointed.
We would love to stay at Reid's if ever we are back in Madeira.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our friends suggested visiting Reid's because Winston Churchill had been a guest. Once there, you can imagine Churchill with his hat and cigar and brandy snifter on the balcony enjoying the views, the sunsets and the type of service that would seem out of date anyplace else. Elegant but modern touches everywhere balance the sense of tradition nicely. Great food and very good Portuguese wines. No that's not an oxymoron. Net-net, if someone suggests going - do it. and, go to the dinner dance as well as the High Tea.

Room Tip: get one on the south-east side to see the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel and staff are geared around guests.
Thats it. No more needs to be said.

Its not about how much something costs or the time it will take to be done.
Its all about making sure the people who are lucky enough to chance upon this wonderful place have a great time and feel special.

The people who are involved looking after guests are very good at making you feel special - I did

If you want to experience the romance of an earlier time, to marvel at the quality of your surroundings, to be in an extraordinary position close to the sea and at the same time high on the cliff but most of all feel cosseted in the luxury of one of the world finest hotels, then this is the place for you.

Ok it's not the sort of place you could go two or three times a year unless you are a lottery winner - but sometimes you just have to experience the best, this is it.

Room Tip: The junior suites have the most extraordinary views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.